$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 17, 2014

The Regency Inn San Francisco

2 stars
587 Eddy St, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.0
out of 5
54 reviews
Awful experience

Where do I start with this horrible experience. I will just make a list: - no air conditoning -... See full review

  • Hotel Joe
  • Sep 9, 2013
Spectacular location, for the price!

For the cash-strapped traveller to Downtown San Francisco, this hotel is perfect! It's very close... See full review

  • DC Ruby Dev
  • Jul 21, 2014
Welcome to the Regency Hotel positioned in the heart of downtown San Francisco. The hotel is minutes away from many of the cultural events, beautiful sights or work commitments to which you will partake while staying in the exciting city. As guest you will enjoy having all of San Francisco within your reach. The convenient location gives guests the ability to simply cross the street to utilize public transportation assisting you in navigating your way around the city. Many guests however choose to walk to their destination because the hotel is few steps away from City Hall, Union Square, the Financial District, Convention Center and the Castro. Your satisfaction is top priority at the Regency Hotel. You may be on a budget, however you will not feel like it! Airport shuttle is available 24 hours and the charge is $15 per person. The hotel provides amenities like Free Breakfast. Valet parking only at $24 per night.Sorry, no pets allowed

The Regency Inn San Francisco Rooms

Queen-Queen
All the rooms offer spacious accommodations ideally suited for both business and leisure travelers. This room features one Queen-sized bed, color TV with cable, free wireless Internet, microwave, mini-fridge, complimentary toiletries, Iron/ironing board and alarm clock radio.
Double-Double
All the rooms offer spacious accommodations ideally suited for both business and leisure travelers. This room features two Double-sized beds, color TV with cable, free wireless Internet, microwave, mini-fridge, complimentary toiletries, Iron/ironing board and alarm clock radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Regency Inn San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7833 -122.4175
Area served
San Francisco, United States.
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport (SFO).
Area description
The San Francisco Regency Inn offers an on site business room for guest use. Shuttle service to the airport is available 24 hours a day. Valet parking is also available. Fisherman's Wharf and Ghirardelli Square are each 2 miles from this hotel. The Golden Gate Bridge is a 12-minute drive away. Hotel Rooms: 28 The San Francisco Regency Inn offers an on site business room for guest use. Shuttle service to the airport is available 24 hours a day. Valet parking is also available. Fisherman's Wharf and Ghirardelli Square are each 2 miles from this hotel. The Golden Gate Bridge is a 12-minute drive away. Hotel Rooms: 28.

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.6 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.8 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.8 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.8 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.8 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for The Regency Inn San Francisco

Overall score

2 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
2.1
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.2
Location:
1.7
Value:
2.1

28% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Night warrior
Business
Los Angeles, California
Oct 6, 2013

A shameful place

Cockroaches were in the room. At the entrance were two drunk kids. The place is old and not nice. The breakfast was a farce. Terrible coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stephen Brown
Weimar, Ca
Nov 14, 2013

room at Regency Inn, Eddy St

I can't believe you would book anyone to this most pathetic, rundown, drug ridden, panhandling neighborhood. I had requested being near Union Square and where did I end up... in the Tenderloin (druggie) district of S.F. The hotel got my bed arrangement wrong too. This place was nothing but an overpriced rip off. S.B. Colfax, CA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Beppe51
Como. Italy
Aug 16, 2013

Terrible. A odi!

Bad hotel,bad Room,bad street,bad area!!!!! Very danger be in this hotel. A lot a drugs in the street. Not safe area. Room small e sampling bad!!!avoid!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Really Disappointed Guest
Seattle, WA
Aug 27, 2013

Not worth the money.

The experience wasn't good. I was extremely disappointed when I arrived at the hotel. The website gives the wrong impression that this hotel is decent, it shouldn't be ranked as a 3 star. Few key points: 1. Terrible location. I woke up with the sound of street cleaning (which happens everyday in that block), car alarms and general noise. Several homeless and shady people drifting around the hotel. 2. Dirty windows. General feeling on unclean. Foul smell in bedroom when arrived. 3. Overall quality of furniture/bedroom far below expectations (even for cheap hotels) 4. Missing a lot of the infrastructure expected by a 3-star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
almalily
beijing,china
Jul 16, 2012

This hotel disappointed us a lot

This hotel disappointed us a lot. It is situated at red-light area, full of strangers wandering in the street. Prostitus sitting on the stairs of the hotel. Old elevator, small room, no space to put your cup in the wash room, of course they don't provide cups. Door is not tight, you can see outside even you lock it.Noisy due to poor wall and bad people in the street. I paid before i checked in to the agent company, otherwise i won't stay the full three days.Horrible experience.Parking is 18bucks/night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

a thai style restaurant is nice just a few minutes walking.

Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ZXBC
Business
California
Sep 2, 2013

Beware of this place - noisy, stinky & unclean

Absolutely terrible place to stay at - noisy location with homeless(?) people screaming through the night audible at the highest floors too; strong dank, weird & musty stench throughout the hotel and the rooms; very unclean & unhygienic environment and absolutely no wi-fi connectivity in rooms. The hotel claims wi-fi is "complimentary" - hence wouldn't do anything to fix it when I complained!!!! The hotel definitely does not feel like it's in a safe neighborhood & there was no service quality. The staff is very nice & friendly, breakfast was really good. If you ever want a place to crash that is better than the sidewalk on the streets then this is it! - Don't expect anything better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mry2Joe
San Jose, ca
Aug 25, 2013

Not worth the bucks, dishonest housemaids

Took my wife up to stay in San Francisco for two nights during the weekday. We had a "do not disturb" sign up the whole time we were there, regardless if we were in the room or out and about. My wife brought out camera, charged it the day we checked in and put it on the counter where the t.v sits on. She forgot to take it with us the following day when we went for a bike ride. That day we returned to out room, the sign "do not disturb" hanging in place. Inside we knew that someone had serviced our room. When we got home, later that evening my wife realized she did not pack or unpack our camera. I made a call to the hotel and explained the above to them of course they denied that the camera was not taken by them. Now 2 wks later my wife gold white gold hoop earrings she brought with us is missing also. She never brought them out if her train case to wear because all we did was go for a bike ride and spent the remainder in the room. We've stayed in many of places. 4 stars down to 2-3 stars and never had experienced an invasion if privacy when we put out the do not disturb sign. They were particular with what the took from my wife being careful it would not be noticed right away. My wife's coach purse and wallet with all her cc cards were in the closet, and her Chanel sunglasses were sitting by the tv along with the camera. If you stay here, definitely use your safe not only have we never experienced such an invasion of privacy, we have never had anything gone missing. We usually travel as a family of five. With all kinds of electronics from ds's to laptops to nooks etc. they never walked away. We also told them we'd like corporate # . They could not give us that b/c if we called "they'd get in trouble" Hello we can find that easily in the Internet, we were they fooling. Other than that, front desk and whoever all the other people were, friendly and welcoming if you can overlook the dishonesty of their housekeeperS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NEVER TO USE THIS HOTEL
Harbor City, CA
Oct 16, 2012

please don't use this hotel. for $50 savings, it's not worth it

the hotel's location is in a real bad area. The elevator was probably built in the 1930's, they key that I was provided was not the same key for the bottom lock so when I tried to get in the room, I could NOT open the bottom lock as it has a different key, so I had to carry my luggage with my backpack down the stairs to tell the front desk that I could NOT GET IN. The lady at the front desk refused to use the stairs with me even after waiting for the elevator for the LONGEST TIME. Finally convinced her after to use the stairs up to the 4th floor with me carrying the luggage telling her that I really have to go back to Union Square to pick up my packet; could NOT OPEN THE microwave door; the night desk could not transfer the call to my room; he said he'll open the line for me which also did not work. He said he'll come up to fix it because I did something wrong (?) I tried to shower and there were NO conditioner, the housekeeper finally brought a sample like the ones you receive from the mail, no face towel. NEVER AGAIN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tracy IM
los angeles
Dec 31, 2012

Think Twice But You Still Might Do It

The biggest problem with this hotel is the location. It is surrounded by derelicts, bums, homeless, beggers, and is almost unsafe. The hotel can't really help this though. What it can control is > room cleanliness - the maid didn't even come one of the days so we eventually just requested towels. The rooms had dust and the kitchen where they served a continental breakfast had bugs > the room was comfortable having said that - but the TV was old, remote didn't work, and the room was cold - although they did provide a portable heater that corrected the problem - the elevator was really old - kids could get their fingers pinched in the metal gate closing - no safety features - the staff though made up for a lot - they were helpful, friendly and very nice to work with. Always helping us with plans, or anything we needed they got for us - had to pay for parking which I was trying to avoid by staying in an outskirts hotel. The cost was the same as staying downtown and would have been far more convenient So I wouldn't stay again which is the big determiner for me. I liked the staff - and wish they were at another hotel - really in a better location. I would probably have gone again - IF the hotel was not surrounded by tons of homeless and feel unsafe especially at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Prebook Alcatraz if that is an attraction you want to see. Book directly with them it is a fraction of the cost of other agencies which offer access to the island.

Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ZXBC
Business
California
Oct 6, 2013

Awful experience

Would not ever recommend anyone to stay here. Beware!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top