$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 14, 2014 Check-out: Aug 15, 2014

The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
545 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
125 reviews
excellent hotel in great location

I booked last minute into the Club level. Everything about my stay from start to finish was lovely.... See full review

  • jrnjmom
  • Apr 24, 2014
The best!!!

My wife and I stayed for a couple of days and wished for a couple of weeks! Thank you Prescott for... See full review

  • Eduardo and Edna
  • Feb 27, 2014
The Prescott Hotel a boutique hotel by San Francisco s Union Square is where Great Taste resides. Featuring beautifully appointed guestrooms suites and the unsurpassed luxury of our Club Level accommodations and lounge our central location on Post Street is shared with the top names in retail entertainment business and fine dining. Set in the San Francisco theater district convenient to Union Square shopping an easy walk to Moscone Convention Center and just one block from the Powell Street cable car lines to Fisherman s Wharf the Prescott Hotel a part of the Kimpton Hotel collection offers world-class luxury for the discriminating traveler. Come discover why Travel and Leisure named The Prescott Hotel one of the Best Hotels in the World for 2009.

The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Club Level Double Double
Club Level Double Double 250 sq. ft. two double beds. Designated pet free room.
Accessible Deluxe Level Queen
1 Queen Bed. Accessible Tub Communication Features Available
Deluxe Level Queen
Deluxe Level Queen 200 square feet one queen bed
Deluxe Queen Queen Room
Deluxe Queen Queen Room 250 square feet two queen beds
Penthouse Double Double
Penthouse Double Double 400 square feet two double size beds and full size sofa bed.
Penthouse Fire Place Suite
Penthouse Fire Place Suite 600 square feet one king bed separate living room with sofa bed
Club Level King
Club Level King 250 sq. ft. one king bed. Club Level Lounge access. Designated pet free room.
Penthouse King Suite
Penthouse King Suite 650 square feet one . king bed full sized sofa bed
Club Level King Suite
This 500 square foot suite has 1 king bed ,living room with a fullsized sofabed. Designated pet free room.
Accessible Club Level Queen
Accessible Club Level Queen 1 queen bed. Designated pet free room.
Club Level Queen
Club Level Queen 250 sq. ft queen bed Club Level Lounge access. Designated pet free room.
Club Level Queen Suite
Club Level Queen Suite 400 square feet, Designated pet free room.
Deluxe Level Double Double
Deluxe Level Double Double 250 square feet with two double beds
Deluxe Level King
Deluxe Level King 250 square feet one king bed
Deluxe Level King Suite
Deluxe Level King Suite 500 square feet. Sofa bed

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7877 -122.4107
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, NW; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 45.70, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Walnut Creek, CA
Dec 26, 2009

Fantastic location, great service

Short trip on BART to spend Xmas Eve. Couldn't be a better choice. For extra charge we chose room on club level with free cocktails and breakfast! Worth every penny! Service impeccable! Location could not be better! We will be returning in February for friend's birthday celebration!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Daily Grill on Geary Street for great lunch or dinner. We were late for dinner on Christmas eve and they seated us immediately, even though there was a crowd waiting to get in! Large menu with superb choices that are sure to please all!

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ennis
Nov 1, 2008

Great Location

Very good hotel and good location..picey parking but you can try street parking if you use the car during the day. Reccommend 49 mile drive route through city. It is brilliant. Also 11$ rate for 10-6 in garage next door combined with street parking can make parking cheap. Read all parking signs especially vis-a-vis street cleaning..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta
Nov 20, 2008

Very good value and great location

The Prescott Hotel is very much on par with all other Kimpton Properties. The central location, courteous/attentive staff and general presentation of the property are all top-notch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy access to Union Square and a 10-15 minute walk to the Embarcadero.

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wayne
Aug 6, 2008

small intimate convenient hotel

i was there for 8 nights. They accomodated my needs and the location worked for me. I liked having breakfast with fresh fruit and yoghurt. i would go back although I found out that I paid more than many of the other guests there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wayne
Aug 6, 2008

small intimate convenient hotel

i was there for 8 nights. They accomodated my needs and the location worked for me. I liked having breakfast with fresh fruit and yoghurt. i would go back although I found out that I paid more than many of the other guests there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Oct 29, 2008

First class all the way.

A nice place in town. It was everything we wanted it to be. They made us feel at home -- upgraded us to a beautiful suite, fit us in for dinner at the restauarant even though we were wearing hiking clothes (our luggage managed to make it out of town), and generally spoiled us. We would stay there again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We walked to galleries and contemporary museums as soon as we arrived.

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ennis
Nov 1, 2008

Great Location

Very good hotel and good location..picey parking but you can try street parking if you use the car during the day. Reccommend 49 mile drive route through city. It is brilliant. Also 11$ rate for 10-6 in garage next door combined with street parking can make parking cheap. Read all parking signs especially vis-a-vis street cleaning..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maysville
Aug 26, 2008

Terrific Little Hotel

We loved it! The staff was outstanding and very accommodating. As a native of San Francisco, the location could not have been any better. It was right in the heart of where I wanted to be. Union Square was only a block away and you would never even have to leave the hotel for food. The resturant was superb. Access on and off the freeway was easy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Saks, Neiman's, Nordstrom and all the little speciality shops.

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tomslyck
Hermosa Beach, CA
Oct 4, 2009

Excellent Boutique Hotel

From the young man who took the car, to the front desk, to the maid, everyone was very friendly and ready to help in any way possible. The hotel lobby and halls were nicely appointed with interesting, tasteful details. The suite was especially large and the bathroom included a jacuzzi tub. The Union Square neighborhood is a very exciting part of town for couples. We stumbled onto a restaurant with a terrific jazz ensemble (The Jazz Bistro). The bed was comfortable and we slept very well. We'll definitely stay here again on our next trip to town. We live in a very laid back town (Hermosa Beach) and found that most of the people around Union Square were dressed casually, as we were.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We came across several places featuring live jazz within a few blocks of Union Square. Reservations were not required for many of them as long as you don't have a large group.

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jrnjmom
Business
NJ
Apr 24, 2014

excellent hotel in great location

I booked last minute into the Club level. Everything about my stay from start to finish was lovely. Staff were friendly and accommodating of a very late check in. The location was so convenient. Room was small, like many urban boutique hotels, but clean, well appointed, quiet and so comfortable. Club Lounge breakfast was a pleasant surprise. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top