$150 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 18, 2014 Check-out: Jul 19, 2014

The Pickwick Hotel

3 stars
85 5th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
154 reviews
Amazing

I´ve stayed at SF for 2 days and I find an excellent hotel, close to Powell Statation. See full review

  • rafaelsbarai
  • Sep 8, 2013
Great Location!

Loved this hotel. It is right next to Market St and all the downtown shopping. Also, only 1.3 mi... See full review

  • Kim F.
  • Aug 5, 2013
The Pickwick Hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco and is steps away from the San Francisco Shopping Centre, Moscone Convention Center, the World Famous Cable Cars, Union Square, Museum of Modern Art, Sony Metreon and the Theatre District. Featured in the writings of renowned author Dashiell Hammett, in his classic mystery The Maltese Falcon. A landmark since its inception, The Pickwick Hotel is a fine example of Neo Gothic architecture. Standard sized vehicle - $ 40.00 inclusive of tax (current charge is $32.00) Unlimited ins and outs from 3:00pm until 12:00pm the day of checkout Oversized vehicles and SUV's - $52.00 inclusive of tax (current charge is $64.00) Unlimited ins and outs from 3:00pm until 12:00pm the day of checkout

All guests must present a valid credit card upon check in for which we will need to authorize at least $40.00 per day for incidentals.Once we have authorized the guests credit card, the guests are welcome to pay for any incidentals with cash during check out.

Hotel Map

37.783 -122.4065
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport Oakland International Airport
Area description
The Pickwick Hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco and is steps away from the San Francisco Shopping Centre, Moscone Convention Center, the World Famous Cable Cars, Union Square, Museum of Modern Art, Sony Metreon and the Theatre District.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Pickwick Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Pickwick Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Standard King Or Two Double Beds.Complimentary High speed internet access. Each delicately appointed guestroom boasts French Provincial Dcor with warm gold, red and cream tones, and elegant draperies. In addition, rooms are furnished with distinctive well-lighted work desks, custom armoires, and over-stuffed chairs with ottomans. Each room has coffee and tea centers, two 100% cotton bathrobes, hair dryers, refrigerator, full size iron and ironing board, and complimentary newspaper Monday - Friday. In room adjustable heating and air conditioning, on demand movies and Nintendo, 2 dual line phones with personalized voicemail and data-ports, and double paned windows.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • St Patrick's Church: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • SoMa: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • SoMa: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.9 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.9 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Japantown: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.3 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.6 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.6 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.8 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.8 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.8 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.9 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting Room available

Dining

Restaurant / Dining Information
Buffet Breakfast from 6:30 AM to 10:00AM not complimentary

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (154)

Ratings and reviews for The Pickwick Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
154 out of 154
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Aug 9, 2011

Good location, nice hotel staff

The hotel is in the middle of the city. You can quickly reach the shopping centers and restaurants. The staff were very friendly and helpful.The room was clean, and a little bit tiny. I am glad that I stayed at this hotel and didn't have any negative experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Accountant/Gardener
Business
Paso Robles, CA
Jul 31, 2011

Just alright

The Pickwick is in a great location right next to large Nordstrom mall. The hotel itself is classic San Francisco - old. The room had no temp control and no extra blankets. My room was next to the alley which had a loud running truck in it every night. The first night I was there, other patrons tried to get into my room after being double booked in the same room number. The parking garage is tiny, but my car was fine there. No parking problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Below the Nordstrom next door is a food court. In the food court is a market place where you can buy milk, fruit, bathroom items, etc., as well as prepared food, salad bar, etc. Very convenient and clean.

Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Accountant/Gardener
Business
Paso Robles, CA
Jul 31, 2011

Just alright

The Pickwick is in a great location right next to large Nordstrom mall. The hotel itself is classic San Francisco - old. The room had no temp control and no extra blankets. My room was next to the alley which had a loud running truck in it every night. The first night I was there, other patrons tried to get into my room after being double booked in the same room number. The parking garage is tiny, but my car was fine there. No parking problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Below the Nordstrom next door is a food court. In the food court is a market place where you can buy milk, fruit, bathroom items, etc., as well as prepared food, salad bar, etc. Very convenient and clean.

Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scribble
Albany, OR
Jul 27, 2011

Great location, one minor problem

In San Francisco for 3 days for special museum shows and general attractions, we chose this hotel for its location and we were not disappointed. The proximity to the Market Street transit options made this visit much better for us, who had a MUNI pass for unlimited bus and streetcar travel. We're not shoppers, but those who are will enjoy the big downtown mall next door to the Pickwick. Our only complaint is that the rear of the building, which we selected for its quieter location away from 5th Street traffic, is exposed to HVAC equipment on the roof of the building behind, providing a more or less constant whine that didn't allow us to keep the windows open. Oh well, it's "summer in the city," so what else would one expect? Overall, with a friendly and helpful staff and so many things within walking distance, we'll choose this hotel again when we visit San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a wonderful place for breakfast, Cafe Venue, almost next door.

Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scribble
Albany, OR
Jul 27, 2011

Great location, one minor problem

In San Francisco for 3 days for special museum shows and general attractions, we chose this hotel for its location and we were not disappointed. The proximity to the Market Street transit options made this visit much better for us, who had a MUNI pass for unlimited bus and streetcar travel. We're not shoppers, but those who are will enjoy the big downtown mall next door to the Pickwick. Our only complaint is that the rear of the building, which we selected for its quieter location away from 5th Street traffic, is exposed to HVAC equipment on the roof of the building behind, providing a more or less constant whine that didn't allow us to keep the windows open. Oh well, it's "summer in the city," so what else would one expect? Overall, with a friendly and helpful staff and so many things within walking distance, we'll choose this hotel again when we visit San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a wonderful place for breakfast, Cafe Venue, almost next door.

Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
TX
May 10, 2011

Not much to look

The staff was friendly. The room was very small for two people and the only place to put your clothes was a small closet. No other storage in the room except for a fridge. The bathroom was tiny and we had no view but the interior room was away from the busy street. Also the matress needed to be changed as it had seen better days. The most redeeming quality was that we were close to all the best shopping, (Bloomingdales, Neimans, Nordstrom's and more), the bart, the Muni, Metreon, SFMOMA, and Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bloomingdales is right next to the hotel and Nordstrom's entrance is a block away.

Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
TX
May 10, 2011

Not much to look

The staff was friendly. The room was very small for two people and the only place to put your clothes was a small closet. No other storage in the room except for a fridge. The bathroom was tiny and we had no view but the interior room was away from the busy street. Also the matress needed to be changed as it had seen better days. The most redeeming quality was that we were close to all the best shopping, (Bloomingdales, Neimans, Nordstrom's and more), the bart, the Muni, Metreon, SFMOMA, and Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Bloomingdales is right next to the hotel and Nordstrom's entrance is a block away.

Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GradStudent
Business
Lexington, KY
May 2, 2011

Nice place to stay

Free WiFi which was mostly reliable! Room was a good size with new furniture and TV, but the air conditioning didn't work very well. The view was lacking in our room, but it was very close to everything we wanted to see (trolley, conference center, shopping). I would recommend this room especially because it was cool enough to open the windows. The staff was also very friendly and helpful with directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Check the green bins on the street with newspapers for a coupon booklet.

Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kdmdo
Iowa
Feb 6, 2011

Good hotel

Good Value. Great Location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kdmdo
Iowa
Feb 6, 2011

Good hotel

Good Value. Great Location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top