$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
886 reviews
Good price for location

Friendly and helpful staff. Large comfortable room. See full review

  • MarianaMC
  • Apr 27, 2014
The Opal Stay

We found The Opal very helpful and welcoming to all our request. Staff was very efficient and... See full review

  • Jan Combs
  • Apr 12, 2014
Historic hotel and spacious suites -- walking distance to Union Square

Dating back to 1908, this five-story Union Square hotel still boasts the stained glass windows, period antiques and other decorative touches that hearken back to a simpler time. Rooms are clean and efficient; spacious work desks are popular among business travelers. Other amenities include a complimentary on-site fitness center and 24-hour coffee and tea service, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet.

Highlights
  • Walking distance to shopping in Union Square
  • Historic architecture, decorative touches
  • 24-hour coffee and tea service
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
Rooms

Each of The Opal's 164 guest rooms features central air and heat, cable television and complimentary high-speed Internet. (There's also free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby.) Suites include small sitting areas with plush sofas. A handful of rooms have windows that look out onto the bustling Union

Features
The hotel has received a three-diamond rating from AAA and was selected as the Crescent Hotel and Resorts "Hotel of the Year" in 2008. A baby grand piano welcomes visitors to the lobby of The Opal -- a public area decorated to invoke the way it looked when the hotel debuted in 1908.

Elsewhere on the property is a 24-hour laundry facility (fees apply) and car rental desk (fees apply; rentals also can be facilitated by the concierge). Overnight parking is also available (fees apply).

All guests have complimentary access to a state-of-the-art on-site fitness center. Guests also are entitled to a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning.

After a long day exploring the city, grab a milkshake and a tuna melt at the on-site outpost of Mel's Drive-In, a 1950s-style diner that has become a San Francisco institution. The restaurant is open 24 hours on weekends.
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (18 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Policies and fees

Debit cards are not acceptable at check-in. Overnight Parking is available (FEES APPLY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Opal San Francisco Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Jr Suite-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet
Executive Suite
King bed w-Living room Free Cont Brkfst-Wireless Internet Access
KING JUNIOR SUITE
ONE KING BED - SITTING AREA FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST BUFFET FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS
Deluxe King
Deluxe King - Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Room Free Continential Breakfast Buffet
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Opal San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7855 -122.4209
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 25.00, MI, W; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 22.10, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi

Dining

Mels Drive In Diner
Classic American Food - 1950 Diner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (886)

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 886
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Missing Boots
San Francisco, CA, USA
Feb 28, 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE!

Now I know why the price was so cheap....they steal your belongings! When I came back to my room the second night, my boots were missing. I filed a complaint and they pretended to be concerned. They told me their cleaning staff had been with the hotel for a long time and would not steal. Did a magic fairy take my boots? They made me feel as though I was lying. All I know is that I will never stay there and I will make sure to tell my friends and family about this inccident.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SUSYHOTELEXPERT
LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA
Sep 8, 2009

the bad and the really ugly

the staff was unfriendly and cold. we got an incident with thir garage door who was broked and they didn't knew it until it damage our car mercedes benz e350, scratching all the front bump and taking out the license! no one response for damage, manager was on vacation in a full hotel long weekend???room has not air extractor in bathroom and no security holder in bathtub. breakfast really poor. the only good think: the location, very convenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jacob P.
Omaha, NE
Jul 16, 2010

Terrible, stay at your own risk

Pros: Nice lobby, quick elevator, good shower pressure and warm water Cons: It is very telling that there are more photos of san fran sites than of the hotel. The room we got (two double) was incredibly small, with the beds almost touching each other and spanning from wall to wall. There was one thin window (more like a slit) which was mostly blocked by the shade of the building itself. Everything in the hotel looked like it was from the 1950s, and hadn't been updated in as long. The floors creaked. The complimentary toiletries were a small pouch of shampoo and conditioner so that once you open it, it can't really be used again. Housekeeping almost broke our door down to clean the room the morning ON THE DAY WE WERE CHECKING OUT, whereas every other hotel in the world crosschecks so as to not needlessly clean a room that will be vacated in a couple hours. The staff downstairs was terrible, unhelpful and often rude with snarky comments about how we're lucky to even have a room at all, even though we had had a reservation. The hotel isn't really close to anything and is a good 15-20 minute walk to the nearest train station (civic center). The diner right by is ridiculously overpriced and fantastically slow. There are two waitresses for the whole place, and they have cashier duties too. It takes forever to order, receive, and pay for even a simple meal. The area is not nice, lots of homeless people and beggars, especially at night. STAY FAR FAR AWAY!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk to civic center train, take it up to powell street stop, where you find the classic cable cars which will take you to fisherman's wharf.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jacob P.
Omaha, NE
Jul 16, 2010

