$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 2, 2015

The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

4 stars
View map of 545 Post Street, San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
99 reviews
great union square hotel

Great little hotel one block off union square. Room were just big enough to be comfortable. Beds... See full review

  • Leanne T.
  • May 25, 2015
Awesome

Close to everything, next to an amazing restaurant that has the best crepes! Awesome staff, all... See full review

  • Kevin N.
  • May 12, 2015
The Prescott Hotel a boutique hotel near San Francisco s Union Square is where Great Taste resides. Featuring beautifully appointed guestrooms suites and the unsurpassed elegance of our Club Level accommodations and lounge. Club level amenities include complimentary continental breakfast and complimentary two-hour hosted full bar nightly. Our central location on Post Street is shared with the top names in retail entertainment business and fine dining. Set in the San Francisco theater district convenient to Union Square shopping an easy walk to Moscone Convention Center and just one block from the Powell Street cable car lines to Fisherman s Wharf the Prescott Hotel a part of the Kimpton Hotel collection offers world-class elegance for the well travel guest. Come discover why Travel and Leisure named The Prescott Hotel one of the Best Hotels in the World for 2009.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Accessible Deluxe Level Queen
1 Queen Bed. Accessible Tub Communication Features Available
King Studio Suite
King Studio Suite 400 square feet 1 king sized bed and full size sofa bed.
Penthouse Fire Place Suite
Penthouse Fire Place Suite 600 square feet one king bed separate living room with sofa bed
Penthouse King Suite
Penthouse King Suite 650 square feet one . king bed full sized sofa bed
Mendocino Penthouse Suite
Mendocino Penthouse Suite 1000 square feet one king bed sofa bed 2 fireplaces
Club Level Double Double
Club Level Double Double 250 sq. ft. two double beds. Designated pet free room.
Club Level King
Club Level King 250 sq. ft. one king bed. Club Level Lounge access. Designated pet free room.
Accessible Club Level Queen
Accessible Club Level Queen 1 queen bed. Designated pet free room.
Club Level King Suite
This 500 square foot suite has 1 king bed living room with a fullsized sofabed. Designated pet free room.
Club Level Queen
Club Level Queen 250 sq. ft queen bed Club Level Lounge access. Designated pet free room.
Club Level Queen Suite
Club Level Queen Suite 400 square feet, Designated pet free room.
Deluxe Level Double Double
Deluxe Level Double Double 250 square feet with two double beds
Deluxe Level King
Deluxe Level King 250 square feet one king bed
Deluxe Level King Suite
Deluxe Level King Suite 500 square feet. Sofa bed
Deluxe Level Queen
Deluxe Level Queen 200 square feet one queen bed
Deluxe Queen Queen Room
Deluxe Queen Queen Room 250 square feet two queen beds

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Executive level
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.4 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.4 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.4 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.4 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.4 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.4 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joseph L.
Business
Mountain View
Jun 9, 2015

nice, friendly hotel

Nice lobby/lounge, allows dogs. Close to the show we were going to see, so close to other things. They apparently allow dogs and have references for dog walkers/sitters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leanne T.
Business
San Lorenzo
May 25, 2015

great union square hotel

Great little hotel one block off union square. Room were just big enough to be comfortable. Beds very nice and cozy. Many choices of restaurants nearby and lots of nightlife all within a quick 5-10 minutes walk. Would highly recommend for a nice sf hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kevin N.
Business
santa fe springs
May 12, 2015

Awesome

Close to everything, next to an amazing restaurant that has the best crepes! Awesome staff, all very attentive, clean room. Free coffee and tea!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Antonia
Business
N/A
Apr 25, 2015

birthday trip

I stayed at the Prescott with my two friends. We had a great time! FYI the hotel isn't big. The single rooms aren't big, however they aren't tiny. There's space to walk, space for your stuff, etc. The staff was so friendly, the rooms were clean and the location was great. Not too far from downtown San Francisco/ China town. Timothy the bell man was great!!! Omg we love Timothy. He helped make our stay great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Erika C.
Business
Manalapan
Apr 6, 2015

Couples trip

Hotel is clean and conveniently located in Safe area. Although it is next to the tenderloin, a rather unsavory neighborhood. It wouldn't stop me from staying here again. Close to ferry building, Chinatown and Bart rail system

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carol M.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

business trip

The staff was great. The amenities only ok. The thermostat was broken and wasn't fixed while I was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A simple nickname
Business
damascus
Feb 3, 2015

Long weekend trip

Good hotel in great location. Only downside is wifi was unreliable all weekend, and the windows were definitely on the thin side, which coulda been a problem if we were streetside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Capitanichh
Business
Santa Cruz, CA
Sep 8, 2014

Last minute getaway

I booked the hotel on my ipad on the way to the city. Found that it had better than average reviews for the price. We wanted a pet friendly hotel and to be near Union Square as to not require a taxi in order to get around and the location was spot on! The staff was very professional and friendly, the hotel was quaint and clean. The only issue I had was that the queen size bed was a very small queen size bed and very noisy. What was nice, was that we were off the street and did not hear any sirenes or traffic. I would stay again, but would get a king size bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

great central location to Union Square, shopping, dinning and China Town!

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rbillings3
Business
Novato, CA
Aug 3, 2014

Elegant and Old Style

Quite a beautiful hotel! I didn't realize it was going to be quite as old-styled as it was, but it was very comfortable and nicely styled. We stayed in a king suite and the room was split into two, so that was nice. We got a continental breakfast that was really good. We only stayed for one night, so I don't have too much to report about. But they are pet friendly, which is really awesome for a hotel downtown! Really nice staff and surprisingly dead quiet for a hotel right in the middle of the downtown. I don't know if I heard anything from the outside the entire time we were there. It was pretty amazing! And the bed was really really cozy! Same with the sofa bed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Prescott, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Slayerette
Business
Torrance, California
Jul 8, 2014

Felt deceived

Hotel picture from outside looks great and hotel check-in staff were very courteous. However, it's by far the smallest room and worst window view in all of my travel experience so far. Old styled room with very squeaky and uncomfortable mattress. They had a bottle of water in the room for $6!! It would be nice to have a smaller complimentary bottle at the very least. To use the fridge/mini bar, you need to request for a key. Valet parking is $50. Location though was very good. A block away from Union Square, 1 block from the cable car stop and 4 blocks away from Grace Cathedral.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top