The Pickwick Hotel

3 stars
View map of 85 5th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Pickwick Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Len Whitney
Business
Hollywood, California
Mar 17, 2014

Pickwick is a Perfectly-Located Mid-Range Hotel in SF

The Pickwick Hotel is one block's pleasant walk from the Powell Street MUNI and the cable cars, and a few short steps from the Westfield Shopping Center at 5th and Market. You can't get a more convenient location in San Francisco to call your home base during a tourist visit. The rooms are clean and well-kept, though some are more recently and completely renovated than others. No matter what room, you will be comfortable and not have any problems getting a good night's sleep. The elevators can be a bit of a headache, as the two elevators service all the guest floors as well as the parking levels underground, and you may wait longer than you'd like for the trip down from your floor. The best part of the Pickwick though is the EXCELLENT staff. Expect everyone from the front desk staff to the cleaning staff to greet you with a smile and a friendly hello. The front desk staff remembered me from a visit four months ago, and always addressed me by name. I felt welcomed and valued, and will always keep their friendly professionalism in mind when I book a hotel in San Francisco for future trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LibbyCA
Business
California
Jan 23, 2014

Old is not always charming

We chose the Pickwick because of its proximity to a convention we were attending. We never had hot, or even warm, water in the sink. The sink stopper did not work; a minor inconvenience, unless you wear hard contact lens and don't want to wash one down the drain. On the first morning, the shower quickly went from lukewarm to ice cold, with an air vent blowing directly into the bathtub. The second day, we had a hot shower, though the water repeatedly stopped flowing. I realize we're in the city, but the parking rates were a bit much. After parking after check in, we had to wait an extremely long time in the basement for the one functioning, miniscule elevator, as the other was out of commission. Take the stars? My partner is recovering from major back surgery, so with luggage in tow, that was not feasible. It took us so long to park and get to our room we were late for check in and badge pick up at the convention by a measly 8 minutes, but we incurred the wrath of the convention staff. We thought arriving an hour and a half early was enough, but we were mistaken. The Pickwick is simply a very old hotel, lacking in charm and amenities. Handy for our convention location, but that's it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris in Seattle
Business
Sammamish, WA
Dec 7, 2013

Awesome value: nice hotel, great price & location

Rooms are smaller (mine was a free upgrade and still relatively small) but the price is relatively cheap for the area, the hotel is certainly nice enough and I can be a bit of a hotel snob, great location, friendly staff and has free WiFi. Pretty much perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wendyree
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Nov 25, 2013

Friendly Staff, Nice Location

I selected this hotel because it was the cheapest in the area I needed to stay in for work. Location was great: close to BART, Market Street, and shopping. Didn't have many amenities, but priced lower than other hotels in the area. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Betsy
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 9, 2013

Disappointed

The bathroom was tiny and one morning there was no hot water. In addition, my room looked out to hvac equipment with another room across looking into my windows about 8 feet away. And only sheer curtains which did not provide privacy. I would never recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Todd and friends
Business
San Francisco, California
Oct 1, 2013

Close to Everything

Hotel is well situated to attend events at Union Square or Folsom. Easy to get a cab too. Older, needs some upgrades but friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rafaelsbarai
Business
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Sep 8, 2013

Amazing

I´ve stayed at SF for 2 days and I find an excellent hotel, close to Powell Statation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kim F.
Business
Chico, CA
Aug 5, 2013

Great Location!

Loved this hotel. It is right next to Market St and all the downtown shopping. Also, only 1.3 mi away from AT&T Park (or only a $9 cab ride). It was updated and clean. Would absolutely stay at the Pickwick Hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

No need to get a cab ride for shopping. Right next door to Market St and a very short walk to Union Square.

Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dukeredhair
Business
Lancaster ,California
Jul 5, 2013

Well located but that comes with issues.

First off, the rates were low enough and even the parking was a bit cheaper than the surrounding hotels. It is right on the edge of sketchy-ville if you walk one block south on Mission or Market. It is very close to the trolley, the muni and Bart. All of these are big plusses in the location department. The staff was friendly enough but we had to ask them for a lot of obvious things like more toilet paper, new glasses etc. Now the not so good. The hotel is older and that means the paint is rubbed off, The rooms are really quite small. The walls are thin, we could hear all of the conversations of the drunk 20 somethings next door well into the night. The street outside is crazy loud so we could hear trucks, busses, homeless fights car horns and the like well into the night. Lets just say sleeping was difficult. It certainly isn't luxury but it has a bit of upside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

One of the best coffee places in the entire city Blue Bottle Coffee has their best location right across the street tucked behind the old mint building.

Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mj not from sf
Business
Rdg, ca
Jun 22, 2013

easy on/off highway; expensive parking

I thought this was an easy to access hotel from the highway, with a central location near civic center and Union square. Walkable distance to ball park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top