$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 2, 2014

The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
545 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
125 reviews
excellent hotel in great location

I booked last minute into the Club level. Everything about my stay from start to finish was lovely.... See full review

  • jrnjmom
  • Apr 24, 2014
The best!!!

My wife and I stayed for a couple of days and wished for a couple of weeks! Thank you Prescott for... See full review

  • Eduardo and Edna
  • Feb 27, 2014
The Prescott Hotel a boutique hotel by San Francisco s Union Square is where Great Taste resides. Featuring beautifully appointed guestrooms suites and the unsurpassed luxury of our Club Level accommodations and lounge our central location on Post Street is shared with the top names in retail entertainment business and fine dining. Set in the San Francisco theater district convenient to Union Square shopping an easy walk to Moscone Convention Center and just one block from the Powell Street cable car lines to Fisherman s Wharf the Prescott Hotel a part of the Kimpton Hotel collection offers world-class luxury for the discriminating traveler. Come discover why Travel and Leisure named The Prescott Hotel one of the Best Hotels in the World for 2009.

Hotel Map

37.7877 -122.4107
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, NW; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 45.70, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Club Level Double Double
Club Level Double Double 250 sq. ft. two double beds. Designated pet free room.
Accessible Deluxe Level Queen
1 Queen Bed. Accessible Tub Communication Features Available
Deluxe Level Queen
Deluxe Level Queen 200 square feet one queen bed
Deluxe Queen Queen Room
Deluxe Queen Queen Room 250 square feet two queen beds
Penthouse Double Double
Penthouse Double Double 400 square feet two double size beds and full size sofa bed.
Penthouse Fire Place Suite
Penthouse Fire Place Suite 600 square feet one king bed separate living room with sofa bed
Club Level King
Club Level King 250 sq. ft. one king bed. Club Level Lounge access. Designated pet free room.
Penthouse King Suite
Penthouse King Suite 650 square feet one . king bed full sized sofa bed
Club Level King Suite
This 500 square foot suite has 1 king bed ,living room with a fullsized sofabed. Designated pet free room.
Accessible Club Level Queen
Accessible Club Level Queen 1 queen bed. Designated pet free room.
Club Level Queen
Club Level Queen 250 sq. ft queen bed Club Level Lounge access. Designated pet free room.
Club Level Queen Suite
Club Level Queen Suite 400 square feet, Designated pet free room.
Deluxe Level Double Double
Deluxe Level Double Double 250 square feet with two double beds
Deluxe Level King
Deluxe Level King 250 square feet one king bed
Deluxe Level King Suite
Deluxe Level King Suite 500 square feet. Sofa bed

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jane T.
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jun 26, 2013

Great Hotel

Really enjoyed my stay. Thanks, Kimpton and Prescott!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mikee T
Los Angeles
Jun 20, 2013

Great Downtown Union Square Hotel!

Really was pleasantly surprised by this hotel and the very accommodating staff. They were always ready and available to take care of every need we had. Everyone was pleasant and helpful. Even getting the car was fine with just a little notice. This is a pricey experience as others have said but once you go out and try to find parking in the city you understand why it is so expensive even at the hotel. Our stay included breakfast and I would recommend getting this kind of package. It had everything you would expect in a continental breakfast with excellent quality. We will stay here again when we return to San Francisco!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KBSmith
San Luis Obispo, California
Jun 4, 2013

Vacation

Good location! I stayed on the second floor and it was pretty loud within the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
super Allen
Taiwan
May 21, 2013

Really convenient location

Really convenient location at San Frans downtown near Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ed in San Francisco
San Francisco
Feb 25, 2013

perfect location, great price

Kimpton employees are legend- professional, interested, and helpful. The location in San Francisco is surrounded by fun stuff to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MBPHD
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Jan 2, 2013

We like Kimpton Hotels....

and use them whenever they are available. This is our second stay at the Prescott. Two criticisms. One, we asked for an extra blanket, after an hour we called again and it came about 15 minutes later. The extra chair we asked for never arrived. Secondly, breakfast buffet is fairly priced, but not when they start packing it up 5 minutes after you have ordered this option. If they are going to close the buffet, they should not offer this as an option for lateish breakfast eaters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Debbie Temecula
Business
CA
Jul 9, 2012

Good, but not great

I hadn't stayed at the Prescott in many years. I like Kimpton hotels and expected more than I got. While the location is still ideal (2 blocks or less from Union Square), it appeared to have a bit of wear. I booked a Club level room for it's cocktail/snacks hour which tacked on a bit of cash. While the open bar is nice for drinkers, the free food was two little pizzas and some cheese and crackers shared by about 20 people. Continental breakfast (free with club level) was melon, bagels and toast and cereal and some muffins. The room was quite small (no place to open your suitcase in full, although very tasteful. Our view was toward an office warehouse looking in onto workers and also an apartment building with a pink bra in their windowsill. Amenities were Bigelow which was nice.. and the extra blanker arrived fast. Room service charge for one appetizer and a sandwich and bottle of water was $62! Overall, I'll try another location next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
elle8322
Seattle, WA
Jul 2, 2012

Expected better for the price ($250/night)

My fiancee and I stayed at this hotel for two nights. It's a boutique hotel in a very central location in SF. Honestly though, the best thing going for this place was the location. The room was really tiny (200 sq. ft.) but clean and comfortable, with high thread count sheets, down pillows and comforters. Yelp reviews said they have Aveda products, but apparently that's no longer true - they give you the most vile smelling, made-in-China shampoo and conditioner. I didn't even dare touch the lotion. Supposedly free wi-fi but couldn't figure out how to use it. Forget about using the business center computers, it's like $10 for 15 min or something ridiculous like that. Ordered room service breakfast, also average for the price ($50 for tea, fresh squeezed orange juice, yogurt and granola parfait with fresh berries, and pain au chocolat + 20% service charge). But that's downtown SF prices for ya! I wouldn't say this hotel is good value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a hookah bar a few doors down.

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
the average ben
al
Jun 20, 2012

horrible for a honeymoon

The hotel was old and tattered. The staff was friendly though. The location is pretty much right in the middle of down town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jlic
Business
Providence, RI, USA
Apr 26, 2012

The Prescott

The Prescott is pretty neat. Located on Post St not far from Market St and the Ferry Building as well as BART and many Muni lines. The room was a little small and lacking a mini fridge, BUT the tub in the room was a spa tub which is a VERY nice perk. Free WiFi and nice little rooms and toiletries. The only downside was that I did not get T-Mobile reception in the hotel except for the lobby. All in all, a good value and a good location if Downtown SF is where you want to be. I'd definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Barrel Room 620 Post st - A wine bar with a fantastic charcuterie menu and a very knowledgable staff Jasper's 401 Taylor St - Very Good tap selection and pretty good food other places to check out that are farther away: Four Barrel Coffee and The Monk's Kettle (Beer Bar)

Back to menu Return to top