$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 3, 2015

The Pickwick Hotel

3 stars
View map of 85 5th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Pickwick Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
117 out of 117
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Petaluma, CA
May 16, 2010

Nice place, great location

Great location, very clean, classy decor. Only downside was small bathroom with door that did not close fully.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stockton, CA
Apr 5, 2010

The Pickwick Hotel

Great location, many things to do within walking distance even for a 6 yr old. We were able to check in early. Staff were friendly. Scary parking garage, it was one way in and out on an incline.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Barefoot Executive
Business
Austin, TEXAS
Mar 17, 2010

fantastic Stay

Great older hotel with victorian design but modern comfort. The room provided a luxurious king sized bed and a deep bath tub with amazing water pressure in the shower. I was staying there because I had a conference at the Moscone Center which is literally just a short block away. Incredible shopping is right out the door and the museum of modern art (which I found time for) is 5 minutes walking. I was told that to go to Fisherman's wharf - I should take the famous cable car which was again 5 minutes walking from the front door. With free wi-fi in the rooms, comfortable accomodations, and great proximity to the conference center - I would highly recommend this hotel to any business traveller. I ate at both adjoining restaurants and found both very good, however, do not expect a hotel bar/lounge. You must go into one of the restaurants if you want a drink before/after dinner and find somewhere else to entertain clients. Annabelle's Bistro and Grill is a block up and perfect for these types of encounters.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Moscone center is surrounded by very expensive hotels - take advantage of this little gem and walk the extra 500 yards.

Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wopbophop
Business
New Orleans, LA
Mar 13, 2010

Would Book There Again

The staff at this hotel are very cool. Some have worked at this hotel for many years. The rooms and sheets are clean - no question. Pros: * Location (walking distance to Moscone Center) * The staff * Workout room is an oddity - best at night * The rooms have nice decor - even okay framed prints. Cons: * The rooms are poorly lit (avoid 2nd floor rooms especially) * It IS noisy outside. Not the hotel's fault. I got used to it (e.g. fire engines). NOTE: If you book in advance, choose a "deluxe" room. They are apparently brighter than a non-deluxe room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to MUNI & BART as well as the Metreon.

Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bellevue, WA
Feb 7, 2010

Great hotel

Great location and nice design of the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Jan 16, 2010

My experience

Very noisy first night due to garbage collection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ruby J
Business
San Diego, CA
Dec 31, 2009

Old place

Hotel was quite old. Check-in & out were quick. Housekeeping was nice & attentive. Location was great. Parking was pricey $32 a night. We had 2 rooms of double queen beds. Each room was measured approx. 170 sqft, small for 4 people. Wall paint was chipping off terribly in one of our rooms. The most inconvenience was the keys' problem. They kept denying access to our room. It happened 4 times within 8 hours for us. Staff said keys were demagnetized & they kept reprogramming. Hallways smelled Thai food constantly. Rates were good ($79 per night).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You've got to visit the Food Court in Wesfield shopping center nearby. Great food.

Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GreenThinkTraveler
Business
Dallas, TX
Nov 26, 2009

Cost Effective Solution for San Fran

Upon arrivial , we had a smooth checkin with little hiccups. The only downside is that you MUST request to be near your other travelers rooms (if booking more than one). My only complaints would be that the pictures diffured from the actual room, they were in a transistion of switching cable providers so we were stuck with only six stations (which wasn't a huge deal except when it came to winding down), and that it took over 30 minutes per morning to get hot water. For the price and location this was an easy sell for us , though next time I think I would drop a little more cash and just stay and one of the numerous hotels surrounding it. If you do stay here, try mel's dinner down the road for great breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

One of the most amazing experiences our group had was at "The Stinky Rose". If you love garlic, then I highly recommend checking out this place. By far the best food we had at a reasonable rate.

Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GreenThinkTraveler
Business
Dallas, TX
Nov 26, 2009

Cost Effective Solution for San Fran

Upon arrivial , we had a smooth checkin with little hiccups. The only downside is that you MUST request to be near your other travelers rooms (if booking more than one). My only complaints would be that the pictures diffured from the actual room, they were in a transistion of switching cable providers so we were stuck with only six stations (which wasn't a huge deal except when it came to winding down), and that it took over 30 minutes per morning to get hot water. For the price and location this was an easy sell for us , though next time I think I would drop a little more cash and just stay and one of the numerous hotels surrounding it. If you do stay here, try mel's dinner down the road for great breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

One of the most amazing experiences our group had was at "The Stinky Rose". If you love garlic, then I highly recommend checking out this place. By far the best food we had at a reasonable rate.

Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SSellers11
Business
Los Angeles,ca
Nov 13, 2009

Great Location, Friendly Staff

Great price. Close to many events. Comfortable beds and very helpful staff. Was an older hotel so water pressure was low but I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top