$152 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 16, 2014 Check-out: Apr 18, 2014

The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
545 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
75 reviews
The best!!!

My wife and I stayed for a couple of days and wished for a couple of weeks! Thank you Prescott for... See full review

  • Eduardo and Edna
  • Feb 27, 2014
Overnight San Fran

OK. Not great but worth the discounted price. $48 valet parking pretty annoying. Staff seemed a... See full review

  • DNB15237
  • Apr 13, 2014
The Prescott Hotel a boutique hotel by San Francisco s Union Square is where Great Taste resides. Featuring beautifully appointed guestrooms suites and the unsurpassed luxury of our Club Level accommodations and lounge our central location on Post Street is shared with the top names in retail entertainment business and fine dining. Set in the San Francisco theater district convenient to Union Square shopping an easy walk to Moscone Convention Center and just one block from the Powell Street cable car lines to Fisherman s Wharf the Prescott Hotel a part of the Kimpton Hotel collection offers world-class luxury for the discriminating traveler. Located adjacent to our hotel s lobby our award-winning Union Square restaurant Postrio has been one of our region s most popular restaurants since its inception. Come discover why Travel and Leisure named The Prescott Hotel one of the Best Hotels in the World for 2009.

The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Club Level Double Double
Club Level Double Double 250 square feet two double beds
Accessible Deluxe Level Queen
1 Queen Bed. Accessible Tub Communication Features Available
Deluxe Level Queen
Deluxe Level Queen 200 square feet one queen bed
Deluxe Queen Queen Room
Deluxe Queen Queen Room 250 square feet two queen beds
Penthouse Double Double
Penthouse Double Double 400 square feet two double size beds and full size sofa bed.
Penthouse Fire Place Suite
Penthouse Fire Place Suite 600 square feet one king bed separate living room with sofa bed
Club Level King
Club Level King 250 square feet one king bed and access to Club Level Lounge
Penthouse King Suite
Penthouse King Suite 650 square feet one . king bed full sized sofa bed
Club Level King Suite
This 500 square foot suite has a king bed and features a living room with a fullsized sofabed
Accessible Club Level Queen
Accessible Club Level Queen 1 queen bed
Club Level Queen
Club Level Queen 250 square feet queen bed and access to Club Level Lounge
Club Level Queen Suite
Club Level Queen Suite 400 square feet, and iHome docking station.
Deluxe Level Double Double
Deluxe Level Double Double 250 square feet with two double beds
Deluxe Level King
Deluxe Level King 250 square feet one king bed
Deluxe Level King Suite
Deluxe Level King Suite 500 square feet. Sofa bed

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7877 -122.4107
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, NW; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 45.70, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi

Dining

Postrio
The sophisticated contemporary American design of this Union Square restaurant sets a dramatic stage for winning dishes that epitomize San Francisco dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
washington DC
Jul 5, 2011

prescott san fran

Good news.... The location was great. The staff were very helpful - the doorman, [...], was so welcoming and friendly! The concierge recommended a fabulous sushi restaurant. I had my puppies with me and the staff were great with them. Bad news...The hotel was not in great condition. I did not want to walk barefoot on the carpet - it looked dirty. The wallpaper was peeling in the bathroom. The window that opened did not have a lock that worked - which made me nervous since I was there by myself. For the amount of money I paid to stay in a central area in Sanfran for a night the hotel was just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

cab ride to Ozumo 161 Steuart Street. The manager [...] was great, the sushi was fab.

