$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 545 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
86 reviews
Long weekend trip

Good hotel in great location. Only downside is wifi was unreliable all weekend, and the windows... See full review

  • A simple nickname
  • Feb 3, 2015
excellent hotel in great location

I booked last minute into the Club level. Everything about my stay from start to finish was lovely.... See full review

  • jrnjmom
  • Apr 24, 2014
The Prescott Hotel a boutique hotel near San Francisco s Union Square is where Great Taste resides. Featuring beautifully appointed guestrooms suites and the unsurpassed elegance of our Club Level accommodations and lounge. Club level amenities include complimentary continental breakfast and complimentary two-hour hosted full bar nightly. Our central location on Post Street is shared with the top names in retail entertainment business and fine dining. Set in the San Francisco theater district convenient to Union Square shopping an easy walk to Moscone Convention Center and just one block from the Powell Street cable car lines to Fisherman s Wharf the Prescott Hotel a part of the Kimpton Hotel collection offers world-class elegance for the well travel guest. Come discover why Travel and Leisure named The Prescott Hotel one of the Best Hotels in the World for 2009.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible Deluxe Level Queen
1 Queen Bed. Accessible Tub Communication Features Available
King Studio Suite
King Studio Suite 400 square feet 1 king sized bed and full size sofa bed.
Penthouse Fire Place Suite
Penthouse Fire Place Suite 600 square feet one king bed separate living room with sofa bed
Penthouse King Suite
Penthouse King Suite 650 square feet one . king bed full sized sofa bed
Mendocino Penthouse Suite
Mendocino Penthouse Suite 1000 square feet one king bed sofa bed 2 fireplaces
Club Level Double Double
Club Level Double Double 250 sq. ft. two double beds. Designated pet free room.
Club Level King
Club Level King 250 sq. ft. one king bed. Club Level Lounge access. Designated pet free room.
Accessible Club Level Queen
Accessible Club Level Queen 1 queen bed. Designated pet free room.
Club Level King Suite
This 500 square foot suite has 1 king bed living room with a fullsized sofabed. Designated pet free room.
Club Level Queen
Club Level Queen 250 sq. ft queen bed Club Level Lounge access. Designated pet free room.
Club Level Queen Suite
Club Level Queen Suite 400 square feet, Designated pet free room.
Deluxe Level Double Double
Deluxe Level Double Double 250 square feet with two double beds
Deluxe Level King
Deluxe Level King 250 square feet one king bed
Deluxe Level King Suite
Deluxe Level King Suite 500 square feet. Sofa bed
Deluxe Level Queen
Deluxe Level Queen 200 square feet one queen bed
Deluxe Queen Queen Room
Deluxe Queen Queen Room 250 square feet two queen beds

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eduardo and Edna
Business
Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico
Feb 27, 2014

The best!!!

My wife and I stayed for a couple of days and wished for a couple of weeks! Thank you Prescott for making my wifes first visit to San Francisco one she will never forget.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great Italian food on Powell

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jrnjmom
Business
NJ
Apr 24, 2014

excellent hotel in great location

I booked last minute into the Club level. Everything about my stay from start to finish was lovely. Staff were friendly and accommodating of a very late check in. The location was so convenient. Room was small, like many urban boutique hotels, but clean, well appointed, quiet and so comfortable. Club Lounge breakfast was a pleasant surprise. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J and V
Business
Orange County, California
Nov 2, 2011

Weekend Getaway

We have stayed at many hotels in the San Francisco area and the Prescott rates a high score for location and value. We arrived three hours before assigned check-in and our room was ready. The room was decorated nicely and was very clean, as were the hallways and elevators. From the moment we arrived, the staff was awesome and assisted with all our needs, including a power extension cord. Fresh cookies in the afternoon and a wonderful complimentary wine and beer hour every night in the beautiful living room with a fireplace. Even the executive manager serving the wine was friendly and talkative. A great advantage to the location is no need for a car, you are in short walking distance to everything, shopping, financial, cable cars, and restaurants. We flew to SFO and used the BART train from the airport to Powell Street (a few short blocks from the Prescott). This was a no hassle one hour trip that saved us hundreds of dollars for a rental car and hotel parking fees. Being a boutique hotel means small and less busy inside, a definite plus compared to huge mainstream hotels. To top off this wonderful hotel, it had the best rates of any hotel in the Union Square area...you can't go wrong!!! We will be back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Always ask the concierge for dining tips. Working and living in the area gives them great advantage to the best restaurants you would like to visit. The concierge at the Prescott made wonderful choices for us.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tmcb01
Business
No. California
Jul 12, 2010

A wonderful hotel in downtown SFO

We really enjoyed this hotel. Great staff, extremely friendly and helpful. The room was very nice, and of good value for the price we paid. No coffee in room only complementary coffee and tea downstairs, but it was organic and very good. We plan on staying again, when we are in SFO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
S. Florida
Jul 4, 2009

Service Supreme!

Terrific location, outstanding service, personalized attention, and spotless rooms, one can't go wrong at the Prescott. Unlike some newer large corporate environments, the Klimpton staff makes you feel special and at home. A great value offering service exceeding much higher priced locations. We shall return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Walnut Creek, CA
Dec 26, 2009

Fantastic location, great service

Short trip on BART to spend Xmas Eve. Couldn't be a better choice. For extra charge we chose room on club level with free cocktails and breakfast! Worth every penny! Service impeccable! Location could not be better! We will be returning in February for friend's birthday celebration!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Daily Grill on Geary Street for great lunch or dinner. We were late for dinner on Christmas eve and they seated us immediately, even though there was a crowd waiting to get in! Large menu with superb choices that are sure to please all!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Oct 29, 2008

First class all the way.

A nice place in town. It was everything we wanted it to be. They made us feel at home -- upgraded us to a beautiful suite, fit us in for dinner at the restauarant even though we were wearing hiking clothes (our luggage managed to make it out of town), and generally spoiled us. We would stay there again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We walked to galleries and contemporary museums as soon as we arrived.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tomslyck
Business
Hermosa Beach, CA
Oct 4, 2009

Excellent Boutique Hotel

From the young man who took the car, to the front desk, to the maid, everyone was very friendly and ready to help in any way possible. The hotel lobby and halls were nicely appointed with interesting, tasteful details. The suite was especially large and the bathroom included a jacuzzi tub. The Union Square neighborhood is a very exciting part of town for couples. We stumbled onto a restaurant with a terrific jazz ensemble (The Jazz Bistro). The bed was comfortable and we slept very well. We'll definitely stay here again on our next trip to town. We live in a very laid back town (Hermosa Beach) and found that most of the people around Union Square were dressed casually, as we were.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We came across several places featuring live jazz within a few blocks of Union Square. Reservations were not required for many of them as long as you don't have a large group.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 21, 2008

Very comfortable and conveniently located

The Prescott was in a great location. I would definitely go back. Free internet in my room was terrific. Staff was friendly and efficient. The room was small and awkwardly shaped, but that wasn't a problem for me. The hotel seemed to have seen better days, but it was totally fine and absolutely clean. I would recommend the Prescott!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very cool crepery on the corner with free wi-fi and lots of other nice (and affordable) food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta
Nov 20, 2008

Very good value and great location

The Prescott Hotel is very much on par with all other Kimpton Properties. The central location, courteous/attentive staff and general presentation of the property are all top-notch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy access to Union Square and a 10-15 minute walk to the Embarcadero.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top