The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
545 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
85 reviews
excellent hotel in great location

I booked last minute into the Club level. Everything about my stay from start to finish was lovely.... See full review

  • jrnjmom
  • Apr 24, 2014
The best!!!

My wife and I stayed for a couple of days and wished for a couple of weeks! Thank you Prescott for... See full review

  • Eduardo and Edna
  • Feb 27, 2014
The Prescott Hotel a boutique hotel near San Francisco s Union Square is where Great Taste resides. Featuring beautifully appointed guestrooms suites and the unsurpassed elegance of our Club Level accommodations and lounge. Club level amenities include complimentary continental breakfast and complimentary two-hour hosted full bar nightly. Our central location on Post Street is shared with the top names in retail entertainment business and fine dining. Set in the San Francisco theater district convenient to Union Square shopping an easy walk to Moscone Convention Center and just one block from the Powell Street cable car lines to Fisherman s Wharf the Prescott Hotel a part of the Kimpton Hotel collection offers world-class elegance for the well travel guest. Come discover why Travel and Leisure named The Prescott Hotel one of the Best Hotels in the World for 2009.

Hotel Map

37.7877 -122.4107
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, NW; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 45.70, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible Deluxe Level Queen
1 Queen Bed. Accessible Tub Communication Features Available
King Studio Suite
King Studio Suite 400 square feet 1 king sized bed and full size sofa bed.
Penthouse Fire Place Suite
Penthouse Fire Place Suite 600 square feet one king bed separate living room with sofa bed
Penthouse King Suite
Penthouse King Suite 650 square feet one . king bed full sized sofa bed
Mendocino Penthouse Suite
Mendocino Penthouse Suite 1000 square feet one king bed sofa bed 2 fireplaces
Club Level Double Double
Club Level Double Double 250 sq. ft. two double beds. Designated pet free room.
Club Level King
Club Level King 250 sq. ft. one king bed. Club Level Lounge access. Designated pet free room.
Accessible Club Level Queen
Accessible Club Level Queen 1 queen bed. Designated pet free room.
Club Level King Suite
This 500 square foot suite has 1 king bed living room with a fullsized sofabed. Designated pet free room.
Club Level Queen
Club Level Queen 250 sq. ft queen bed Club Level Lounge access. Designated pet free room.
Club Level Queen Suite
Club Level Queen Suite 400 square feet, Designated pet free room.
Deluxe Level Double Double
Deluxe Level Double Double 250 square feet with two double beds
Deluxe Level King
Deluxe Level King 250 square feet one king bed
Deluxe Level King Suite
Deluxe Level King Suite 500 square feet. Sofa bed
Deluxe Level Queen
Deluxe Level Queen 200 square feet one queen bed
Deluxe Queen Queen Room
Deluxe Queen Queen Room 250 square feet two queen beds

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 85
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TXas guy
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 1, 2014

Business Stay extended for play

This hotel was great, unfortunately I was not there for more than a few hours as it is located in a great location to explore the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square is just down the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jrnjmom
Business
NJ
Apr 24, 2014

excellent hotel in great location

I booked last minute into the Club level. Everything about my stay from start to finish was lovely. Staff were friendly and accommodating of a very late check in. The location was so convenient. Room was small, like many urban boutique hotels, but clean, well appointed, quiet and so comfortable. Club Lounge breakfast was a pleasant surprise. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mobile Bartender
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 12, 2013

Pure Class, Great Location

I got a surprisingly great deal on a Saturday night. It was my first stay in San Francisco, and I think this was the perfect hotel for it. It is close to Union Square and many other downtown attractions. The staff was friendly and check in was quick and painless. The room was very nice, definitely worthy of a four star rating. They served a continental breakfast in the morning that was way above average. My only complaint was the parking situation, which was expensive and bit of a hassle, but I'm sure that is standard for the area. Would definitely stay at the Prescott again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jane T.
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jun 26, 2013

Great Hotel

Really enjoyed my stay. Thanks, Kimpton and Prescott!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Debbie Temecula
Business
CA
Jul 9, 2012

Good, but not great

I hadn't stayed at the Prescott in many years. I like Kimpton hotels and expected more than I got. While the location is still ideal (2 blocks or less from Union Square), it appeared to have a bit of wear. I booked a Club level room for it's cocktail/snacks hour which tacked on a bit of cash. While the open bar is nice for drinkers, the free food was two little pizzas and some cheese and crackers shared by about 20 people. Continental breakfast (free with club level) was melon, bagels and toast and cereal and some muffins. The room was quite small (no place to open your suitcase in full, although very tasteful. Our view was toward an office warehouse looking in onto workers and also an apartment building with a pink bra in their windowsill. Amenities were Bigelow which was nice.. and the extra blanker arrived fast. Room service charge for one appetizer and a sandwich and bottle of water was $62! Overall, I'll try another location next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jlic
Business
Providence, RI, USA
Apr 26, 2012

The Prescott

The Prescott is pretty neat. Located on Post St not far from Market St and the Ferry Building as well as BART and many Muni lines. The room was a little small and lacking a mini fridge, BUT the tub in the room was a spa tub which is a VERY nice perk. Free WiFi and nice little rooms and toiletries. The only downside was that I did not get T-Mobile reception in the hotel except for the lobby. All in all, a good value and a good location if Downtown SF is where you want to be. I'd definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Barrel Room 620 Post st - A wine bar with a fantastic charcuterie menu and a very knowledgable staff Jasper's 401 Taylor St - Very Good tap selection and pretty good food other places to check out that are farther away: Four Barrel Coffee and The Monk's Kettle (Beer Bar)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
By The Way
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Jan 31, 2012

Prescott Weekend

The super gracious staff helped us navigate the city and make the most of our trip. With lots of great shopping and restaurants within blocks the hotel was a great location and the hotel towncar service was an unexpected amenity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Niketown is a cool place just a short walk away. Cable car was close by and provided a good and fun lift to Chinatown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Mar 17, 2011

Old but nice and convenient

I've stayed at the Prescott a few times. I love most Kimpton hotels overall -- they're smaller, have some charm, free WiFi, nice staff. The Prescott is one of the older buildings in the chain in SF so the rooms don't have as many electrical plugs as you'd like and things like that, but minor issues. I was upgraded to a suite this time, which is always nice. And it's super convenient - 1 block from union Sq., close to BART and MUNI transportation to go anyway, an easy walk to the Financial District for work, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Feb 14, 2011

Great location, very friendly staff,

Very nice location, check in was pleasantly quick. We stayed at a king suite with about 500 sf. For the size of the room and location the price of the little over 200 bucks was great. The rooms are redone and overall quite clean. However, the inside furniture was very dated and rather reminded by smell and multiple scratches of a flee market or used furniture from a thrift shop. The seat in front of the window had one of the legs was glued off. On the other hand, the common areas were very elegant, well done and clean, with well maintained and desinged lobby and reception areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
todd113
Business
Chicago
Feb 12, 2011

Good value

pros: nice location 2 blocks off union square, easy check-in/check-out, nice Aveda shampoo/soap, clean. Good value. cons: ~20" TV - I haven't seen one of those for a long time ... it's older building with "charm" that will probably need a rehab in a few years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top