$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 6, 2015

The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 545 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
El Charlos
Business
San Jose, CA
Feb 17, 2014

Wonderful!

Spent the weekend with my S.O. for valentines and decided to stay here. Although we booked last minute, we considered this to be a great deal given the location of the hotel (Union Square) and how beautiful it is. Staff was friendly, room was spacious and clean, and amenities were a great plus! Would definitely recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Stop by the hotel lobby in the evening for complimentary wine!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gelic
Business
Stockton, CA
Jan 29, 2014

Awesome place with the best spot for a girls' day out!

We had the best time in all my experience as a visitor in San Francisco... my girlfriends and I were celebrating our Freedom Night and we could not have selected a better place than Prescott Hotel... It was centrally-located in the heart of San Francisco close to fine-dining, bars/cocktails, clubs, shopping and theaters... it's a metropolitan get-away paradise. Prescott is amazing because it was very clean, pristine, beds were very comfortable, and the Victorian charm is trendy, cozy with up-to-date design and furnitures. They even have a 1940's red bicycle in the lobby for anyone who want to ride it around time! That would be my next activity!!! We had the best time and would recommend my family and friends to stay here. I am sure you will have a ball!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fulvius
Business
Medford, OR
Jan 26, 2014

Disclosure

When you book a hotel these days, I think you expect some things unless you are told otherwise. Like a microwave, maybe, or an in-room refrigerator. If you ask about something, I think you should get a straight answer, like is there a charge for parking, or how much is valet parking? If you ask about complimentary breakfast, you should quickly learn that there isn't one and the hotel breakfast will cost $18. The Prescott Inn has tremendously friendly, intelligent staff who can trace the families of restaurant chefs, if someone is interested, but the physical hotel lacks some amenities (see above) and does not announce that absence, and trying to figure out the full cost of a night's stay is still beyond me. I am eager to get the final charges on my credit card so I can see just how much I spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get breakfast across the street on the next block east in one of the coffee shops. You'll save about $10. And you're out of luck if you want coffee in your room before you shower and dress - even room service isn't available until 6:30.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mobile Bartender
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 12, 2013

Pure Class, Great Location

I got a surprisingly great deal on a Saturday night. It was my first stay in San Francisco, and I think this was the perfect hotel for it. It is close to Union Square and many other downtown attractions. The staff was friendly and check in was quick and painless. The room was very nice, definitely worthy of a four star rating. They served a continental breakfast in the morning that was way above average. My only complaint was the parking situation, which was expensive and bit of a hassle, but I'm sure that is standard for the area. Would definitely stay at the Prescott again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cerdynthickia
Business
San Diego
Nov 25, 2013

Cute Boutique Hotel

Great amenities and good location to a show we were watching at Ruby Skye (literally right around the corner). Sad we didn't have a chance to ride the 2 red bikes for the hotel guests! Love the wine reception and free coffee in the lobby for the AM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LisaJo33
Business
Rohnert Park, California
Nov 18, 2013

Elegant Boutique Hotel

An excellent value for the money, and the location is great if you're looking for the busy, theatre and shopping district with lots of night life. The living room/lounge with fireplace serves complimentary wine each night from 5 to 6, which is a relaxing setting to unwind. Drawbacks: hotel charges for some extras you might expect to be included, like access to public computer ($8 for 15 min). Also, overnight valet parking was overpriced ($48)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop around for the best overnight parking rate at nearby garages (around $22-28 versus $48 with hotel).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CGpuma
Business
Nevada
Aug 31, 2013

Wonderful stay again at The Prescott

Checked in at 3:30. Because we are In Touch members, we were able to get a Club Level room upgrade. Very nice room with cocktails and snacks from 4:30 to 6:30. Breakfast also provided in the morning. Made the trip much more pleasant and enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LisaBE
Business
Sonoma County, CA
Aug 5, 2013

Excellent location for biz travel or weekend get-away

My husband and I attended an event at Union Square & the hotel was in convenient walking distance. The room was located on the club floor which is in a separate building. A bit hard to get to at first. While the room was a bit cramped, it well laid-out and nicely furnished. I did use the yoga matt they supply (nice touch) but did not try out the gym. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The staff at the club floor was not friendly and not in synch with the front desk on hours of operation, but I talked to the front desk and they genuinely seemed concerned. The club floor amenities were a nice touch. Valet parking pricing at the hotel reflects the area (expensive), and it took 15 minutes for the car to be brought up but the valets were attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jane T.
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jun 26, 2013

Great Hotel

Really enjoyed my stay. Thanks, Kimpton and Prescott!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mikee T
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 20, 2013

Great Downtown Union Square Hotel!

Really was pleasantly surprised by this hotel and the very accommodating staff. They were always ready and available to take care of every need we had. Everyone was pleasant and helpful. Even getting the car was fine with just a little notice. This is a pricey experience as others have said but once you go out and try to find parking in the city you understand why it is so expensive even at the hotel. Our stay included breakfast and I would recommend getting this kind of package. It had everything you would expect in a continental breakfast with excellent quality. We will stay here again when we return to San Francisco!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top