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
MissRhonda
Los Angeles, CA
May 10, 2011

Prescott Hotel was NOT worth the money

Our experience was disappointing to put it nicely. Here is a condensed list of things that went wrong; - $44 for parking per night, when the hotel next door charged $28 (so we had to walk down the street and around the corner to their garage every time we needed our car - big hassle) - central heating is old, when turned on, made room smell like grandma's stuffy moth ball-filled attic (*cough*) - NO insulation from noise. I didn't sleep through the night once. Hotel guests were noisy as hell (we heard every drunken slurred word) - felt like spring break gone bad. Street traffic (cars, police, sirens) including every giggle and shout from the sidewalks below echoed through-out our small room. Questions about hearing every little thing were ignored the first morning. I asked for the manager the next night (was told he'd call - he didn't). Third night I asked for a fan (to create white noise hoping it would drown out the shenanigans wafting in from the halls) and ear plugs - took more than 30 minutes & me walking in a bathrobe down to the front desk in order to receive either. - morning coffee in the lobby was always empty - From day one called daily for 1 more towel (they provide 2 and I wrap 1 around my hair - so we needed 3), never was provided. Disappointing. - Housekeeping cart was parked every day & night right outside our door. *grr* Kept pushing it away from our door every we left - but it would always come back. (too bad it didn't have the bath towels I needed) - hotel restaurant food made us both sick to our stomach ($60+ dinner and neither of us enjoyed a bite), only made that mistake once - Elevator says going down, picks you up, then takes you to 6th floor before delivering you to lobby (every time - gave up & took stairs) This is a sampling of our experience. Disappointing to say the least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

San Francisco has a lot of one-way streets, so mapping out where you want to go according to which direction the streets go (so you're not driving around blocks and blocks just to get to each destination) saved us time.

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
pittsburgh
Apr 18, 2011

convienient and clean

close to great shopping, decent area, staff friendly and polite. restaurant/bar on location nice. cost of parking at hotels in the city is always an issue they rarely tell you about. certain rooms are very small, but comfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Mar 17, 2011

Old but nice and convenient

I've stayed at the Prescott a few times. I love most Kimpton hotels overall -- they're smaller, have some charm, free WiFi, nice staff. The Prescott is one of the older buildings in the chain in SF so the rooms don't have as many electrical plugs as you'd like and things like that, but minor issues. I was upgraded to a suite this time, which is always nice. And it's super convenient - 1 block from union Sq., close to BART and MUNI transportation to go anyway, an easy walk to the Financial District for work, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Feb 14, 2011

Great location, very friendly staff,

Very nice location, check in was pleasantly quick. We stayed at a king suite with about 500 sf. For the size of the room and location the price of the little over 200 bucks was great. The rooms are redone and overall quite clean. However, the inside furniture was very dated and rather reminded by smell and multiple scratches of a flee market or used furniture from a thrift shop. The seat in front of the window had one of the legs was glued off. On the other hand, the common areas were very elegant, well done and clean, with well maintained and desinged lobby and reception areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
todd113
Business
Chicago
Feb 12, 2011

Good value

pros: nice location 2 blocks off union square, easy check-in/check-out, nice Aveda shampoo/soap, clean. Good value. cons: ~20" TV - I haven't seen one of those for a long time ... it's older building with "charm" that will probably need a rehab in a few years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 7, 2011

Boutique Hotel in San Francisco

The Prescott is a luxurious boutique hotel located in the heart of San Francisco. The staff is amazingly friendly. You will enjoy several plusses if you stay at the Prescott. Friendly and knowledgeable staff, happy hours, the city at your door steps... The Hotel still needs some remodeling, and the only other negative point I can think of is the price of parking (which is very expensive in San Francisco).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you go to San Francisco and you haven't been to Napa Valley you should schedule one trip there. You can rent a car 2 blocks from the hotel (several to choose from) and then drive for 1 hour to Napa Valley and Sonoma! Even if you are not a wine person!!!

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Saint Helena, CA
Jan 2, 2011

Good not Great

Stayed a night over with a couple of friends, the room was small but that was not the problem, the thing was the noise, people talking on the hall seemed to be inside the room with us. Really really noisy hard to relax!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
memphis, tn.
Dec 1, 2010

Exceptional staff -location-value

I have stayed here many times. All remains exceptional, particularly for the price with one exception. The bar food is not very good since the demise of Postrio when it was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Cedar Rapids, IA
Nov 15, 2010

Good price for the area.

Got a great price for the part of the city we were in. Most of the staff was very helpful and friendly, we only encountered one rude person at the front desk. Room was out dated but was clean. The location is very close to a bad part of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top