$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
883 reviews
Good price for location

Friendly and helpful staff. Large comfortable room. See full review

  • MarianaMC
  • Apr 27, 2014
The Opal Stay

We found The Opal very helpful and welcoming to all our request. Staff was very efficient and... See full review

  • Jan Combs
  • Apr 12, 2014
Historic hotel and spacious suites -- walking distance to Union Square

Dating back to 1908, this five-story Union Square hotel still boasts the stained glass windows, period antiques and other decorative touches that hearken back to a simpler time. Rooms are clean and efficient; spacious work desks are popular among business travelers. Other amenities include a complimentary on-site fitness center and 24-hour coffee and tea service, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet.

Highlights
  • Walking distance to shopping in Union Square
  • Historic architecture, decorative touches
  • 24-hour coffee and tea service
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
Rooms

Each of The Opal's 164 guest rooms features central air and heat, cable television and complimentary high-speed Internet. (There's also free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby.) Suites include small sitting areas with plush sofas. A handful of rooms have windows that look out onto the bustling Union

Features
The hotel has received a three-diamond rating from AAA and was selected as the Crescent Hotel and Resorts "Hotel of the Year" in 2008. A baby grand piano welcomes visitors to the lobby of The Opal -- a public area decorated to invoke the way it looked when the hotel debuted in 1908.

Elsewhere on the property is a 24-hour laundry facility (fees apply) and car rental desk (fees apply; rentals also can be facilitated by the concierge). Overnight parking is also available (fees apply).

All guests have complimentary access to a state-of-the-art on-site fitness center. Guests also are entitled to a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning.

After a long day exploring the city, grab a milkshake and a tuna melt at the on-site outpost of Mel's Drive-In, a 1950s-style diner that has become a San Francisco institution. The restaurant is open 24 hours on weekends.
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (18 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Policies and fees

Debit cards are not acceptable at check-in. Overnight Parking is available (FEES APPLY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Opal San Francisco Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Jr Suite-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet
Executive Suite
King bed w-Living room Free Cont Brkfst-Wireless Internet Access
KING JUNIOR SUITE
ONE KING BED - SITTING AREA FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST BUFFET FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS
Deluxe King
Deluxe King - Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Room Free Continential Breakfast Buffet
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Opal San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7855 -122.4209
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 25.00, MI, W; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 22.10, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi

Dining

Mels Drive In Diner
Classic American Food - 1950 Diner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (883)

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
883 out of 883
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
H20Color
Sacramento
Jul 7, 2012

Opal Hotel

Nice and secure facility. Great room, decent bed, clean. Parking onsite and secured, easy to come and go yourself with automatic parking gate opener-a big plus. In an OK area. Closer to the Orpheum and Civic center than Union Square hotels. Good restaurants nearby. Street people abound as in the Union Square area. Generally safe as many places have security personal out front.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Changhui
Business
Portland, OR
Feb 7, 2008

Good and friendly

Save money, and save time. convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

entertainment

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 30, 2008

A little out of the way, but good

The Opal is convenient only to the theatre district. If that's not what you're after, you'll have a good walk or bus ride wherever you're going. There's a lot of San Fran charm to the place, though, and the upside of its location is that it's a great deal. With these rates, however, you can find yourself having to deal with some noisy folks occasionally.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mgsekar
Business
nashville
Jun 20, 2012

Nice stay

enjoyed the stay. Hotel is in a convenient location to attend the conference. Will recommend to the other people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, VA
Nov 27, 2010

October Opal Stay

We found the Opal had lots of character (with a couple of antique pianos on the ground floor). Didn't appreciate that there was an extra $30 charge for parking (but all the San Fran hotels seem to do that). It's on the bus line, so getting around town that way is fine. We enjoyed the room (although some might find it small). Service was fine and the breakfast ordinary. If seeing the homeless makes you uncomfortable, you might not want to hang out right outside the hotel. Overall, we found the Opal to be a good price for sight-seeing the beautiful city of San Francisco!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We highly recommend renting bicycles for getting around the city. There are a number of places to rent bikes for the day (or longer). We biked over the Golden Gate Bridge and through Golden Gate Park and loved it. Be prepared for hills...it is a very hilly city!!! Also, the food next door at the diner was very good and at a reasonable price!

