$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

The Regency Inn San Francisco

2 stars
587 Eddy St, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.0
out of 5
64 reviews
Awful experience

Where do I start with this horrible experience. I will just make a list: - no air conditoning -... See full review

  • Hotel Joe
  • Sep 9, 2013
great hotel!

We had a great stay at the Regency Inn. Our service was great, the room was clean, BIG, and... See full review

  • fammann919
  • Oct 14, 2014
Welcome to the Regency Hotel positioned in the heart of downtown San Francisco. The hotel is minutes away from many of the cultural events, beautiful sights or work commitments to which you will partake while staying in the exciting city. As guest you will enjoy having all of San Francisco within your reach. The convenient location gives guests the ability to simply cross the street to utilize public transportation assisting you in navigating your way around the city. Many guests however choose to walk to their destination because the hotel is few steps away from City Hall, Union Square, the Financial District, Convention Center and the Castro. Your satisfaction is top priority at the Regency Hotel. You may be on a budget, however you will not feel like it! Airport shuttle is available 24 hours and the charge is $17 per person. The hotel provides amenities like Free Breakfast. Valet parking only and there is an additional charge per night.Sorry, no pets allowed

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Regency Inn San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The Regency Inn San Francisco Rooms

Queen-Queen
All the rooms offer spacious accommodations ideally suited for both business and leisure travelers. This room features one Queen-sized bed, color TV with cable, free wireless Internet, microwave, mini-fridge, complimentary toiletries, Iron/ironing board and alarm clock radio.
Double-Double
All the rooms offer spacious accommodations ideally suited for both business and leisure travelers. This room features two Double-sized beds, color TV with cable, free wireless Internet, microwave, mini-fridge, complimentary toiletries, Iron/ironing board and alarm clock radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.6 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.8 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.8 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.8 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.8 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.8 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for The Regency Inn San Francisco

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 64
Amenities:
2.1
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
2.1
Value:
2.5

40% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kiwikidincali
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Great Stay

Not the best location - as in homeless people all around however it's great value, the rooms are clean, and the staff are really friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC Ruby Dev
Business
Roanoke, VA
Jul 21, 2014

Spectacular location, for the price!

For the cash-strapped traveller to Downtown San Francisco, this hotel is perfect! It's very close to the Financial District, the Castro, the Mission, SOMA, Ferry Plaza, public transit and lots of attractions! The price was a life-saver for me. Every other hotel in the area was over $300! I just cannot afford that. However, I'd be careful in this neighborhood at night. Nothing happened to me, but I knew to be aware and to not be in vulnerable situations late at night. The one thing I didn't like about the room was that, being in a historic building, it didn't have AC. However, it had a lot of other cool traits as a historic building, like an old-style elevator. The breakfast was great and the staff was very friendly. I arrived an hour before my check-in. It was just 30 minutes after i made the reservation, mind you. And the lady at the front desk empathized with my fatigue from my flight after a night of no sleep. And she had me in a room ASAP and I was asleep within 10 minutes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Orphan Andy's has great food, 24 hours a day. It's in the Castro neighborhood, about 1.5 miles away. I skated there and had a great BBQ Omelette, which was delicious. Almost every other restaurant was closed, but Orphan Andy's had lots of friendly customers there who recommended lots of local goings-on in San Francisco.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FlyerDon
Business
Sacramento, CA
Sep 13, 2012

Satisfied

Hotel was clean, recently painted with new carpeting, good, simple breakfast, efficient service, and great location except for the poor immediate neighborhood in the Tenderloin District.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ice ice
Business
San Francisco
Mar 22, 2014

Vacation

It was a small room, with out a lot to itt, was cozy. Thier staff was very kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Janette rao
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 8, 2013

Not a very amazing experience!!,

From the pictures online it seemed worth every penny that I was spending .. But on reaching there .. Found that the bldg is really old .. Not a 1990s one as claimed online .. The Internet connection on the top floor rooms is hardly accessible .. The bathrooms have ancient tubs .. Which need immediate replacement ... But the housekeeping staff does their job 100% and keeps all the old things neat and clean ... Live able but not worth paying what is asked for!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good Thai food at Thai idea!!! On Polk street!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chris SSSSS
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Nov 6, 2013

family visit

The hotel was somewhat shabby. I'm OK with that, but what was disconcerting is the yelling of all of the people roaming the street at all hours of the night. This was a little intimidating in entering or leaving the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
San Fransisco fan
Business
Stockholm, Sweden
Sep 25, 2014

Problems

I had huge problems with the air shuttle that I booked with you for 34 dollars. I called and tried to get in touch to know the pick up time but they never returned any call. SO my 34 dollars are gone and I almost missed my flight yesterday. How will you reembourse me ie pay back? Best regards Christina

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveler from Latam
Business
Overseas
Nov 16, 2014

If only location was better

The neighborhood was not nice. If the neighborhood is not an issue for you, then I guess it's a good value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NEVER TO USE THIS HOTEL
Business
Harbor City, CA
Oct 16, 2012

please don't use this hotel. for $50 savings, it's not worth it

the hotel's location is in a real bad area. The elevator was probably built in the 1930's, they key that I was provided was not the same key for the bottom lock so when I tried to get in the room, I could NOT open the bottom lock as it has a different key, so I had to carry my luggage with my backpack down the stairs to tell the front desk that I could NOT GET IN. The lady at the front desk refused to use the stairs with me even after waiting for the elevator for the LONGEST TIME. Finally convinced her after to use the stairs up to the 4th floor with me carrying the luggage telling her that I really have to go back to Union Square to pick up my packet; could NOT OPEN THE microwave door; the night desk could not transfer the call to my room; he said he'll open the line for me which also did not work. He said he'll come up to fix it because I did something wrong (?) I tried to shower and there were NO conditioner, the housekeeper finally brought a sample like the ones you receive from the mail, no face towel. NEVER AGAIN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveler333cali
Business
San Francisco,California
Nov 11, 2014

Bad Hotel

This was the worst Hotel. Homeless all over outside. Room was dirty, sheets weren't clean, drugs on floor, Bathtub disgustingly upsetting and staff was rude and not helpful. Will never stay here again. Hotel should be shut down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top