$134 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 4, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
720 out of 720
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
travelled round the world
Business
los angeles
Jul 31, 2011

Seedy location, not kept up, a bit scary

the hotel reminded me of what u get on foreign vacation packages. old and interesting but not kept up. people having sex and urinating outside the window on the street. i wouldnt bring my kids here and 200$ a night was overpriced. the sheets were rough and the carpet worn thru. conotinental breakfast not worth the wait.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

mels next door. good burgers n shakes

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ResidentMocker
Business
San Francisco
Jan 15, 2014

Friendly staff, but clumsy hotel

My room was cold - like 53ºF cold. Beds were so cold, it felt wet. Heater didn't work. Radiators didn't help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
German Superman
Business
Germany
Mar 9, 2014

Last renovation was quite a while ago ...

Well, carpet & furniture was put in those rooms quite a while ago - a/c was noisy and the breakfast not really a gourmet style ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Francine And Co
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Mar 28, 2014

Well located but very ordinary

The Opal is conveniently situated closed to north Market street. I was traveling with my 17 years old daughter and had asked for two beds. However I only had one king bed. There was an old odor in the room that was not very attractive. But the area is so noisy that it is impossible to keep a window open. The amenities were okay, the breakfast was also very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
yays
Business
Oregon
Apr 11, 2014

If only the water didn't leak from the ceiling and the drier worked.

If only the water didn't leak from the ceiling, that one day, and the drier worked, it may actually be a very good hotel, especially for the price and the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 28, 2008

ok

it was fine... the price was great. it's old though. there were very small elevators. it reminded me of a cheap bed and breakfast in europe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Mel's diner.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
L.A.
Jul 15, 2009

nothing's worse than a rude "supervisor"

It was a very bad start to my weekend get away. Upon trying to leave my bags (as I arrived early), I was given an extremely rude and condescending "Check in is at 3. WE DON'T HAVE A ROOM" before I could even say a word. I thought I was the paying guest.Needless to say, this extremely rude guest relations person named [...] neglected to take down my name so by the time I came back to check in, the only rooms left were smoking. Even though I had confirmation for a NON-SMOKING room. They "upgraded" me to a bigger room, (smoking) but the entire place was in dire need of renovation and clean up. This place is worn down. Stains on carpet and cracked sink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
power shopper
Business
Seattle, Wa
Oct 17, 2011

Girls shopping trip to Union Square

Union Square is NOT within walking distance. It is within HIKING distance. And the hotel borders the Tenderloin, so not a safe area to be walking about at night. The staff were wonderful, but somehow, when I've booked a room through Orbitz I ALWAYS get the one with the view of the room and air/heat conditioning units or a tiny window overlooking the fire escape. So far 2 for 2. Makes me wonder if paying a little more wouldn't be worth getting a larger room with a better view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DINK's
Business
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Dec 19, 2011

VERY WELL LOCATED

The hotEl is quite old, with little confort: no frigidaire in rooms, showers do not work properly, the garage service not only is not free but quite expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Happy hour
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 16, 2012

Night out in the city

We were looking for a nice, conveniently located place for a night out in San Francisco. Although the Wednesday Wine Social was a definite plus from 5-6pm, the room definitely needs to be updated and did not have a sense that it was very clean. I would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top