$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
630 reviews
Good price for location

Friendly and helpful staff. Large comfortable room. See full review

  • MarianaMC
  • Apr 27, 2014
The Opal Stay

We found The Opal very helpful and welcoming to all our request. Staff was very efficient and... See full review

  • Jan Combs
  • Apr 12, 2014
Historic hotel and spacious suites -- walking distance to Union Square

Dating back to 1908, this five-story Union Square hotel still boasts the stained glass windows, period antiques and other decorative touches that hearken back to a simpler time. Rooms are clean and efficient; spacious work desks are popular among business travelers. Other amenities include a complimentary on-site fitness center and 24-hour coffee and tea service, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet.

Highlights
  • Walking distance to shopping in Union Square
  • Historic architecture, decorative touches
  • 24-hour coffee and tea service
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
Rooms

Each of The Opal's 164 guest rooms features central air and heat, cable television and complimentary high-speed Internet. (There's also free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby.) Suites include small sitting areas with plush sofas. A handful of rooms have windows that look out onto the bustling Union

Features
The hotel has received a three-diamond rating from AAA and was selected as the Crescent Hotel and Resorts "Hotel of the Year" in 2008. A baby grand piano welcomes visitors to the lobby of The Opal -- a public area decorated to invoke the way it looked when the hotel debuted in 1908.

Elsewhere on the property is a 24-hour laundry facility (fees apply) and car rental desk (fees apply; rentals also can be facilitated by the concierge). Overnight parking is also available (fees apply).

All guests have complimentary access to a state-of-the-art on-site fitness center. Guests also are entitled to a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning.

After a long day exploring the city, grab a milkshake and a tuna melt at the on-site outpost of Mel's Drive-In, a 1950s-style diner that has become a San Francisco institution. The restaurant is open 24 hours on weekends.
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (18 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Policies and fees

Debit cards are not acceptable at check-in. Overnight Parking is available (FEES APPLY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7855 -122.4209
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 25.00, MI, W; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 22.10, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Opal San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Opal San Francisco Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Jr Suite-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet
Executive Suite
King bed w-Living room Free Cont Brkfst-Wireless Internet Access
KING JUNIOR SUITE
ONE KING BED - SITTING AREA FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST BUFFET FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS
Deluxe King
Deluxe King - Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Room Free Continential Breakfast Buffet
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi

Dining

Mels Drive In Diner
Classic American Food - 1950 Diner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (630)

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 630
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ProudPop
San Francisco
Jul 18, 2014

not happy

son was really sick and waited for an hour for a plunger. silly as it seems you wait 15 minutes then another...go downstairs to find they have no idea what your talking about. i asked for a place that included parking but $41,00 later ....for the variance in price I probably could have upgraded to a better hotel for a little more money....it was ok but could have been cleaner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

check out day passes, or coupons...very expensive town

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Aleenza
portland, or
Aug 25, 2013

Worst Hotel Ever

I cried when we pulled up to this hotel - it was old and tired. Carpet and lobby filthy. The only saving grace was the teeny tiny room was clean. Thank goodness we didn't spend much time there. Not a good value at all and beyond disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Family in vacation
Los Angeles, California
Apr 15, 2013

Not great

It was one of the cheapest hotels we could find, but it was worse than we expected for the price. It is close to many nice destinations, but the area right next to the hotel is bad and considered dangerous by night. The entire hotel is non-smoking but the room we got smelled cigarette. We asked to change and they only had one other room available. The breakfast space is small so finding a place to sit is not easy and the food options are limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Freezing family
LA, CA
Dec 30, 2012

Not as expected

The Opal San Francisco is a very old hotel with very small rooms. There is a weird smell throughout the hotel. It is located in a neighborhood full of homeless people, which make it scary to walk on at dawn. What I didn't like about it is the extra fee of $35 per night for parking your car in their garage. I wasn't aware of that and I think most of the people don't know about it either. Breakfast is not bad, but it could be better if it included at least cereal and milk. I definitely would not stay again in this hotel. I think there are better options, just take your time to shop around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss out the Muir Park, the redwoods are amazing and being there is a great experience.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
not the opal
San Francisco
Aug 4, 2012

It was really bad

The location was not convenient the parking was terrible for $34 and the sinks leaked. The rooms were old and there was broken doors in the hallway. The noise was all night long. It was not worth the rating I saw on the web site before I booked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ashwin
Plainsboro, NJ, USA
Sep 1, 2011

The Opal Experienec

It was one of the worst Hotel, I had ever visted. Toilet Flush, Light switch, AC didn't worked at all. Don't stay here at all. Better choose other motels. No direct parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
coral springs, florida
Jul 10, 2011

great staff, but terrible area

The hotel staff was very helpful, but the room was shabby and the neighborhood felt unsafe. We were approached twice by drunk men, and at breakfast one morning there were two obviously homeless people eating, in spite of the fact that the door is kept locked and a hotel key is needed to enter. This was our second stay in two weeks {we were in Reno in between} and our room the first time had badly stained carpet and no counter in the bathroom. Between the shabbiness and the neighborhood, I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Honolulu, Hawaii
Jun 18, 2011

The bad and the ugly

We went to San Francisco to attend my cousin's graduation.We stayed in the The Opal hotel its so frustating when we got to the room because the room is so small the carpet is so dirty. The toilet is not even functioning, so I called the front desk if we can move us to a bigger room, so they did moved us to a different room which is a bigger room I guess, on our second day I can't really stand the carpet is so dirty I called [...]if we can checkout earlier because we are not happy with the hotel, they called the hotel if it's possible for us to checkout earlier. Unfortunately, we cannot because of the hotel policy, they cannot refund us our money. So they advised me to go the front desk and talk to the manager instead if we can checkout earlier. I called the front desk many times to ask for the manager, the manager's office always on a voice mail so I left messages for him to call me back regarding our situation in the hotel. The manager did not call me at all. I'm so frustated. So I will not recommend this hotel to any of my relatives and friends. This hotel is so disgusting. We always travel but this is the worse dirtiest hotel ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CarTraveler
Houston TX
May 4, 2011

never again

This was a one star hotel and I wonder how is it categorized as a three star one! It took more than half an hour to check in, as their internet connection was faulty and the receptionist couldn't look up my reservation info, nor could run my credit card. Almost everywhere, including inside rooms, the carpet was stained. The bathroom sink was very old and partly broken. They did not change bedsheets in four nights of our stay. We asked them twice to do so, and again in the evening we would return to our room and find that the bed is made without changing the bedsheets. We had to ask everyday to get some shampoo! And don't get me started on "continental breakfast"! Beside the fact that they offered nothing more than cheap bagel and bread, they stopped serving breakfast at 9:30. The only nice thing was the historic building! But overall, I think no one should go there expecting anything more than a cheap one star hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, North Carolina
Apr 28, 2011

Not the best experience

We enjoyed the sightseeing and the food during our recent trip to San Francisco. The hotel was by far the worst part of the trip. The workout room was in terrible shape(it was small and cramp, TV needed to be replaced and the weight eqiupment) needed to be updated bad! The rooms were very small, the bathroom fan was exteremly noisy, and the A/C for the most part fell short. I would not recommend to family to stay out there. Sad part was.. hotel was surrouned by homeless people...not a good neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search