$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
885 reviews
Good price for location

Friendly and helpful staff. Large comfortable room. See full review

  • MarianaMC
  • Apr 27, 2014
The Opal Stay

We found The Opal very helpful and welcoming to all our request. Staff was very efficient and... See full review

  • Jan Combs
  • Apr 12, 2014
Historic hotel and spacious suites -- walking distance to Union Square

Dating back to 1908, this five-story Union Square hotel still boasts the stained glass windows, period antiques and other decorative touches that hearken back to a simpler time. Rooms are clean and efficient; spacious work desks are popular among business travelers. Other amenities include a complimentary on-site fitness center and 24-hour coffee and tea service, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet.

Highlights
  • Walking distance to shopping in Union Square
  • Historic architecture, decorative touches
  • 24-hour coffee and tea service
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
Rooms

Each of The Opal's 164 guest rooms features central air and heat, cable television and complimentary high-speed Internet. (There's also free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby.) Suites include small sitting areas with plush sofas. A handful of rooms have windows that look out onto the bustling Union

Features
The hotel has received a three-diamond rating from AAA and was selected as the Crescent Hotel and Resorts "Hotel of the Year" in 2008. A baby grand piano welcomes visitors to the lobby of The Opal -- a public area decorated to invoke the way it looked when the hotel debuted in 1908.

Elsewhere on the property is a 24-hour laundry facility (fees apply) and car rental desk (fees apply; rentals also can be facilitated by the concierge). Overnight parking is also available (fees apply).

All guests have complimentary access to a state-of-the-art on-site fitness center. Guests also are entitled to a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning.

After a long day exploring the city, grab a milkshake and a tuna melt at the on-site outpost of Mel's Drive-In, a 1950s-style diner that has become a San Francisco institution. The restaurant is open 24 hours on weekends.
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (18 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Policies and fees

Debit cards are not acceptable at check-in. Overnight Parking is available (FEES APPLY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7855 -122.4209
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 25.00, MI, W; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 22.10, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Opal San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Opal San Francisco Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Jr Suite-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet
Executive Suite
King bed w-Living room Free Cont Brkfst-Wireless Internet Access
KING JUNIOR SUITE
ONE KING BED - SITTING AREA FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST BUFFET FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS
Deluxe King
Deluxe King - Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Room Free Continential Breakfast Buffet
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi

Dining

Mels Drive In Diner
Classic American Food - 1950 Diner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (885)

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
885 out of 885
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Verdun
Sep 14, 2008

you get what you pay for

The Oval in San Francisco was inexpensive for a room in San Francisco but I understood why as soon as I opened my room. I'm not generally picky, but this room smelled bad, even if I left the door and windows open. The toilet didn't flush properly, lights were burnt out, and there was no hot water the entire 4 days I was there. Location wise, its a bit of a walk from anything interesting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

movie theatre within 500 ft. 20 min walk to union square or nob hill, 25 min to china town

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dottorf83
Torino, Italy
Nov 26, 2009

Very bad district, parking charge

The hotel was nice, we booked it at a very good price,less than 60$/night but...when we arrived there they told us that the parking was not free but was 30$/day more! so our good deal went to the hell, we had to pay 90$ a day for a very very bad located hotel, in the most dangerous district of San Francisco. The room was clean, the personal was quite freindly and the breakfast good. Just we were searching for a cheap hotel and this was not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
DC
Oct 27, 2009

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

The hotel location is excellent. It is walking distance to all the attractions. The staff was very helpful and the continental breakfast was very convenient. We were pleased until we found bed bugs. Even though this hotel is clean, they still have the infestation which is hard to get rid of. The hotel staff did their best to get us a new room (upgraded to a suite) but it was still disturbing. The area outside the hotel at night is very sketchy...we saw prostitutes only two streets down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

You will walk a lot in San Francisco no matter what. This hotel was in a GREAT location, close city hall, the Painted ladies, North Beach, Lombard Street, we even walked to the Full House, house.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
L.A.
Jul 15, 2009

nothing's worse than a rude "supervisor"

It was a very bad start to my weekend get away. Upon trying to leave my bags (as I arrived early), I was given an extremely rude and condescending "Check in is at 3. WE DON'T HAVE A ROOM" before I could even say a word. I thought I was the paying guest.Needless to say, this extremely rude guest relations person named [...] neglected to take down my name so by the time I came back to check in, the only rooms left were smoking. Even though I had confirmation for a NON-SMOKING room. They "upgraded" me to a bigger room, (smoking) but the entire place was in dire need of renovation and clean up. This place is worn down. Stains on carpet and cracked sink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Leszek1958
Business
New York City
Oct 4, 2012

September 2012

I was pretty disappointed. This hotel has to do some renovation to stick to international quality level. The breakfast was a joke!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Singapore
Jun 7, 2009

good service bad room

Everything about the stay that i disliked is described by what i liked and disliked about the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Singapore
Jun 7, 2009

good service bad room

Everything about the stay that i disliked is described by what i liked and disliked about the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Aug 15, 2010

The Good and the Bad

This hotel was not very nice at all and not in a great neighborhood. The rooms were small but the were clean. Overall had a very old run down feel. Would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Stoclton , CA
May 23, 2011

Nice place, good service, but........

The opal is a fine hotel. The immediate area gives you a lot of what you need to have fun without even traveling more than 5 blocks. There is night clubs, dance clubs, crepe lounge, good food and some shopping behind it on Polk. Feel secure, and parking is good. Having said that, our stay was terrible. Not to the fault of The opal, but 20+ 18 year old check in and cause nothing short of chaos for the entire night. I called down 3 times, and was informed the cops were coming. It took 4 hours to get control of this, including me threatening to handle it myself. They comped our room for that night and the general manager was very accommodating to make this right. None the less, we were a wreck the entire next day because we didn't get any sleep. I would stay there again but not in the back courtyard area around the parking, that is a joke out there. I gave the staff 2 stars because they were not in any way prepared or capable of handling the chaos that night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

On Polk St. behind the hotel

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SeaPete
Seattle
Sep 30, 2012

Funky

We stayed one night. Room was nice and clean. Bath was small and shower curtain rod fell down under the weight of two dry towels. Parking a rental was convenient-self park and cheaper than many other downtown SF hotels. No help offered with luggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top