$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 17, 2014 Check-out: Sep 18, 2014

The Regency Inn San Francisco

2 stars
587 Eddy St, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.0
out of 5
54 reviews
Awful experience

Where do I start with this horrible experience. I will just make a list: - no air conditoning -... See full review

  • Hotel Joe
  • Sep 9, 2013
Spectacular location, for the price!

For the cash-strapped traveller to Downtown San Francisco, this hotel is perfect! It's very close... See full review

  • DC Ruby Dev
  • Jul 21, 2014
Welcome to the Regency Hotel positioned in the heart of downtown San Francisco. The hotel is minutes away from many of the cultural events, beautiful sights or work commitments to which you will partake while staying in the exciting city. As guest you will enjoy having all of San Francisco within your reach. The convenient location gives guests the ability to simply cross the street to utilize public transportation assisting you in navigating your way around the city. Many guests however choose to walk to their destination because the hotel is few steps away from City Hall, Union Square, the Financial District, Convention Center and the Castro. Your satisfaction is top priority at the Regency Hotel. You may be on a budget, however you will not feel like it! Airport shuttle is available 24 hours and the charge is $17 per person. The hotel provides amenities like Free Breakfast. Valet parking only and there is an additional charge per night.Sorry, no pets allowed

Hotel Map

37.7833 -122.4175
Area served
San Francisco, United States.
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport (SFO).
Area description
The San Francisco Regency Inn offers an on site business room for guest use. Shuttle service to the airport is available 24 hours a day. Valet parking is also available. Fisherman's Wharf and Ghirardelli Square are each 2 miles from this hotel. The Golden Gate Bridge is a 12-minute drive away. Hotel Rooms: 28 The San Francisco Regency Inn offers an on site business room for guest use. Shuttle service to the airport is available 24 hours a day. Valet parking is also available. Fisherman's Wharf and Ghirardelli Square are each 2 miles from this hotel. The Golden Gate Bridge is a 12-minute drive away. Hotel Rooms: 28.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Regency Inn San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The Regency Inn San Francisco Rooms

Queen-Queen
All the rooms offer spacious accommodations ideally suited for both business and leisure travelers. This room features one Queen-sized bed, color TV with cable, free wireless Internet, microwave, mini-fridge, complimentary toiletries, Iron/ironing board and alarm clock radio.
Double-Double
All the rooms offer spacious accommodations ideally suited for both business and leisure travelers. This room features two Double-sized beds, color TV with cable, free wireless Internet, microwave, mini-fridge, complimentary toiletries, Iron/ironing board and alarm clock radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.6 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.8 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.8 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.8 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.8 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for The Regency Inn San Francisco

Overall score

2 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
2.1
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.3
Location:
1.7
Value:
2.1

28% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ontourgirl
oregon
Feb 27, 2014

lovet it!

I lovet this place it nothing special but for the price you pay you gte allot nice rooms and othough ruff orunt the hood its quite central so we could walk places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

bars tons of them

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Grammy 4
Monterey, California
Feb 25, 2014

Run

Rooms smelled, very loud dripping noise from water heated furnace. Ceiling leaked and holes in the walls. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and certainly would never return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Annette and Jason
Woodland hills California
Dec 30, 2013

It was just a rest stop to put ur head down nothing fancy

Small room and big closet waisted space but clean room.. If you leave ur car and take the bus to the wharf u save money .. It is a tad noise but again it's a place to rest ur head and come back to

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Free parking take bus

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SFDC
Business
CA
Nov 25, 2013

