$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2015 Check-out: Apr 26, 2015

The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 545 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodland Hills, CA
Sep 8, 2009

The lovely Prescott

I booked this hotel last minute as a get away. I've stayed at several Kimpton hotels prior to my stay the Prescott, however what really cought my attention was the exceptional value the hotel was priced at for a holiday weekend. Although it wasn't as modern as the other kimpton hotels, it did meet other expectations such as friendly service, great location, nice sice room, breakfast and all priced at about 40% less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ruby Sky night club was one block away, and about four blocks from the trolly. Great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manhattan Beach, CA
Aug 17, 2009

Good deal in San Francisco

Good service from friendly staff. Hotel has great location - near Union Square and Market Street in San Francisco. Rooms were clean but no view whatsoever and small. Hard to find wall plugs for my computer. Wireless internet available but only after signing up for their "club." Postrio, the Wolfgang Puck restaurant on premises closed, but there are excellent restaurants within walking distance. Good price and value given the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fino - Italian restaurant. Its small, so have hotel's Concierge make a reservation. Grand Cafe, French restaurant, is one block from hotel and excellent - but pricy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Aug 13, 2009

PRESCOTT HOTEL

The best location for restaurants, theater, shopping. Personel could not of been more accomodating. excellent value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I loved the unexpected Happy Hour!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lynchburg, VA
Aug 13, 2009

Unwhelming experience.

Overall, quite disappointed with the hotel. I've stayed in more updated hotels in the same area for similar price. The bathtub was not a soaking tub as expected; bed sheets were ill-fitting and often short-sheeted; floor in hotel room was uneven; cable was very limited; toiletries in bathroom were not replenished daily; A/C was loud and ill performing---tried to reset to 70, but turning it on meant waking to 64, quite cold to start the day; shower pressure was limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teachecon2
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Aug 3, 2009

Recent Stay

Overall, my wife and I were extremely pleased with the Prescott Hotel. We only had one complaint. After booking through Orbitiz a king sized bed, we were given a queen sized bed on our first night. The hotel passed the blame unto Orbitiz. We did not care about the reason. If the hotel is having a problem with Orbitiz they need to work it out. As we were leaving the hotel on our first night, we overheard another couple complaining about the same set of circumstances. After raising the issue, we were eventually able to change rooms and we were given a room with a king size bed for the remaining three nights of our stay. We did not have any complaints about the hotel itself. Location can not be beat. Close to Union Square and very convenient to all mass transportation. The hotel concierge and staff were friendly and very helpful!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
S. Florida
Jul 4, 2009

Service Supreme!

Terrific location, outstanding service, personalized attention, and spotless rooms, one can't go wrong at the Prescott. Unlike some newer large corporate environments, the Klimpton staff makes you feel special and at home. A great value offering service exceeding much higher priced locations. We shall return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 21, 2009

Great Location and price!

Great petite hotel with much personl attenton to needs and comfort. Rooms are exsquisite, location is great,in the midst of downtown within walking distance of all notable San Francisco restaurants and shopping districts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Jun 8, 2009

Good Boutique Hotel in a Great Location

The hotel is in a really great location and you can easily walk to the shopping in Union Square, restaurants, the trolley line and to BART. If you don't mind a bit of a longer walk, you can also walk to Chinatown and the Ferry Building. Most of the front desk staff were extremely helpful; in particular, [...] was extremely helpful and friendly when I had some questions about directions and places to see in the area.The room was nice, roomy and comfortable - my only real complaint is that there was a lot of noise in the middle of the night during two of the four nights of my stay. One night there were maintenance workers right outside my window talking and banging for about an hour. (Although, to the hotel's credit, the noise ceased almost immediately after I called the front desk). The other night, there must have been a party, because there was a lot of yelling and partying going on. (This was well after midnight!)Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
babygirl
Business
gulfport,ms.
May 25, 2009

i loved the location

it was comfortable,it was close to everything,even though parking was kind of steep,"$45.00a night",i still would stay there again and as far as parking there was a parking garage around the corner for $25.00 over night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
La Jolla, CA
Mar 9, 2009

Lovely

This is a lovely hotel, in a great location, with wonderful service and a beautifully decorated room (which REALLY matters to me as an interior designer). One complaint - the tv was so tiny that it was difficult to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top