$141 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

The Regency Inn San Francisco

2 stars
View map of 587 Eddy St, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Regency Inn San Francisco

Overall score

2.1 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
2.2
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2.3
Location:
1.9
Value:
2.2

31% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SusiK
Business
Hawaii
Aug 22, 2014

Neiborhood isn't good

Hotel is Noisy and not in a safe neighborhood I'm glad I had my man with me, otherwise I would had to check out early We saw it on the Internet and didn't realized this was a Inn

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Holadaniela
Business
Guadalajara, MX
Jul 25, 2014

It's a Place to Stay

Budget hotel in the Tenderloin district. Hotel was fair, room was pretty clean, but it's basically just a place to sleep. Loud at night due to all the "activity" outside. If you are comfortable with the area and just need a place to crash, it's a decent spot, but I would probably spend a little more to stay in a safer neighborhood. Not a place to walk home to at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC Ruby Dev
Business
Roanoke, VA
Jul 21, 2014

Spectacular location, for the price!

For the cash-strapped traveller to Downtown San Francisco, this hotel is perfect! It's very close to the Financial District, the Castro, the Mission, SOMA, Ferry Plaza, public transit and lots of attractions! The price was a life-saver for me. Every other hotel in the area was over $300! I just cannot afford that. However, I'd be careful in this neighborhood at night. Nothing happened to me, but I knew to be aware and to not be in vulnerable situations late at night. The one thing I didn't like about the room was that, being in a historic building, it didn't have AC. However, it had a lot of other cool traits as a historic building, like an old-style elevator. The breakfast was great and the staff was very friendly. I arrived an hour before my check-in. It was just 30 minutes after i made the reservation, mind you. And the lady at the front desk empathized with my fatigue from my flight after a night of no sleep. And she had me in a room ASAP and I was asleep within 10 minutes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Orphan Andy's has great food, 24 hours a day. It's in the Castro neighborhood, about 1.5 miles away. I skated there and had a great BBQ Omelette, which was delicious. Almost every other restaurant was closed, but Orphan Andy's had lots of friendly customers there who recommended lots of local goings-on in San Francisco.

Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HahahTed
Business
San Francisco
Jul 13, 2014

Location

Location is terrible. There were so many people just walking around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
imagrtguy Bangkok
Business
Bangkok, Thailand
Jul 13, 2014

Nice hotel in terrible neighborhood

First, for the pros. The hotel is less than 10 minutes walk to Union Square shopping area and the Moscone Center Convention hall. This is a family managed, well maintained hotel. Free breakfast. The rooms were well equipped, with great service, and a fantastic price for San Francisco. Now the cons. Parking is $30 per day, and it took nearly 30 minutes every time I needed it to be brought. There is no self-parking. This is in an absolutely terrible neighborhood. I witnessed a mugging in broad daylight on the block, and saw someone loading a handgun a block away. The streets are full of homeless people/beggers shouting all hours of the day and night. Sirens blast by almost every hour. I never left the hotel at night, because I didn't feel safe during the daytime even. There is little to eat nearby other than Vietnamese food. The KFC/Taco Bell down the block was the filthiest restaurant I have been in ever....with poor service to match. It's a shame because this would be a very nice hotel I would highly recommend if it was in a safer neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay away from the KFC/Taco Bell. Terrible service and absolutely filthy. The health inspector should be put in jail over this place!

Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kristen Darling
Business
Nevada City, CA
Jul 9, 2014

Reservation did not work

The main complaint is that we got to the hotel and they did not have our information. I received a confirmation from your site but the Hotel had no record of it. Luckily they had room because we were on a strict schedule and had tickets to a show that evening. It does not make me very confident in your site however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
vitorkcc
Business
Macau, Macau
Jun 5, 2014

Be careful.

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights (Tues, Wed and Thurs). Nightmare experience. There was no parking on the hotel so you either have use the valet or park on the street. There is a bus stop in front of the hotel so you have to pull forward to load or unload your luggage. I was told you may get a ticket if you stop on the bus stop. I probably got a ticket because of that. A lot of people walking around in the midnight, if you know what i mean. Not the usual neighborhood you would love to stay in. A lot of noise from drunk and cop cars. Busy districts in the early morning. I could not sleep much. Hotel was 2 blocks from city hall and few blocks from the BART. On my second night, my rental car got broken into. So I would not recommend anyone to stay in this area. There were a lot people asking for money and smokes. Finally, room was small with 2 beds, could hardly move around. Shower pressure was low. Building was old. Stairs boards are tilted which makes it hard to walk on. Elevator was old and did not work all the time. The only good things are the breakfast and the big HDTV. The TV is real good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Michael the promo lifer
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 2, 2014

Great budget hotel

Bare bones little hotel. Heater didn't work in room but they supplied portable space heater immediately. Nice little care package of complimentary toothbrush, toothpaste and usual soap waiting. Cheap!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MrCodyD
Business
Seattle
May 4, 2014

Worst hotel ever

Worst experience with a hotel ever... The room had a lot of dirt and the stuff was not friendly at all. Outside had a lot of bums that was really rude. Will not stay here ever again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ice ice
Business
San Francisco
Mar 22, 2014

Vacation

It was a small room, with out a lot to itt, was cozy. Thier staff was very kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top