The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
545 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
85 reviews
excellent hotel in great location

I booked last minute into the Club level. Everything about my stay from start to finish was lovely.... See full review

  • jrnjmom
  • Apr 24, 2014
The best!!!

My wife and I stayed for a couple of days and wished for a couple of weeks! Thank you Prescott for... See full review

  • Eduardo and Edna
  • Feb 27, 2014
The Prescott Hotel a boutique hotel near San Francisco s Union Square is where Great Taste resides. Featuring beautifully appointed guestrooms suites and the unsurpassed elegance of our Club Level accommodations and lounge. Club level amenities include complimentary continental breakfast and complimentary two-hour hosted full bar nightly. Our central location on Post Street is shared with the top names in retail entertainment business and fine dining. Set in the San Francisco theater district convenient to Union Square shopping an easy walk to Moscone Convention Center and just one block from the Powell Street cable car lines to Fisherman s Wharf the Prescott Hotel a part of the Kimpton Hotel collection offers world-class elegance for the well travel guest. Come discover why Travel and Leisure named The Prescott Hotel one of the Best Hotels in the World for 2009.

Hotel Map

37.7877 -122.4107
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, NW; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 45.70, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible Deluxe Level Queen
1 Queen Bed. Accessible Tub Communication Features Available
King Studio Suite
King Studio Suite 400 square feet 1 king sized bed and full size sofa bed.
Penthouse Fire Place Suite
Penthouse Fire Place Suite 600 square feet one king bed separate living room with sofa bed
Penthouse King Suite
Penthouse King Suite 650 square feet one . king bed full sized sofa bed
Mendocino Penthouse Suite
Mendocino Penthouse Suite 1000 square feet one king bed sofa bed 2 fireplaces
Club Level Double Double
Club Level Double Double 250 sq. ft. two double beds. Designated pet free room.
Club Level King
Club Level King 250 sq. ft. one king bed. Club Level Lounge access. Designated pet free room.
Accessible Club Level Queen
Accessible Club Level Queen 1 queen bed. Designated pet free room.
Club Level King Suite
This 500 square foot suite has 1 king bed living room with a fullsized sofabed. Designated pet free room.
Club Level Queen
Club Level Queen 250 sq. ft queen bed Club Level Lounge access. Designated pet free room.
Club Level Queen Suite
Club Level Queen Suite 400 square feet, Designated pet free room.
Deluxe Level Double Double
Deluxe Level Double Double 250 square feet with two double beds
Deluxe Level King
Deluxe Level King 250 square feet one king bed
Deluxe Level King Suite
Deluxe Level King Suite 500 square feet. Sofa bed
Deluxe Level Queen
Deluxe Level Queen 200 square feet one queen bed
Deluxe Queen Queen Room
Deluxe Queen Queen Room 250 square feet two queen beds

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 85
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.3

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rbillings3
Business
Novato, CA
Aug 3, 2014

Elegant and Old Style

Quite a beautiful hotel! I didn't realize it was going to be quite as old-styled as it was, but it was very comfortable and nicely styled. We stayed in a king suite and the room was split into two, so that was nice. We got a continental breakfast that was really good. We only stayed for one night, so I don't have too much to report about. But they are pet friendly, which is really awesome for a hotel downtown! Really nice staff and surprisingly dead quiet for a hotel right in the middle of the downtown. I don't know if I heard anything from the outside the entire time we were there. It was pretty amazing! And the bed was really really cozy! Same with the sofa bed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DNB15237
Business
Pittsburgh pa
Apr 13, 2014

Overnight San Fran

OK. Not great but worth the discounted price. $48 valet parking pretty annoying. Staff seemed a little uptight. Clean and well appointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gelic
Business
Stockton, CA
Jan 29, 2014

Awesome place with the best spot for a girls' day out!