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis, IN
Oct 25, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

This hotel had a great centralized location. It was easy to get around to all the sites taking the MUNI. The hotel was clean and had a nice cozy at home feel. The hotel staff was friendly. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Easy to get around quickly using the MUNI. There are several bus stops right outside the hotel and a cable car is a short walk away.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Almost Retirees
Dallas
Aug 9, 2009

Great Launch Site to SF Explorations

This older hotel with small rooms is NOT plush, but offered all we needed for an excellent price. Our plan was not to relax at the hotel. We learned to take advantage of the close bus stops to see everything on our list in San Francisco. We also walked a great deal during the day (even the very steep hills and we're 63) but made sure we were home or getting off at a close bus stop at night. The distance to sites we wanted to see was a bit more than some would like but we enjoyed our new modes of public transportation. We were glad not to have a car to park at $25 per day. The Hop On and Off 48 hour double decker tour bus pass we bought ($42) allowed us to visit many of the popular sight-seeing locations. We had to walk about 5 blocks to pick it up but the bus driver would let us offer within 2 blocks (not a regular stop.) We also walked another 5 blocks in a different direction to rent a car and drive up through some of the wine and the redwood areas. The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. The breakfasts were quite sufficient and offered a means to compare notes or suggestions with other vacationers. There was a wine tasting and piano player in the lobby on Wednesday before dinner time. Really quite pleasant. I would make only two negative comments. The once very nice carpet needed to be replaced. Also there is not a good selection of close places to eat in the evening. Mel's Diner (attached) has great menu but not what you would consider fare for an evening out. We were huffing and puffing often from our climbs up the steep streets but we were smiling all the way and considered this one of our best ever vacations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

We took the 38L bus recommended at the check-in desk to The Cliff House (about 6 miles; 30 minutes)for dinner. This is a historical restaurant that is celebrating their 100 year anniversay by offering a 3 course dinner on Wednesdays in their Bistro restaurant. We had to wait (no reservations allowed) but spent the time well with a glass of wine at a table in the bar by the window overlooking the ocean where we could see the pelicans and seals on a rock island just off the coast. Also there were interesting cliffs and caves that we observed. Our dinner table also overlooked the breath taking views of the ocean sunset. Several days later we returned to explore the caves, cliffs and nearby walking paths through the park to points that offered beautiful views of the Mile Lighthouse and the Golden Gate Bridge - sturdy shoes needed.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marathoner from LA
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 19, 2013

Short Stay

I took a trip up to San Francisco to do the marathon. I procrastinated booking a hotel and most hotels were filled up for that weekend. Whatever rooms that was left were way over my budget. The Opal was the only moderately priced answer. What I liked: Checking in and out was a breeze. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The free breakfast was great. Even though the selection of food items were small (bagels, toast, muffins, hard boiled eggs, juice, tea, coffee, yogurts.) To me its just what you needed to get the day started to go get real food out in the city. The room were clean albeit small. I guess the room was comfy. I'm use to camping outdoors so my comfort level of any room with a bed is skewed. The hotel is within walking distance to a lot of the sites and sounds that SF has to offer. Parking is located in a gated courtyard within the hotel. It was priced competitively enough with AAA discount that it's worth just leaving the car there for peace of mind. The only thing I really didn't like: The location of the hotel is close to an iffier part of town. There were no homeless pan handling right outside the door but if you walk down the block on O'Farrell you hit some of the sketchier parts of town, especially at night. If you know what you're doing it shouldn't be too bad. Overall the hotel is not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Collins CO
Oct 25, 2010

Good location and a good value

The Opal is an older hotel near the Japantown area that has been updated and offers good service. The room and bathroom were clean with a very comfortable king size bed. The continental breakfast which came with the price of the room offered a limited but tasteful selection, certainly adequate. The area is relatively safe, my wife and I walked to the Union Square park in the downtown area, about 10 blocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jamaica man
Business
Rockville MD
Jun 21, 2009

free breakfast, good location

Hotel is good for the $$, great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mel's Diner right by the hotel

Back to menu Return to top