$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 13, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
663 out of 663
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Jan 13, 2011

Pleasantly Surprised

I had read the other reviews, so it was not without some hesitation that I booked a room at the Opal. We stayed for 5 nights and I will say that it was a very pleasant experience. The bathroom and bed were clean and the room was a good size and came with free LAN internet (wifi is available in the lobby). Our shower had the regular, non-water saving shower-heads, which I prefer. Contrary to earlier reviews there was an iron in the room, and I found the staff to be friendly and helpful, although I only really spoke with them at check-in for sightseeing tips. In general the hotel reminded me of staying at a friend's house, comfortable and clean but not immaculate. So if you need all the wallpaper seams perfect, don't stay here. If you want a centrally located hotel (roughly equidistant to the Mission, Fisherman's wharf and Golden gate park) at a good price, this is it. It's about a 15 min walk from the nearest BART station. I will conclude by saying I have stayed at several highly rated hotels in San Francisco (the W twice and the Renaissance) and in terms of the comfort/cost ratio, I will stay at the Opal in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Japantown has some good restaurants and is close by. But don't eat at Seoul Garden, the worst Korean food I've ever had

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles, ca
Jan 18, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

not as small as i expected. VERY good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

tommy's joynt

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super Sara
Business
Omaha,NE
Oct 13, 2009

Exelent, very clean and quite.

Very pretty and clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
palo alto
Jan 22, 2011

As expected

I did not spend much time at the hotel. Stayed there to avoid having to drive after a night of clubbing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver Co
Oct 20, 2009

San Francisco Baby!!!!

We went to San Francisco for a music festival, so the location of our hotel was essential. The Opal provided us a place with a great ambiance, extremely helpful staff in a central location. I would like to explore other hotels when I visit San Francisco again, however I would recommend this hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Didn't we meet at Mel's??

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenna tell ya
Business
San Francisco, California
Jun 16, 2011

Great location

This location was great for walking to SoMa, little Italy, chinatown. The hotel had technical difficulties, we called to alert them amd when it couldnt be quickly remedied we were generously compensated. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 8, 2008

Average Business trip

Internet wasn't very fast, and sometimes didn't work at all. Neighborhood was not very good/safe it seemed. Not ideal for a buisnessman by himself. Dinner options were very limited near hotel. Good for the price but I wouldn't stay there again. It was very loud on Friday night also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 28, 2007

Very good option

If the room would be larger would be better. The opal is a very good option in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The opal is well located for reataurants, shops and entreteiment

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KeepItReal99
Business
Canada
Jun 24, 2014

Pretty good

The hotel is in a convenient location but definitely in a sketchier neighbourhood. The staff was professional and beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Concert Gurl
Business
San Jose
Jun 22, 2014

Good for the price

My "go to" hotel for a reasonable price and relatively quiet stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top