$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
545 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
85 reviews
excellent hotel in great location

I booked last minute into the Club level. Everything about my stay from start to finish was lovely.... See full review

  • jrnjmom
  • Apr 24, 2014
The best!!!

My wife and I stayed for a couple of days and wished for a couple of weeks! Thank you Prescott for... See full review

  • Eduardo and Edna
  • Feb 27, 2014
The Prescott Hotel a boutique hotel near San Francisco s Union Square is where Great Taste resides. Featuring beautifully appointed guestrooms suites and the unsurpassed elegance of our Club Level accommodations and lounge. Club level amenities include complimentary continental breakfast and complimentary two-hour hosted full bar nightly. Our central location on Post Street is shared with the top names in retail entertainment business and fine dining. Set in the San Francisco theater district convenient to Union Square shopping an easy walk to Moscone Convention Center and just one block from the Powell Street cable car lines to Fisherman s Wharf the Prescott Hotel a part of the Kimpton Hotel collection offers world-class elegance for the well travel guest. Come discover why Travel and Leisure named The Prescott Hotel one of the Best Hotels in the World for 2009.

Hotel Map

37.7877 -122.4107
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, NW; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 45.70, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Club Level Double Double
Club Level Double Double 250 sq. ft. two double beds. Designated pet free room.
Accessible Deluxe Level Queen
1 Queen Bed. Accessible Tub Communication Features Available
Deluxe Level Queen
Deluxe Level Queen 200 square feet one queen bed
Deluxe Queen Queen Room
Deluxe Queen Queen Room 250 square feet two queen beds
King Studio Suite
King Studio Suite 400 square feet 1 king sized bed and full size sofa bed.
Penthouse Fire Place Suite
Penthouse Fire Place Suite 600 square feet one king bed separate living room with sofa bed
Penthouse King Suite
Penthouse King Suite 650 square feet one . king bed full sized sofa bed
Club Level King
Club Level King 250 sq. ft. one king bed. Club Level Lounge access. Designated pet free room.
Mendocino Penthouse Suite
Mendocino Penthouse Suite 1000 square feet one king bed sofa bed 2 fireplaces
Club Level King Suite
This 500 square foot suite has 1 king bed ,living room with a fullsized sofabed. Designated pet free room.
Accessible Club Level Queen
Accessible Club Level Queen 1 queen bed. Designated pet free room.
Club Level Queen
Club Level Queen 250 sq. ft queen bed Club Level Lounge access. Designated pet free room.
Club Level Queen Suite
Club Level Queen Suite 400 square feet, Designated pet free room.
Deluxe Level Double Double
Deluxe Level Double Double 250 square feet with two double beds
Deluxe Level King
Deluxe Level King 250 square feet one king bed
Deluxe Level King Suite
Deluxe Level King Suite 500 square feet. Sofa bed

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jseo
Chicago
Aug 13, 2010

Don't wanna recommend to my friends.

First of all, if you drive car, do not stay this hotel. They charge you $45 per night for parking. And they have poor breakfast menu at least $10 per person. Breakfast buffet was $15 per person even though they only have toast, cereal, yogurt, coffee and some fruits. They don't even have some eggs or ham! Do not eat breakfast there. You can easily find better place with cheaper price. The only thing I like was that the hotel is very close to the cable car station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the cable car station, and shopping places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tmcb01
No. California
Jul 12, 2010

A wonderful hotel in downtown SFO

We really enjoyed this hotel. Great staff, extremely friendly and helpful. The room was very nice, and of good value for the price we paid. No coffee in room only complementary coffee and tea downstairs, but it was organic and very good. We plan on staying again, when we are in SFO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis
Jul 9, 2010

Pleasant stay

Friendly courteous staff. Room was clean, comfortable, but small and a bit tired; however, location was good and complimentary NY Times at the door and morning coffee in the lobby were appreciated. Hotel ran efficiently, except the only day they offered complimentary continental breakfast treats, they ran out before I got any.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The A.C.T. theater is a block away and we were able to get decent tickets just prior to the performance and we loved the production. It was well done and seats were comfortable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Jul 7, 2010

Very disappointing for a Kimpton Hotel

I am a Kimpton Hotel fanatic and recommend their hotels to all my friends and family. I enjoy the staff's superior customer service and knowledge of the surrounding area, plus each hotel is super stylish with fantastic restaurants. I typically stay at the Monaco or Palomar in various cities and decided to check out something new. My boyfriends birthday is July 4th and we decided to escape to the city with one of his friends at the last minute. Both had never stayed at a Kimpton before and were excited to check out the hotel since I told them how much I love the brand and no matter what city I travel to, I always have an amazing experience. Much to my dismay, the poor experience started as soon as we arrived. A front desk agent named [...] was checking our friend in and was explaining the deposit process(for mini bar, damages etc)and there was some confusion over a debit card verses a credit card. He told our friend if he had an issue with their policy he would be more than happy to find him another hotel. I could understand front desk agent [...]response if our friend had been difficult, however he merely asked a question and [...] decided to fire back with a snotty answer. I should have realized then to head up the street to the Palomar! When we got to the room the shower was completely filthy, the bed was so uncomfortable springs from the mattress were digging into my back and I cannot remember the last time I stayed at a hotel that did not have a flat-screen TV. The decor was not what was depicted in the photos and the walls were covered in scuff marks, ripped wall paper and dings. The hotel restaurant was closed and room service was not available July 4th, and when we asked for a recommendation for restaurants that were near by we were told not much would be open. Wow. Ok thank you for you help! However much to our delight we found many great places to eat. They were rated as one of the top 500 hotels in the world by a travel magazine and I think they must have paid the magazine to receive that title because the Prescott certainly is not. I will never, ever stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doc in training
Business
Baltimore, MD
Mar 29, 2010

Decent hotel, great staff

Fiance and I are a young couple and we stayed at this hotel for 4 nights while on a business trip. Loved the complementary wine hour and coffee every day. The room, however, was very small. A little disappointed for a 4-star hotel though the staff was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union square is only 2 blocks away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Jan 2, 2010

Great Location - Friendly Service

The front desk could not have been more friendly and accommodating with check-in. The morning coffee and evening wine are very nice touches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Walnut Creek, CA
Dec 26, 2009

Fantastic location, great service

Short trip on BART to spend Xmas Eve. Couldn't be a better choice. For extra charge we chose room on club level with free cocktails and breakfast! Worth every penny! Service impeccable! Location could not be better! We will be returning in February for friend's birthday celebration!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Daily Grill on Geary Street for great lunch or dinner. We were late for dinner on Christmas eve and they seated us immediately, even though there was a crowd waiting to get in! Large menu with superb choices that are sure to please all!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego
Nov 1, 2009

A very pleasant stay . . .

We stayed at the Prescott for three nights while enjoying a San Francisco mini-vacation. We didn't spend much time in the hotel, but our impressions were of a well-maintained establishment efficiently run by courteous staff. The location is great. If I have a complaint, I would have to say that the bed was not the most comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
portland, or
Oct 20, 2009

sfo

pleasant, hassle free

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Silver Spring, MD
Oct 11, 2009

Very Good Kimpton Hotel

We stayed at this hotel for several nights in the club level suites. The suites are nice and a good size (for SF). The club level is somewhat awkward to access, but they have a happy hour and free coffee down there. Staff was friendly and helpful. Free continental breakfast with club rooms was a bit spartan and stingy, but food was decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top