$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 545 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MissRhonda
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 10, 2011

Prescott Hotel was NOT worth the money

Our experience was disappointing to put it nicely. Here is a condensed list of things that went wrong; - $44 for parking per night, when the hotel next door charged $28 (so we had to walk down the street and around the corner to their garage every time we needed our car - big hassle) - central heating is old, when turned on, made room smell like grandma's stuffy moth ball-filled attic (*cough*) - NO insulation from noise. I didn't sleep through the night once. Hotel guests were noisy as hell (we heard every drunken slurred word) - felt like spring break gone bad. Street traffic (cars, police, sirens) including every giggle and shout from the sidewalks below echoed through-out our small room. Questions about hearing every little thing were ignored the first morning. I asked for the manager the next night (was told he'd call - he didn't). Third night I asked for a fan (to create white noise hoping it would drown out the shenanigans wafting in from the halls) and ear plugs - took more than 30 minutes & me walking in a bathrobe down to the front desk in order to receive either. - morning coffee in the lobby was always empty - From day one called daily for 1 more towel (they provide 2 and I wrap 1 around my hair - so we needed 3), never was provided. Disappointing. - Housekeeping cart was parked every day & night right outside our door. *grr* Kept pushing it away from our door every we left - but it would always come back. (too bad it didn't have the bath towels I needed) - hotel restaurant food made us both sick to our stomach ($60+ dinner and neither of us enjoyed a bite), only made that mistake once - Elevator says going down, picks you up, then takes you to 6th floor before delivering you to lobby (every time - gave up & took stairs) This is a sampling of our experience. Disappointing to say the least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

San Francisco has a lot of one-way streets, so mapping out where you want to go according to which direction the streets go (so you're not driving around blocks and blocks just to get to each destination) saved us time.

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
pittsburgh
Apr 18, 2011

convienient and clean

close to great shopping, decent area, staff friendly and polite. restaurant/bar on location nice. cost of parking at hotels in the city is always an issue they rarely tell you about. certain rooms are very small, but comfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Mar 17, 2011

Old but nice and convenient

I've stayed at the Prescott a few times. I love most Kimpton hotels overall -- they're smaller, have some charm, free WiFi, nice staff. The Prescott is one of the older buildings in the chain in SF so the rooms don't have as many electrical plugs as you'd like and things like that, but minor issues. I was upgraded to a suite this time, which is always nice. And it's super convenient - 1 block from union Sq., close to BART and MUNI transportation to go anyway, an easy walk to the Financial District for work, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Feb 14, 2011

Great location, very friendly staff,

Very nice location, check in was pleasantly quick. We stayed at a king suite with about 500 sf. For the size of the room and location the price of the little over 200 bucks was great. The rooms are redone and overall quite clean. However, the inside furniture was very dated and rather reminded by smell and multiple scratches of a flee market or used furniture from a thrift shop. The seat in front of the window had one of the legs was glued off. On the other hand, the common areas were very elegant, well done and clean, with well maintained and desinged lobby and reception areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
todd113
Business
Chicago
Feb 12, 2011

Good value

pros: nice location 2 blocks off union square, easy check-in/check-out, nice Aveda shampoo/soap, clean. Good value. cons: ~20" TV - I haven't seen one of those for a long time ... it's older building with "charm" that will probably need a rehab in a few years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 7, 2011

Boutique Hotel in San Francisco

The Prescott is a luxurious boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco. The staff is amazingly friendly. You will enjoy several plusses if you stay at the Prescott. Friendly and knowledgeable staff, happy hours, the city at your door steps... The Hotel still needs some remodeling, and the only other negative point I can think of is the price of parking (which is very expensive in San Francisco).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you go to San Francisco and you haven't been to Napa Valley you should schedule one trip there. You can rent a car 2 blocks from the hotel (several to choose from) and then drive for 1 hour to Napa Valley and Sonoma! Even if you are not a wine person!!!

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saint Helena, CA
Jan 2, 2011

Good not Great

Stayed a night over with a couple of friends, the room was small but that was not the problem, the thing was the noise, people talking on the hall seemed to be inside the room with us. Really really noisy hard to relax!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
memphis, tn.
Dec 1, 2010

Exceptional staff -location-value

I have stayed here many times. All remains exceptional, particularly for the price with one exception. The bar food is not very good since the demise of Postrio when it was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cedar Rapids, IA
Nov 15, 2010

Good price for the area.

Got a great price for the part of the city we were in. Most of the staff was very helpful and friendly, we only encountered one rude person at the front desk. Room was out dated but was clean. The location is very close to a bad part of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austria
Oct 11, 2010

Feedback

Empoloyees were very helpful and friendly.[...] we were expecting a lot more luxus from the room. Compared to other hotels we were staying during our trip through California and Hawai'i (appr. 10), the value for money was not satisfying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top