$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 29, 2014

The Regency Inn San Francisco

2 stars
587 Eddy St, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.0
out of 5
59 reviews
Awful experience

Where do I start with this horrible experience. I will just make a list: - no air conditoning -... See full review

  • Hotel Joe
  • Sep 9, 2013
great hotel!

We had a great stay at the Regency Inn. Our service was great, the room was clean, BIG, and... See full review

  • fammann919
  • Oct 14, 2014
Welcome to the Regency Hotel positioned in the heart of downtown San Francisco. The hotel is minutes away from many of the cultural events, beautiful sights or work commitments to which you will partake while staying in the exciting city. As guest you will enjoy having all of San Francisco within your reach. The convenient location gives guests the ability to simply cross the street to utilize public transportation assisting you in navigating your way around the city. Many guests however choose to walk to their destination because the hotel is few steps away from City Hall, Union Square, the Financial District, Convention Center and the Castro. Your satisfaction is top priority at the Regency Hotel. You may be on a budget, however you will not feel like it! Airport shuttle is available 24 hours and the charge is $17 per person. The hotel provides amenities like Free Breakfast. Valet parking only and there is an additional charge per night.Sorry, no pets allowed

Hotel Map

37.7833 -122.4175
Area served
San Francisco, United States.
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport (SFO).
Area description
The San Francisco Regency Inn offers an on site business room for guest use. Shuttle service to the airport is available 24 hours a day. Valet parking is also available. Fisherman's Wharf and Ghirardelli Square are each 2 miles from this hotel. The Golden Gate Bridge is a 12-minute drive away. Hotel Rooms: 28 The San Francisco Regency Inn offers an on site business room for guest use. Shuttle service to the airport is available 24 hours a day. Valet parking is also available. Fisherman's Wharf and Ghirardelli Square are each 2 miles from this hotel. The Golden Gate Bridge is a 12-minute drive away. Hotel Rooms: 28.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Regency Inn San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The Regency Inn San Francisco Rooms

Queen-Queen
All the rooms offer spacious accommodations ideally suited for both business and leisure travelers. This room features one Queen-sized bed, color TV with cable, free wireless Internet, microwave, mini-fridge, complimentary toiletries, Iron/ironing board and alarm clock radio.
Double-Double
All the rooms offer spacious accommodations ideally suited for both business and leisure travelers. This room features two Double-sized beds, color TV with cable, free wireless Internet, microwave, mini-fridge, complimentary toiletries, Iron/ironing board and alarm clock radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.6 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.8 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.8 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.8 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.8 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.8 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (59)

Ratings and reviews for The Regency Inn San Francisco

Overall score

2 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
2.1
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.3
Location:
1.7
Value:
2.2

27% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Socialist traveler
Business
Tampa, Fl
May 29, 2012

Nice little hotel with all you need.

Newly painted and very clean. Free internet, breakfasts and very helpful staff are pluses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SDRG
Business
San Francisco
Oct 16, 2014

Not for the faint of heart

ON SKID ROW. Witnessed a car have its window shattered and broken into within 10 minutes of parking my car behind it. At 7PM! I told the clerk at the desk and he didnt even call the police...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fammann919
Business
Eureka, MO
Oct 14, 2014

great hotel!

We had a great stay at the Regency Inn. Our service was great, the room was clean, BIG, and comfortable. The TV in the room was nicer than the one at home. The only negative aspect was the location - the area is a little rough, but nothing too scary. We will stay here again next time we come to San Francisco!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Parking lot on next block that's very reasonable for downtown San Francisco

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pic the kid
Business
Sacramento, Ca.
Oct 9, 2014

Hotel surrounded by homeless people. My wife was scared to death!

Blinds broken, no screens on windows, found hair on my pillow, mold on shower curtain. Not a bargain at all, place looks like it rents by the hour!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
San Fransisco fan
Business
Stockholm, Sweden
Sep 25, 2014

Problems

I had huge problems with the air shuttle that I booked with you for 34 dollars. I called and tried to get in touch to know the pick up time but they never returned any call. SO my 34 dollars are gone and I almost missed my flight yesterday. How will you reembourse me ie pay back? Best regards Christina

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SusiK
Business
Hawaii
Aug 22, 2014

Neiborhood isn't good

Hotel is Noisy and not in a safe neighborhood I'm glad I had my man with me, otherwise I would had to check out early We saw it on the Internet and didn't realized this was a Inn

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Holadaniela
Business
Guadalajara, MX
Jul 25, 2014

It's a Place to Stay

Budget hotel in the Tenderloin district. Hotel was fair, room was pretty clean, but it's basically just a place to sleep. Loud at night due to all the "activity" outside. If you are comfortable with the area and just need a place to crash, it's a decent spot, but I would probably spend a little more to stay in a safer neighborhood. Not a place to walk home to at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC Ruby Dev
Business
Roanoke, VA
Jul 21, 2014

Spectacular location, for the price!

For the cash-strapped traveller to Downtown San Francisco, this hotel is perfect! It's very close to the Financial District, the Castro, the Mission, SOMA, Ferry Plaza, public transit and lots of attractions! The price was a life-saver for me. Every other hotel in the area was over $300! I just cannot afford that. However, I'd be careful in this neighborhood at night. Nothing happened to me, but I knew to be aware and to not be in vulnerable situations late at night. The one thing I didn't like about the room was that, being in a historic building, it didn't have AC. However, it had a lot of other cool traits as a historic building, like an old-style elevator. The breakfast was great and the staff was very friendly. I arrived an hour before my check-in. It was just 30 minutes after i made the reservation, mind you. And the lady at the front desk empathized with my fatigue from my flight after a night of no sleep. And she had me in a room ASAP and I was asleep within 10 minutes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Orphan Andy's has great food, 24 hours a day. It's in the Castro neighborhood, about 1.5 miles away. I skated there and had a great BBQ Omelette, which was delicious. Almost every other restaurant was closed, but Orphan Andy's had lots of friendly customers there who recommended lots of local goings-on in San Francisco.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HahahTed
Business
San Francisco
Jul 13, 2014

Location

Location is terrible. There were so many people just walking around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
imagrtguy Bangkok
Business
Bangkok, Thailand
Jul 13, 2014

Nice hotel in terrible neighborhood

First, for the pros. The hotel is less than 10 minutes walk to Union Square shopping area and the Moscone Center Convention hall. This is a family managed, well maintained hotel. Free breakfast. The rooms were well equipped, with great service, and a fantastic price for San Francisco. Now the cons. Parking is $30 per day, and it took nearly 30 minutes every time I needed it to be brought. There is no self-parking. This is in an absolutely terrible neighborhood. I witnessed a mugging in broad daylight on the block, and saw someone loading a handgun a block away. The streets are full of homeless people/beggers shouting all hours of the day and night. Sirens blast by almost every hour. I never left the hotel at night, because I didn't feel safe during the daytime even. There is little to eat nearby other than Vietnamese food. The KFC/Taco Bell down the block was the filthiest restaurant I have been in ever....with poor service to match. It's a shame because this would be a very nice hotel I would highly recommend if it was in a safer neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay away from the KFC/Taco Bell. Terrible service and absolutely filthy. The health inspector should be put in jail over this place!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kristen Darling
Business
Nevada City, CA
Jul 9, 2014

Reservation did not work

The main complaint is that we got to the hotel and they did not have our information. I received a confirmation from your site but the Hotel had no record of it. Luckily they had room because we were on a strict schedule and had tickets to a show that evening. It does not make me very confident in your site however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top