We had the best time in all my experience as a visitor in San Francisco... my girlfriends and I were celebrating our Freedom Night and we could not have selected a better place than Prescott Hotel... It was centrally-located in the heart of San Francisco close to fine-dining, bars/cocktails, clubs, shopping and theaters... it's a metropolitan get-away paradise. Prescott is amazing because it was very clean, pristine, beds were very comfortable, and the Victorian charm is trendy, cozy with up-to-date design and furnitures. They even have a 1940's red bicycle in the lobby for anyone who want to ride it around time! That would be my next activity!!! We had the best time and would recommend my family and friends to stay here. I am sure you will have a ball!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fulvius
Business
Medford, OR
Jan 26, 2014

Disclosure

When you book a hotel these days, I think you expect some things unless you are told otherwise. Like a microwave, maybe, or an in-room refrigerator. If you ask about something, I think you should get a straight answer, like is there a charge for parking, or how much is valet parking? If you ask about complimentary breakfast, you should quickly learn that there isn't one and the hotel breakfast will cost $18. The Prescott Inn has tremendously friendly, intelligent staff who can trace the families of restaurant chefs, if someone is interested, but the physical hotel lacks some amenities (see above) and does not announce that absence, and trying to figure out the full cost of a night's stay is still beyond me. I am eager to get the final charges on my credit card so I can see just how much I spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get breakfast across the street on the next block east in one of the coffee shops. You'll save about $10. And you're out of luck if you want coffee in your room before you shower and dress - even room service isn't available until 6:30.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shanyi
Business
San Francisco, California
Dec 30, 2011

Extremely Close

The room we got wasn't large than I thougt but it was clean and the hotel is extremely close to union square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saint Helena, CA
Jan 2, 2011

Good not Great

Stayed a night over with a couple of friends, the room was small but that was not the problem, the thing was the noise, people talking on the hall seemed to be inside the room with us. Really really noisy hard to relax!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cedar Rapids, IA
Nov 15, 2010

Good price for the area.

Got a great price for the part of the city we were in. Most of the staff was very helpful and friendly, we only encountered one rude person at the front desk. Room was out dated but was clean. The location is very close to a bad part of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jul 7, 2010

Very disappointing for a Kimpton Hotel

I am a Kimpton Hotel fanatic and recommend their hotels to all my friends and family. I enjoy the staff's superior customer service and knowledge of the surrounding area, plus each hotel is super stylish with fantastic restaurants. I typically stay at the Monaco or Palomar in various cities and decided to check out something new. My boyfriends birthday is July 4th and we decided to escape to the city with one of his friends at the last minute. Both had never stayed at a Kimpton before and were excited to check out the hotel since I told them how much I love the brand and no matter what city I travel to, I always have an amazing experience. Much to my dismay, the poor experience started as soon as we arrived. A front desk agent named [...] was checking our friend in and was explaining the deposit process(for mini bar, damages etc)and there was some confusion over a debit card verses a credit card. He told our friend if he had an issue with their policy he would be more than happy to find him another hotel. I could understand front desk agent [...]response if our friend had been difficult, however he merely asked a question and [...] decided to fire back with a snotty answer. I should have realized then to head up the street to the Palomar! When we got to the room the shower was completely filthy, the bed was so uncomfortable springs from the mattress were digging into my back and I cannot remember the last time I stayed at a hotel that did not have a flat-screen TV. The decor was not what was depicted in the photos and the walls were covered in scuff marks, ripped wall paper and dings. The hotel restaurant was closed and room service was not available July 4th, and when we asked for a recommendation for restaurants that were near by we were told not much would be open. Wow. Ok thank you for you help! However much to our delight we found many great places to eat. They were rated as one of the top 500 hotels in the world by a travel magazine and I think they must have paid the magazine to receive that title because the Prescott certainly is not. I will never, ever stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 2, 2010

Great Location - Friendly Service

The front desk could not have been more friendly and accommodating with check-in. The morning coffee and evening wine are very nice touches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top