The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
545 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
85 reviews
excellent hotel in great location

I booked last minute into the Club level. Everything about my stay from start to finish was lovely.... See full review

  • jrnjmom
  • Apr 24, 2014
The best!!!

My wife and I stayed for a couple of days and wished for a couple of weeks! Thank you Prescott for... See full review

  • Eduardo and Edna
  • Feb 27, 2014
The Prescott Hotel a boutique hotel near San Francisco s Union Square is where Great Taste resides. Featuring beautifully appointed guestrooms suites and the unsurpassed elegance of our Club Level accommodations and lounge. Club level amenities include complimentary continental breakfast and complimentary two-hour hosted full bar nightly. Our central location on Post Street is shared with the top names in retail entertainment business and fine dining. Set in the San Francisco theater district convenient to Union Square shopping an easy walk to Moscone Convention Center and just one block from the Powell Street cable car lines to Fisherman s Wharf the Prescott Hotel a part of the Kimpton Hotel collection offers world-class elegance for the well travel guest. Come discover why Travel and Leisure named The Prescott Hotel one of the Best Hotels in the World for 2009.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible Deluxe Level Queen
1 Queen Bed. Accessible Tub Communication Features Available
King Studio Suite
King Studio Suite 400 square feet 1 king sized bed and full size sofa bed.
Penthouse Fire Place Suite
Penthouse Fire Place Suite 600 square feet one king bed separate living room with sofa bed
Penthouse King Suite
Penthouse King Suite 650 square feet one . king bed full sized sofa bed
Mendocino Penthouse Suite
Mendocino Penthouse Suite 1000 square feet one king bed sofa bed 2 fireplaces
Club Level Double Double
Club Level Double Double 250 sq. ft. two double beds. Designated pet free room.
Club Level King
Club Level King 250 sq. ft. one king bed. Club Level Lounge access. Designated pet free room.
Accessible Club Level Queen
Accessible Club Level Queen 1 queen bed. Designated pet free room.
Club Level King Suite
This 500 square foot suite has 1 king bed living room with a fullsized sofabed. Designated pet free room.
Club Level Queen
Club Level Queen 250 sq. ft queen bed Club Level Lounge access. Designated pet free room.
Club Level Queen Suite
Club Level Queen Suite 400 square feet, Designated pet free room.
Deluxe Level Double Double
Deluxe Level Double Double 250 square feet with two double beds
Deluxe Level King
Deluxe Level King 250 square feet one king bed
Deluxe Level King Suite
Deluxe Level King Suite 500 square feet. Sofa bed
Deluxe Level Queen
Deluxe Level Queen 200 square feet one queen bed
Deluxe Queen Queen Room
Deluxe Queen Queen Room 250 square feet two queen beds

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MBPHD
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Jan 2, 2013

We like Kimpton Hotels....

and use them whenever they are available. This is our second stay at the Prescott. Two criticisms. One, we asked for an extra blanket, after an hour we called again and it came about 15 minutes later. The extra chair we asked for never arrived. Secondly, breakfast buffet is fairly priced, but not when they start packing it up 5 minutes after you have ordered this option. If they are going to close the buffet, they should not offer this as an option for lateish breakfast eaters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lynchburg, VA
Aug 13, 2009

Unwhelming experience.

Overall, quite disappointed with the hotel. I've stayed in more updated hotels in the same area for similar price. The bathtub was not a soaking tub as expected; bed sheets were ill-fitting and often short-sheeted; floor in hotel room was uneven; cable was very limited; toiletries in bathroom were not replenished daily; A/C was loud and ill performing---tried to reset to 70, but turning it on meant waking to 64, quite cold to start the day; shower pressure was limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teachecon2
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Aug 3, 2009

Recent Stay

Overall, my wife and I were extremely pleased with the Prescott Hotel. We only had one complaint. After booking through Orbitiz a king sized bed, we were given a queen sized bed on our first night. The hotel passed the blame unto Orbitiz. We did not care about the reason. If the hotel is having a problem with Orbitiz they need to work it out. As we were leaving the hotel on our first night, we overheard another couple complaining about the same set of circumstances. After raising the issue, we were eventually able to change rooms and we were given a room with a king size bed for the remaining three nights of our stay. We did not have any complaints about the hotel itself. Location can not be beat. Close to Union Square and very convenient to all mass transportation. The hotel concierge and staff were friendly and very helpful!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
S. Florida
Jul 4, 2009

Service Supreme!

Terrific location, outstanding service, personalized attention, and spotless rooms, one can't go wrong at the Prescott. Unlike some newer large corporate environments, the Klimpton staff makes you feel special and at home. A great value offering service exceeding much higher priced locations. We shall return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 21, 2009

Great Location and price!

Great petite hotel with much personl attenton to needs and comfort. Rooms are exsquisite, location is great,in the midst of downtown within walking distance of all notable San Francisco restaurants and shopping districts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Jun 8, 2009

Good Boutique Hotel in a Great Location

The hotel is in a really great location and you can easily walk to the shopping in Union Square, restaurants, the trolley line and to BART. If you don't mind a bit of a longer walk, you can also walk to Chinatown and the Ferry Building. Most of the front desk staff were extremely helpful; in particular, [...] was extremely helpful and friendly when I had some questions about directions and places to see in the area.The room was nice, roomy and comfortable - my only real complaint is that there was a lot of noise in the middle of the night during two of the four nights of my stay. One night there were maintenance workers right outside my window talking and banging for about an hour. (Although, to the hotel's credit, the noise ceased almost immediately after I called the front desk). The other night, there must have been a party, because there was a lot of yelling and partying going on. (This was well after midnight!)Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
babygirl
Business
gulfport,ms.
May 25, 2009

i loved the location

it was comfortable,it was close to everything,even though parking was kind of steep,"$45.00a night",i still would stay there again and as far as parking there was a parking garage around the corner for $25.00 over night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
La Jolla, CA
Mar 9, 2009

Lovely

This is a lovely hotel, in a great location, with wonderful service and a beautifully decorated room (which REALLY matters to me as an interior designer). One complaint - the tv was so tiny that it was difficult to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta
Nov 20, 2008

Very good value and great location

The Prescott Hotel is very much on par with all other Kimpton Properties. The central location, courteous/attentive staff and general presentation of the property are all top-notch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy access to Union Square and a 10-15 minute walk to the Embarcadero.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ennis
Nov 1, 2008

Great Location

Very good hotel and good location..picey parking but you can try street parking if you use the car during the day. Reccommend 49 mile drive route through city. It is brilliant. Also 11$ rate for 10-6 in garage next door combined with street parking can make parking cheap. Read all parking signs especially vis-a-vis street cleaning..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Oct 29, 2008

First class all the way.

A nice place in town. It was everything we wanted it to be. They made us feel at home -- upgraded us to a beautiful suite, fit us in for dinner at the restauarant even though we were wearing hiking clothes (our luggage managed to make it out of town), and generally spoiled us. We would stay there again and again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We walked to galleries and contemporary museums as soon as we arrived.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top