$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 14, 2014 Check-out: Aug 15, 2014

The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
545 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
125 reviews
excellent hotel in great location

I booked last minute into the Club level. Everything about my stay from start to finish was lovely.... See full review

  • jrnjmom
  • Apr 24, 2014
The best!!!

My wife and I stayed for a couple of days and wished for a couple of weeks! Thank you Prescott for... See full review

  • Eduardo and Edna
  • Feb 27, 2014
The Prescott Hotel a boutique hotel by San Francisco s Union Square is where Great Taste resides. Featuring beautifully appointed guestrooms suites and the unsurpassed luxury of our Club Level accommodations and lounge our central location on Post Street is shared with the top names in retail entertainment business and fine dining. Set in the San Francisco theater district convenient to Union Square shopping an easy walk to Moscone Convention Center and just one block from the Powell Street cable car lines to Fisherman s Wharf the Prescott Hotel a part of the Kimpton Hotel collection offers world-class luxury for the discriminating traveler. Come discover why Travel and Leisure named The Prescott Hotel one of the Best Hotels in the World for 2009.

Hotel Map

37.7877 -122.4107
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 20.00, MI, NW; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 45.70, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Club Level Double Double
Club Level Double Double 250 sq. ft. two double beds. Designated pet free room.
Accessible Deluxe Level Queen
1 Queen Bed. Accessible Tub Communication Features Available
Deluxe Level Queen
Deluxe Level Queen 200 square feet one queen bed
Deluxe Queen Queen Room
Deluxe Queen Queen Room 250 square feet two queen beds
Penthouse Double Double
Penthouse Double Double 400 square feet two double size beds and full size sofa bed.
Penthouse Fire Place Suite
Penthouse Fire Place Suite 600 square feet one king bed separate living room with sofa bed
Club Level King
Club Level King 250 sq. ft. one king bed. Club Level Lounge access. Designated pet free room.
Penthouse King Suite
Penthouse King Suite 650 square feet one . king bed full sized sofa bed
Club Level King Suite
This 500 square foot suite has 1 king bed ,living room with a fullsized sofabed. Designated pet free room.
Accessible Club Level Queen
Accessible Club Level Queen 1 queen bed. Designated pet free room.
Club Level Queen
Club Level Queen 250 sq. ft queen bed Club Level Lounge access. Designated pet free room.
Club Level Queen Suite
Club Level Queen Suite 400 square feet, Designated pet free room.
Deluxe Level Double Double
Deluxe Level Double Double 250 square feet with two double beds
Deluxe Level King
Deluxe Level King 250 square feet one king bed
Deluxe Level King Suite
Deluxe Level King Suite 500 square feet. Sofa bed

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Room service
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Best mom Cilla
Lodi ca
Feb 24, 2014

Visiting family for one nigh

The staff was friendly and helpful. Only thing I couldn't do was control the room temperature. However, I didn't ask for help either. I like my room cold bot otherwise everything was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union square is right down the street

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bebetraveler
Fresno, CA
Feb 19, 2014

Nice hotel with a good location

A great location near good food and entertainment. We got a room on the mezzanine floor which seemed odd, but worked out well. Felt like there were few people around us. Free drinks and cookies during their happy hour! I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close parking garage that was just a few steps from the hotel. Charged $18 for one night stay with hotel validation.

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
El Charlos
San Jose, CA
Feb 17, 2014

Wonderful!

Spent the weekend with my S.O. for valentines and decided to stay here. Although we booked last minute, we considered this to be a great deal given the location of the hotel (Union Square) and how beautiful it is. Staff was friendly, room was spacious and clean, and amenities were a great plus! Would definitely recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Stop by the hotel lobby in the evening for complimentary wine!

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gelic
Stockton, CA
Jan 29, 2014

Awesome place with the best spot for a girls' day out!

We had the best time in all my experience as a visitor in San Francisco... my girlfriends and I were celebrating our Freedom Night and we could not have selected a better place than Prescott Hotel... It was centrally-located in the heart of San Francisco close to fine-dining, bars/cocktails, clubs, shopping and theaters... it's a metropolitan get-away paradise. Prescott is amazing because it was very clean, pristine, beds were very comfortable, and the Victorian charm is trendy, cozy with up-to-date design and furnitures. They even have a 1940's red bicycle in the lobby for anyone who want to ride it around time! That would be my next activity!!! We had the best time and would recommend my family and friends to stay here. I am sure you will have a ball!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fulvius
Medford, OR
Jan 26, 2014

Disclosure

When you book a hotel these days, I think you expect some things unless you are told otherwise. Like a microwave, maybe, or an in-room refrigerator. If you ask about something, I think you should get a straight answer, like is there a charge for parking, or how much is valet parking? If you ask about complimentary breakfast, you should quickly learn that there isn't one and the hotel breakfast will cost $18. The Prescott Inn has tremendously friendly, intelligent staff who can trace the families of restaurant chefs, if someone is interested, but the physical hotel lacks some amenities (see above) and does not announce that absence, and trying to figure out the full cost of a night's stay is still beyond me. I am eager to get the final charges on my credit card so I can see just how much I spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Get breakfast across the street on the next block east in one of the coffee shops. You'll save about $10. And you're out of luck if you want coffee in your room before you shower and dress - even room service isn't available until 6:30.

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mobile Bartender
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 12, 2013

Pure Class, Great Location

I got a surprisingly great deal on a Saturday night. It was my first stay in San Francisco, and I think this was the perfect hotel for it. It is close to Union Square and many other downtown attractions. The staff was friendly and check in was quick and painless. The room was very nice, definitely worthy of a four star rating. They served a continental breakfast in the morning that was way above average. My only complaint was the parking situation, which was expensive and bit of a hassle, but I'm sure that is standard for the area. Would definitely stay at the Prescott again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cerdynthickia
San Diego
Nov 25, 2013

Cute Boutique Hotel

Great amenities and good location to a show we were watching at Ruby Skye (literally right around the corner). Sad we didn't have a chance to ride the 2 red bikes for the hotel guests! Love the wine reception and free coffee in the lobby for the AM.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LisaJo33
Rohnert Park, California
Nov 18, 2013

Elegant Boutique Hotel

An excellent value for the money, and the location is great if you're looking for the busy, theatre and shopping district with lots of night life. The living room/lounge with fireplace serves complimentary wine each night from 5 to 6, which is a relaxing setting to unwind. Drawbacks: hotel charges for some extras you might expect to be included, like access to public computer ($8 for 15 min). Also, overnight valet parking was overpriced ($48)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Shop around for the best overnight parking rate at nearby garages (around $22-28 versus $48 with hotel).

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CGpuma
Nevada
Aug 31, 2013

Wonderful stay again at The Prescott

Checked in at 3:30. Because we are In Touch members, we were able to get a Club Level room upgrade. Very nice room with cocktails and snacks from 4:30 to 6:30. Breakfast also provided in the morning. Made the trip much more pleasant and enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LisaBE
Sonoma County, CA
Aug 5, 2013

Excellent location for biz travel or weekend get-away

My husband and I attended an event at Union Square & the hotel was in convenient walking distance. The room was located on the club floor which is in a separate building. A bit hard to get to at first. While the room was a bit cramped, it well laid-out and nicely furnished. I did use the yoga matt they supply (nice touch) but did not try out the gym. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The staff at the club floor was not friendly and not in synch with the front desk on hours of operation, but I talked to the front desk and they genuinely seemed concerned. The club floor amenities were a nice touch. Valet parking pricing at the hotel reflects the area (expensive), and it took 15 minutes for the car to be brought up but the valets were attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top