$229 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

The Pickwick Hotel

3 stars
85 5th Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
154 reviews
Amazing

I´ve stayed at SF for 2 days and I find an excellent hotel, close to Powell Statation. See full review

  • rafaelsbarai
  • Sep 8, 2013
Great Location!

Loved this hotel. It is right next to Market St and all the downtown shopping. Also, only 1.3 mi... See full review

  • Kim F.
  • Aug 5, 2013
The Pickwick Hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco and is steps away from the San Francisco Shopping Centre, Moscone Convention Center, the World Famous Cable Cars, Union Square, Museum of Modern Art, Sony Metreon and the Theatre District. Featured in the writings of renowned author Dashiell Hammett, in his classic mystery The Maltese Falcon. A landmark since its inception, The Pickwick Hotel is a fine example of Neo Gothic architecture. Standard sized vehicle - $ 40.00 inclusive of tax (current charge is $32.00) Unlimited ins and outs from 3:00pm until 12:00pm the day of checkout Oversized vehicles and SUV's - $52.00 inclusive of tax (current charge is $64.00) Unlimited ins and outs from 3:00pm until 12:00pm the day of checkout

All guests must present a valid credit card upon check in for which we will need to authorize at least $40.00 per day for incidentals.Once we have authorized the guests credit card, the guests are welcome to pay for any incidentals with cash during check out.

The Pickwick Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Standard King Or Two Double Beds.Complimentary High speed internet access. Each delicately appointed guestroom boasts French Provincial Dcor with warm gold, red and cream tones, and elegant draperies. In addition, rooms are furnished with distinctive well-lighted work desks, custom armoires, and over-stuffed chairs with ottomans. Each room has coffee and tea centers, two 100% cotton bathrobes, hair dryers, refrigerator, full size iron and ironing board, and complimentary newspaper Monday - Friday. In room adjustable heating and air conditioning, on demand movies and Nintendo, 2 dual line phones with personalized voicemail and data-ports, and double paned windows.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Pickwick Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.783 -122.4065
Area served
San Francisco, CA
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport Oakland International Airport
Area description
The Pickwick Hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco and is steps away from the San Francisco Shopping Centre, Moscone Convention Center, the World Famous Cable Cars, Union Square, Museum of Modern Art, Sony Metreon and the Theatre District.

Nearby points of interest

  • St Patrick's Church: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • SoMa: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.2 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • SoMa: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.9 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.9 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.9 mi
  • Chinatown: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.2 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.2 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Japantown: 1.3 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.3 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.3 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.3 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.6 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.6 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.7 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.8 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.8 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.8 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.8 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.9 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Meeting Room available

Dining

Restaurant / Dining Information
Buffet Breakfast from 6:30 AM to 10:00AM not complimentary

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (154)

Ratings and reviews for The Pickwick Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
154 out of 154
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lsntao
Business
Austin, Texas
Apr 29, 2014

Good Stay

Good location, prompt room service and nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
garf
Business
New York, NY, USA
Apr 27, 2014

good value

small room. good value for location. bathroom faucet didn't work well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bi Coastal
Business
Victoria, BC
Apr 13, 2014

Smallish rooms, but very nice staff + great location

I booked a room at the Pickwick since I was attending a conference at the Moscone Centre. The location really couldn't have been better, six minutes walk. Its an old hotel and it shows in places, but its well-kept. The room was too small for the bed (everything was a little cramped really) and I was no fan of the desk chair, but the Wi-Fi was fine, the bed was comfy and the staff were very gracious and helpful. As a business traveller, that's what I cared about. If you can deal with the smallish rooms, everything else is fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several cheap-to-medium places to eat very close by, from Denny's to Mel's Diner to some decent pubs. No need to call a cab most of the time.

Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Len Whitney
Hollywood, California
Mar 17, 2014

Pickwick is a Perfectly-Located Mid-Range Hotel in SF

The Pickwick Hotel is one block's pleasant walk from the Powell Street MUNI and the cable cars, and a few short steps from the Westfield Shopping Center at 5th and Market. You can't get a more convenient location in San Francisco to call your home base during a tourist visit. The rooms are clean and well-kept, though some are more recently and completely renovated than others. No matter what room, you will be comfortable and not have any problems getting a good night's sleep. The elevators can be a bit of a headache, as the two elevators service all the guest floors as well as the parking levels underground, and you may wait longer than you'd like for the trip down from your floor. The best part of the Pickwick though is the EXCELLENT staff. Expect everyone from the front desk staff to the cleaning staff to greet you with a smile and a friendly hello. The front desk staff remembered me from a visit four months ago, and always addressed me by name. I felt welcomed and valued, and will always keep their friendly professionalism in mind when I book a hotel in San Francisco for future trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LibbyCA
California
Jan 23, 2014

Old is not always charming

We chose the Pickwick because of its proximity to a convention we were attending. We never had hot, or even warm, water in the sink. The sink stopper did not work; a minor inconvenience, unless you wear hard contact lens and don't want to wash one down the drain. On the first morning, the shower quickly went from lukewarm to ice cold, with an air vent blowing directly into the bathtub. The second day, we had a hot shower, though the water repeatedly stopped flowing. I realize we're in the city, but the parking rates were a bit much. After parking after check in, we had to wait an extremely long time in the basement for the one functioning, miniscule elevator, as the other was out of commission. Take the stars? My partner is recovering from major back surgery, so with luggage in tow, that was not feasible. It took us so long to park and get to our room we were late for check in and badge pick up at the convention by a measly 8 minutes, but we incurred the wrath of the convention staff. We thought arriving an hour and a half early was enough, but we were mistaken. The Pickwick is simply a very old hotel, lacking in charm and amenities. Handy for our convention location, but that's it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris in Seattle
Business
Sammamish, WA
Dec 7, 2013

Awesome value: nice hotel, great price & location

Rooms are smaller (mine was a free upgrade and still relatively small) but the price is relatively cheap for the area, the hotel is certainly nice enough and I can be a bit of a hotel snob, great location, friendly staff and has free WiFi. Pretty much perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wendyree
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Nov 25, 2013

Friendly Staff, Nice Location

I selected this hotel because it was the cheapest in the area I needed to stay in for work. Location was great: close to BART, Market Street, and shopping. Didn't have many amenities, but priced lower than other hotels in the area. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Betsy
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 9, 2013

Disappointed

The bathroom was tiny and one morning there was no hot water. In addition, my room looked out to hvac equipment with another room across looking into my windows about 8 feet away. And only sheer curtains which did not provide privacy. I would never recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Todd and friends
San Francisco, California
Oct 1, 2013

Close to Everything

Hotel is well situated to attend events at Union Square or Folsom. Easy to get a cab too. Older, needs some upgrades but friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Pickwick Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rafaelsbarai
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Sep 8, 2013

Amazing

I´ve stayed at SF for 2 days and I find an excellent hotel, close to Powell Statation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top