$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 545 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Silver Spring, MD
Oct 11, 2009

Very Good Kimpton Hotel

We stayed at this hotel for several nights in the club level suites. The suites are nice and a good size (for SF). The club level is somewhat awkward to access, but they have a happy hour and free coffee down there. Staff was friendly and helpful. Free continental breakfast with club rooms was a bit spartan and stingy, but food was decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Editgal
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 6, 2009

Ok, but not up to other Kimpton hotels

The staff was wonderful and very friendly and helpful but overall I found my stay to be sub-par for a Kimpton. The first night, my room was extremely noisy and also quite cold. I recommend not staying in a room facing Post Street. I moved rooms for the rest of my stay and it was much better - the staff was very helpful in accommodating this switch. Unfortunately, the fitness room leaves much, much, much to be desired - not even a treadmill is available and some of the equipment in there is positively archaic. And the restaurant is currently under renovation, which I was not aware of before check-in. When you do eat at the hotel, it's quite expensive - much cheaper to simply walk to the end of the block where there are more affordable restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
getaway mom
Business
laguna beach, CA
Oct 5, 2009

Unbeatable service for the price!

Great service from start to finish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping and dining all within a couple of blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tomslyck
Business
Hermosa Beach, CA
Oct 4, 2009

Excellent Boutique Hotel

From the young man who took the car, to the front desk, to the maid, everyone was very friendly and ready to help in any way possible. The hotel lobby and halls were nicely appointed with interesting, tasteful details. The suite was especially large and the bathroom included a jacuzzi tub. The Union Square neighborhood is a very exciting part of town for couples. We stumbled onto a restaurant with a terrific jazz ensemble (The Jazz Bistro). The bed was comfortable and we slept very well. We'll definitely stay here again on our next trip to town. We live in a very laid back town (Hermosa Beach) and found that most of the people around Union Square were dressed casually, as we were.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

We came across several places featuring live jazz within a few blocks of Union Square. Reservations were not required for many of them as long as you don't have a large group.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, OH
Oct 4, 2009

Prescott Hotel San Francisco, CA

Was expecting an upperclass hotel. Rooms are in need of an update (old and dated)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BUFU
Business
Palm Springs CA
Sep 29, 2009

Prescott Hotel Union Square

The Precott was great! The staff was very friendly and professional The location was great! The room was very nice and immaculate. The furnishings were also very good. My only negative [...]parking was extra. I'm used to tipping Valets but this ws a little steep: $51.30 per might. I had a car full of merchandise or I would have sought cheaper parking. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Husband's 45th birthday
Business
Modesto , ca / Jacksonville fl
Sep 29, 2009

husbands's birthday

Overall it was a quite, and friendly hotel, just very dated. Great location, again quiet hotel. Staff was friendly, but seemed to be in a hurry a lot. Room service menu was very limited, and the furniture was old and scratched. The TVs were very small ( about 13 in) and old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Keesha
Business
Dallas
Sep 17, 2009

It was ok for the price but not great

The hotel was older and could have been charming but smelled old and didn't have great amenities. TV was old. Internet access not easy. Not as clean as I would have liked but the price was cheap so I think I got what I paid for. Compared to the Palomar and The Westin, this was terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodland Hills, CA
Sep 8, 2009

The lovely Prescott

I booked this hotel last minute as a get away. I've stayed at several Kimpton hotels prior to my stay the Prescott, however what really cought my attention was the exceptional value the hotel was priced at for a holiday weekend. Although it wasn't as modern as the other kimpton hotels, it did meet other expectations such as friendly service, great location, nice sice room, breakfast and all priced at about 40% less.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ruby Sky night club was one block away, and about four blocks from the trolly. Great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manhattan Beach, CA
Aug 17, 2009

Good deal in San Francisco

Good service from friendly staff. Hotel has great location - near Union Square and Market Street in San Francisco. Rooms were clean but no view whatsoever and small. Hard to find wall plugs for my computer. Wireless internet available but only after signing up for their "club." Postrio, the Wolfgang Puck restaurant on premises closed, but there are excellent restaurants within walking distance. Good price and value given the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fino - Italian restaurant. Its small, so have hotel's Concierge make a reservation. Grand Cafe, French restaurant, is one block from hotel and excellent - but pricy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top