Stay at Regency

I stayed at the hotel while attending SFDC Dreamforce event. The area is horrible, never being to SF I was glad that my wife and child didn't join. You almost needed a police escort to leave at night. The amount of homeless and junkies were beyond belief. The staff was nice and accomodating and the room was clean. It was older, the heat turns on like once a night or so, and the faucet didn't work well, but ok overall. While I would recommend this hotel based on the extremely friendly staff, the area is horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stephen Brown
Weimar, Ca
Nov 14, 2013

room at Regency Inn, Eddy St

I can't believe you would book anyone to this most pathetic, rundown, drug ridden, panhandling neighborhood. I had requested being near Union Square and where did I end up... in the Tenderloin (druggie) district of S.F. The hotel got my bed arrangement wrong too. This place was nothing but an overpriced rip off. S.B. Colfax, CA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chris SSSSS
Grand Rapids, MI
Nov 6, 2013

family visit

The hotel was somewhat shabby. I'm OK with that, but what was disconcerting is the yelling of all of the people roaming the street at all hours of the night. This was a little intimidating in entering or leaving the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
somethinggood88
Santa Rosa, CA
Oct 22, 2013

Never Again

It was in a very crummy neighborhood. I needed to walk at 5:30am to Union Square for the Nike Marathon. I needed my boyfriend to wake up early and walk with me since the nieghborhood is so sketchy. The room was freezing and there was no way of turning on the heater. When my boyfriend called the front desk they told him there is no way to turn on the heater. If it gets colder enough the broiler will kick on. It never turned on! The bed was so uncomfortable my back was so sore the next morning and I needed to run a marathon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kevin the traveling trave
Dallas, tx
Oct 15, 2013

Over paid, under delivered

Not a good experience. Not the best part of town, but that I can get over. It was located near enough to everything, just not near enough to justify what they are asking and it is a couple blocks into the wrong side of the railroad tracks, but not a biggie. we got in late, about 11:30, and the guy that checked us in was apathetic to everything and did nothing more than the minimum that his job required. Checked us in and gave us a key, so up the antiquated elevator we went, and the elevator, like the rest of the building, wasn't antiquated in a charming or historic way, it was just old. We got to our room and it was a mess, trash everywhere, sheets ripped off both beds, and jewelry on the night stand. The room was one dead lady of the night short of a CSI episode. So back down we go. We tell the guy at the desk, who checks the computer, asks us our name a few more times, then informs us that this is our room, it was reserved for us and was cleaned today. We told him it was not and that he was welcome to check it. He assured us he would and asked that we give him about 20-30 min. We waited politely for a few moments before I went up and asked how things were going, he said he was going to give us a new room, which was welcome news. Says he is giving us a queen, I had specifically reserved a two bed room, so I asked is it two queens? He said no, but we can get you a cot. Frustrated but tired back to the elevator we headed. To his defense, he did apologize for the inconvenience, but no offer beyond. We get to the room and wait and wait, finally, 35 min later the phone rings. The guy from the front desk has called to ask if we still want that cot. 10 minutes after that a very nice and accommodating gentleman arrives at our door with an extra towel (random but thoughtful) the cot, an extra pillow, one sheet and one blanket. I am down to use a non fitted sheet, I can even do hospital corners, but one sheet and one blanket? Bottom line, we did not get what we reserved. If they don't have enough rooms and have to upgrade you, it is usually a complementary upgrade, but if they have to downgrade you, you should pay less. It's unfair, but how things work in the hospitality industry. Moving on, they didn't have air conditioning in the rooms, which is fine, it was nice out, but it does mean you have to open windows so it is very loud, which is also fine, I'm used to it, but worth mentioning. Breakfast was so/so, no point of comparison so not fair to comment one way or another. The shower reminded me of an, albeit clean, college buddies bathroom. All in all, we stayed in San Francisco Wednesday and Saturday night, the place we stayed Wednesday, which for obvious reasons, I won't mention here; but, as a point of reference, was much better. I expected more out of a place that charged $200+ a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Night warrior
Business
Los Angeles, California
Oct 6, 2013

A shameful place

Cockroaches were in the room. At the entrance were two drunk kids. The place is old and not nice. The breakfast was a farce. Terrible coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ZXBC
Business
California
Oct 6, 2013

Awful experience

Would not ever recommend anyone to stay here. Beware!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search