$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 27, 2014

The Regency Inn San Francisco

2 stars
587 Eddy St, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.0
out of 5
54 reviews
Awful experience

Where do I start with this horrible experience. I will just make a list: - no air conditoning -... See full review

  • Hotel Joe
  • Sep 9, 2013
Spectacular location, for the price!

For the cash-strapped traveller to Downtown San Francisco, this hotel is perfect! It's very close... See full review

  • DC Ruby Dev
  • Jul 21, 2014
Welcome to the Regency Hotel positioned in the heart of downtown San Francisco. The hotel is minutes away from many of the cultural events, beautiful sights or work commitments to which you will partake while staying in the exciting city. As guest you will enjoy having all of San Francisco within your reach. The convenient location gives guests the ability to simply cross the street to utilize public transportation assisting you in navigating your way around the city. Many guests however choose to walk to their destination because the hotel is few steps away from City Hall, Union Square, the Financial District, Convention Center and the Castro. Your satisfaction is top priority at the Regency Hotel. You may be on a budget, however you will not feel like it! Airport shuttle is available 24 hours and the charge is $17 per person. The hotel provides amenities like Free Breakfast. Valet parking only and there is an additional charge per night.Sorry, no pets allowed

Hotel Map

37.7833 -122.4175
Area served
San Francisco, United States.
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport (SFO).
Area description
The San Francisco Regency Inn offers an on site business room for guest use. Shuttle service to the airport is available 24 hours a day. Valet parking is also available. Fisherman's Wharf and Ghirardelli Square are each 2 miles from this hotel. The Golden Gate Bridge is a 12-minute drive away. Hotel Rooms: 28 The San Francisco Regency Inn offers an on site business room for guest use. Shuttle service to the airport is available 24 hours a day. Valet parking is also available. Fisherman's Wharf and Ghirardelli Square are each 2 miles from this hotel. The Golden Gate Bridge is a 12-minute drive away. Hotel Rooms: 28.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Regency Inn San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

The Regency Inn San Francisco Rooms

Queen-Queen
All the rooms offer spacious accommodations ideally suited for both business and leisure travelers. This room features one Queen-sized bed, color TV with cable, free wireless Internet, microwave, mini-fridge, complimentary toiletries, Iron/ironing board and alarm clock radio.
Double-Double
All the rooms offer spacious accommodations ideally suited for both business and leisure travelers. This room features two Double-sized beds, color TV with cable, free wireless Internet, microwave, mini-fridge, complimentary toiletries, Iron/ironing board and alarm clock radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
General
Concierge
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.4 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.4 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • SoMa: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Union Square: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown: 0.7 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.7 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.7 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.9 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.9 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.5 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.6 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.8 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.8 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.8 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.8 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for The Regency Inn San Francisco

Overall score

2 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
2.1
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.3
Location:
1.7
Value:
2.1

28% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hotel Joe
Business
San Francisco, CA
Sep 9, 2013

Awful experience

Where do I start with this horrible experience. I will just make a list: - no air conditoning - broken blinds - NOISY since windows had to be left open - Transients yelling all night - Homeless on corner - No pug for lamp or microwave - light above vanity didn't work - very little English spoken at front desk - 6 blocks to BART, not close to hotel like stated - raving lunatic in the middle of Eddy St. from 5:30 AM to 7:30 AM The list goes on and on

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Need a safe place to stay
Business
Baltimore, MD.
Sep 8, 2013

Horrible, Horrible mistake booking here

The Regency Inn is a terrible hotel! Staff is rude, hotel is in a very unsafe part of town, far from everything. We were stepping over homeless people sleeping in the entrance way of the hotel for gosh sake! Smells of urine. I would guess any decent review of this hotel must be written by staff and family members. I spoke to the General Manager, Rizline Tessoro, and she refused to wave their cancellation policy, even at 9:30 am for THAT NIGHT! Stay away! I am doing you a huge favor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vegas Patron
Business
Los Angeles, California
Sep 3, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE

I stayed here for a business trip and picked this hotel based on its alleged "3 star" rating and the price at the time was most reasonable given the American Cup was going on that week. The location of this place is terrible, right in the heart of the tenderloin and very sketchy. The first room they gave me was on the 2nd floor. It looked (and smelled) like a prison cell. They told me the room was ready but when I walked in, there were no sheets on the second bed and all of the pillows and bedding were thrown onto the other bed. The second room they gave me appeared to be better (at least cleaner), but the walls were paper thin and you could hear every single person yelling outside and every truck that drove by in the middle of the night, and there were many. The pillows and mattress were very uncomfortable. To add insult to injury, I was bitten 7 times from who knows what after sleeping in that bed. I would never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ZXBC
Business
California
Sep 2, 2013

