$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 12, 2015 Check-out: Mar 15, 2015

The Regency Inn San Francisco

2 stars
View map of 587 Eddy St, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.0
out of 5
66 reviews
Awful experience

Where do I start with this horrible experience. I will just make a list: - no air conditoning -... See full review

  • Hotel Joe
  • Sep 9, 2013
great hotel!

We had a great stay at the Regency Inn. Our service was great, the room was clean, BIG, and... See full review

  • fammann919
  • Oct 14, 2014
Welcome to the Regency Hotel positioned in the heart of downtown San Francisco. The hotel is minutes away from many of the cultural events, beautiful sights or work commitments to which you will partake while staying in the exciting city. As guest you will enjoy having all of San Francisco within your reach. The convenient location gives guests the ability to simply cross the street to utilize public transportation assisting you in navigating your way around the city. Many guests however choose to walk to their destination because the hotel is few steps away from City Hall, Union Square, the Financial District, Convention Center and the Castro. Your satisfaction is top priority at the Regency Hotel. You may be on a budget, however you will not feel like it! Airport shuttle is available 24 hours and the charge is $17 per person. The hotel provides amenities like Free Breakfast. Valet parking only and there is an additional charge per night.Sorry, no pets allowed

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Regency Inn San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

The Regency Inn San Francisco Rooms

Queen-Queen
All the rooms offer spacious accommodations ideally suited for both business and leisure travelers. This room features one Queen-sized bed, color TV with cable, free wireless Internet, microwave, mini-fridge, complimentary toiletries, Iron/ironing board and alarm clock radio.
Double-Double
All the rooms offer spacious accommodations ideally suited for both business and leisure travelers. This room features two Double-sized beds, color TV with cable, free wireless Internet, microwave, mini-fridge, complimentary toiletries, Iron/ironing board and alarm clock radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.6 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.8 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.8 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.8 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.8 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.8 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for The Regency Inn San Francisco

Overall score

1.8 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 66
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.9
Comfort:
2.1
Location:
1.3
Value:
1.8

22% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ghostbusters
Business
San Jose, CA
Oct 29, 2012

Last Minute Hotel

The hotel staff are incredibly kind, courteous and very helpful in navigating SF. The hotel is a bit older, but still kept clean. The downside is that this hotel is in "the Tenderloin" of SF, which is a rougher part of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HahahTed
Business
San Francisco
Jul 13, 2014

Location

Location is terrible. There were so many people just walking around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sweetzoom
Business
Argentina
Oct 9, 2012

Fairly good place to crash

The staff was very helpful. However, the neighborhood is full of homeless people, especially at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mel's Drive In

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sweetzoom
Business
Argentina
Oct 9, 2012

Good place to crash

The staff was really helpful, but the hotel is noisy at certain times. The location is near downtown, in Little Saigon, but the neighborhood is full of homeless people and drug dealers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mel's Drive in in Van Ness Avenue is a great place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fedepiso
Business
Italy
Aug 16, 2013

Survives

Good position as location but not safety. Is a block full of homeless The room are small and not do clean. Is good for group of friends that want stay in San Francisco looking for something cheap. Good stay just for 2/3 nights. Not suggest to rich family or someone that usually go in high level hotels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Beppe51
Business
Como. Italy
Aug 16, 2013

Terrible. A odi!

Bad hotel,bad Room,bad street,bad area!!!!! Very danger be in this hotel. A lot a drugs in the street. Not safe area. Room small e sampling bad!!!avoid!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Really Disappointed Guest
Business
Seattle, WA
Aug 27, 2013

Not worth the money.

The experience wasn't good. I was extremely disappointed when I arrived at the hotel. The website gives the wrong impression that this hotel is decent, it shouldn't be ranked as a 3 star. Few key points: 1. Terrible location. I woke up with the sound of street cleaning (which happens everyday in that block), car alarms and general noise. Several homeless and shady people drifting around the hotel. 2. Dirty windows. General feeling on unclean. Foul smell in bedroom when arrived. 3. Overall quality of furniture/bedroom far below expectations (even for cheap hotels) 4. Missing a lot of the infrastructure expected by a 3-star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kevin the traveling trave
Business
Dallas, tx
Oct 15, 2013

Over paid, under delivered

Not a good experience. Not the best part of town, but that I can get over. It was located near enough to everything, just not near enough to justify what they are asking and it is a couple blocks into the wrong side of the railroad tracks, but not a biggie. we got in late, about 11:30, and the guy that checked us in was apathetic to everything and did nothing more than the minimum that his job required. Checked us in and gave us a key, so up the antiquated elevator we went, and the elevator, like the rest of the building, wasn't antiquated in a charming or historic way, it was just old. We got to our room and it was a mess, trash everywhere, sheets ripped off both beds, and jewelry on the night stand. The room was one dead lady of the night short of a CSI episode. So back down we go. We tell the guy at the desk, who checks the computer, asks us our name a few more times, then informs us that this is our room, it was reserved for us and was cleaned today. We told him it was not and that he was welcome to check it. He assured us he would and asked that we give him about 20-30 min. We waited politely for a few moments before I went up and asked how things were going, he said he was going to give us a new room, which was welcome news. Says he is giving us a queen, I had specifically reserved a two bed room, so I asked is it two queens? He said no, but we can get you a cot. Frustrated but tired back to the elevator we headed. To his defense, he did apologize for the inconvenience, but no offer beyond. We get to the room and wait and wait, finally, 35 min later the phone rings. The guy from the front desk has called to ask if we still want that cot. 10 minutes after that a very nice and accommodating gentleman arrives at our door with an extra towel (random but thoughtful) the cot, an extra pillow, one sheet and one blanket. I am down to use a non fitted sheet, I can even do hospital corners, but one sheet and one blanket? Bottom line, we did not get what we reserved. If they don't have enough rooms and have to upgrade you, it is usually a complementary upgrade, but if they have to downgrade you, you should pay less. It's unfair, but how things work in the hospitality industry. Moving on, they didn't have air conditioning in the rooms, which is fine, it was nice out, but it does mean you have to open windows so it is very loud, which is also fine, I'm used to it, but worth mentioning. Breakfast was so/so, no point of comparison so not fair to comment one way or another. The shower reminded me of an, albeit clean, college buddies bathroom. All in all, we stayed in San Francisco Wednesday and Saturday night, the place we stayed Wednesday, which for obvious reasons, I won't mention here; but, as a point of reference, was much better. I expected more out of a place that charged $200+ a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stephen Brown
Business
Weimar, Ca
Nov 14, 2013

room at Regency Inn, Eddy St

I can't believe you would book anyone to this most pathetic, rundown, drug ridden, panhandling neighborhood. I had requested being near Union Square and where did I end up... in the Tenderloin (druggie) district of S.F. The hotel got my bed arrangement wrong too. This place was nothing but an overpriced rip off. S.B. Colfax, CA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top