Terrible, stay at your own risk

Pros: Nice lobby, quick elevator, good shower pressure and warm water Cons: It is very telling that there are more photos of san fran sites than of the hotel. The room we got (two double) was incredibly small, with the beds almost touching each other and spanning from wall to wall. There was one thin window (more like a slit) which was mostly blocked by the shade of the building itself. Everything in the hotel looked like it was from the 1950s, and hadn't been updated in as long. The floors creaked. The complimentary toiletries were a small pouch of shampoo and conditioner so that once you open it, it can't really be used again. Housekeeping almost broke our door down to clean the room the morning ON THE DAY WE WERE CHECKING OUT, whereas every other hotel in the world crosschecks so as to not needlessly clean a room that will be vacated in a couple hours. The staff downstairs was terrible, unhelpful and often rude with snarky comments about how we're lucky to even have a room at all, even though we had had a reservation. The hotel isn't really close to anything and is a good 15-20 minute walk to the nearest train station (civic center). The diner right by is ridiculously overpriced and fantastically slow. There are two waitresses for the whole place, and they have cashier duties too. It takes forever to order, receive, and pay for even a simple meal. The area is not nice, lots of homeless people and beggars, especially at night. STAY FAR FAR AWAY!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk to civic center train, take it up to powell street stop, where you find the classic cable cars which will take you to fisherman's wharf.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travel Inspector
San Francisco
Jan 4, 2010

No Hot Water!!!!!

Don't expect the water to be hot for a shower. I'm a building engineer and when the onsite maintenance guy told me that it was from a lot of showers being taken all at once, I snickered at him, since I had already called the front desk 5 minutes prior and they told me that no one else has complained about only having warm water. If this was the case, you will NOT get a hot shower here due to an undersized boiler!!! I have to say that they did offer me another room to shower in, but I denied due to what their maintenance guy told me. I am not recommending this hotel only due the no hot water issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little diner right next door.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Texannyc
New York, ny
Oct 8, 2013

Decent place for a little too much **

I believe that the hotel was overpriced for what it offered but the fact that there were two large medical conferences in town that weekend I'll give it a break. Compared to other places that weekend it probably was a good deal. The continental breakfast was a little light on pastry choices, bread or bagel or muffin but was adequate. Good location and easily accessible to public transit, and not too far (10-15 min walk) to Market Street. Overall I'd say it's a decent place in a good location, and if rates aren't jacked due to an extra busy convention weekend, probably a decent deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
DC
Oct 27, 2009

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

The hotel location is excellent. It is walking distance to all the attractions. The staff was very helpful and the continental breakfast was very convenient. We were pleased until we found bed bugs. Even though this hotel is clean, they still have the infestation which is hard to get rid of. The hotel staff did their best to get us a new room (upgraded to a suite) but it was still disturbing. The area outside the hotel at night is very sketchy...we saw prostitutes only two streets down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

You will walk a lot in San Francisco no matter what. This hotel was in a GREAT location, close city hall, the Painted ladies, North Beach, Lombard Street, we even walked to the Full House, house.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Singapore
Jun 7, 2009

good service bad room

Everything about the stay that i disliked is described by what i liked and disliked about the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Singapore
Jun 7, 2009

good service bad room

Everything about the stay that i disliked is described by what i liked and disliked about the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
DC
Oct 27, 2009

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

The hotel location is excellent. It is walking distance to all the attractions. The staff was very helpful and the continental breakfast was very convenient. We were pleased until we found bed bugs. Even though this hotel is clean, they still have the infestation which is hard to get rid of. The hotel staff did their best to get us a new room (upgraded to a suite) but it was still disturbing. The area outside the hotel at night is very sketchy...we saw prostitutes only two streets down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

You will walk a lot in San Francisco no matter what. This hotel was in a GREAT location, close city hall, the Painted ladies, North Beach, Lombard Street, we even walked to the Full House, house.

Back to menu Return to top