Beware of this place - noisy, stinky & unclean

Absolutely terrible place to stay at - noisy location with homeless(?) people screaming through the night audible at the highest floors too; strong dank, weird & musty stench throughout the hotel and the rooms; very unclean & unhygienic environment and absolutely no wi-fi connectivity in rooms. The hotel claims wi-fi is "complimentary" - hence wouldn't do anything to fix it when I complained!!!! The hotel definitely does not feel like it's in a safe neighborhood & there was no service quality. The staff is very nice & friendly, breakfast was really good. If you ever want a place to crash that is better than the sidewalk on the streets then this is it! - Don't expect anything better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Really Disappointed Guest
Seattle, WA
Aug 27, 2013

Not worth the money.

The experience wasn't good. I was extremely disappointed when I arrived at the hotel. The website gives the wrong impression that this hotel is decent, it shouldn't be ranked as a 3 star. Few key points: 1. Terrible location. I woke up with the sound of street cleaning (which happens everyday in that block), car alarms and general noise. Several homeless and shady people drifting around the hotel. 2. Dirty windows. General feeling on unclean. Foul smell in bedroom when arrived. 3. Overall quality of furniture/bedroom far below expectations (even for cheap hotels) 4. Missing a lot of the infrastructure expected by a 3-star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mry2Joe
San Jose, ca
Aug 25, 2013

Not worth the bucks, dishonest housemaids

Took my wife up to stay in San Francisco for two nights during the weekday. We had a "do not disturb" sign up the whole time we were there, regardless if we were in the room or out and about. My wife brought out camera, charged it the day we checked in and put it on the counter where the t.v sits on. She forgot to take it with us the following day when we went for a bike ride. That day we returned to out room, the sign "do not disturb" hanging in place. Inside we knew that someone had serviced our room. When we got home, later that evening my wife realized she did not pack or unpack our camera. I made a call to the hotel and explained the above to them of course they denied that the camera was not taken by them. Now 2 wks later my wife gold white gold hoop earrings she brought with us is missing also. She never brought them out if her train case to wear because all we did was go for a bike ride and spent the remainder in the room. We've stayed in many of places. 4 stars down to 2-3 stars and never had experienced an invasion if privacy when we put out the do not disturb sign. They were particular with what the took from my wife being careful it would not be noticed right away. My wife's coach purse and wallet with all her cc cards were in the closet, and her Chanel sunglasses were sitting by the tv along with the camera. If you stay here, definitely use your safe not only have we never experienced such an invasion of privacy, we have never had anything gone missing. We usually travel as a family of five. With all kinds of electronics from ds's to laptops to nooks etc. they never walked away. We also told them we'd like corporate # . They could not give us that b/c if we called "they'd get in trouble" Hello we can find that easily in the Internet, we were they fooling. Other than that, front desk and whoever all the other people were, friendly and welcoming if you can overlook the dishonesty of their housekeeperS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SF Wedding Guests
Seattle, WA
Aug 19, 2013

Clean and Comfortable

I was looking for a decent place in the middle of town that wasn't too expensive. I found it. My room was clean and comfortable, the staff were friendly and helpful, and I would stay there again. The neighborhood isn't going to win any prizes, but that's life in a large city. I didn't rent a car this time because of San Francisco's superb public transportation, but the front desk will be happy to rent you one if you change your mind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fedepiso
Italy
Aug 16, 2013

Survives

Good position as location but not safety. Is a block full of homeless The room are small and not do clean. Is good for group of friends that want stay in San Francisco looking for something cheap. Good stay just for 2/3 nights. Not suggest to rich family or someone that usually go in high level hotels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Beppe51
Como. Italy
Aug 16, 2013

Terrible. A odi!

Bad hotel,bad Room,bad street,bad area!!!!! Very danger be in this hotel. A lot a drugs in the street. Not safe area. Room small e sampling bad!!!avoid!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Regency Inn San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Janette rao
Los Angeles
Aug 8, 2013

Not a very amazing experience!!,

From the pictures online it seemed worth every penny that I was spending .. But on reaching there .. Found that the bldg is really old .. Not a 1990s one as claimed online .. The Internet connection on the top floor rooms is hardly accessible .. The bathrooms have ancient tubs .. Which need immediate replacement ... But the housekeeping staff does their job 100% and keeps all the old things neat and clean ... Live able but not worth paying what is asked for!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good Thai food at Thai idea!!! On Polk street!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search