$122 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 4, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
719 out of 719
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 5, 2008

Dirty Rooms

Front desk was not very friendly. Did not offer or asked if we wanted a second room key. The room was very dark. The carpet was old and very dirty. The sheets and blankets had mendings done once too many. They should have been replaced. After the first night, my 3 yr old son's pillow was missing. We had it placed in our bags to ensure it would not be misplaced. It was gone that evening. We had called front desk to inquire if they had found a child's pillow and neither housekeeping nor front desk was helpful. We had explained it to the manager that it was placed in our bags and it had disappeared. The pillows were hand made for my little ones and one was missing from our bags. They did nothing about it. It was nice to have the continental breakfast. Dining area was too small to accommodate all the guests (both inside and outside near front desk). We came home with hives from dirty bed sheets and blankets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Japantown is 5 blocks away. Good walk. Chinatown is easy access to by bus or 14 blocks by foot. Short cab ride to the Pier and Wharf. Mel's dinner is next door and has entrance access in hotel.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Jun 18, 2011

The bad and the ugly

We went to San Francisco to attend my cousin's graduation.We stayed in the The Opal hotel its so frustating when we got to the room because the room is so small the carpet is so dirty. The toilet is not even functioning, so I called the front desk if we can move us to a bigger room, so they did moved us to a different room which is a bigger room I guess, on our second day I can't really stand the carpet is so dirty I called [...]if we can checkout earlier because we are not happy with the hotel, they called the hotel if it's possible for us to checkout earlier. Unfortunately, we cannot because of the hotel policy, they cannot refund us our money. So they advised me to go the front desk and talk to the manager instead if we can checkout earlier. I called the front desk many times to ask for the manager, the manager's office always on a voice mail so I left messages for him to call me back regarding our situation in the hotel. The manager did not call me at all. I'm so frustated. So I will not recommend this hotel to any of my relatives and friends. This hotel is so disgusting. We always travel but this is the worse dirtiest hotel ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Draper, UT
Apr 28, 2010

Opal

When we arrived at the hotel the front desk informed us that there is a $50 deposit per night, up to $200. This is not mentioned on [...] or the Opal's website. The staff was completely unwilling to take anything but credit for the deposit and was also unwilling to hold my card number for two hours while we made arrangements to move money around. There was also a $25 +tax charge per night for parking. The front desk staff was snooty and rude to us our entire stay. Stay away from this hotel. After all the charges we could have stayed somewhere nicer and had a much better time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy a city pass, it's about $60 for adults and around $35 for kids. It gets you into about 6 attractions including the aquarium and the science museum plus lets you ride any muni bus or trolly for 9 days for free. We didn't have to drive our car at all. The public trans runs for about 18 hours every day and can take you anywhere in San Francisco.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ProudPop
Business
San Francisco
Jul 18, 2014

not happy

son was really sick and waited for an hour for a plunger. silly as it seems you wait 15 minutes then another...go downstairs to find they have no idea what your talking about. i asked for a place that included parking but $41,00 later ....for the variance in price I probably could have upgraded to a better hotel for a little more money....it was ok but could have been cleaner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

check out day passes, or coupons...very expensive town

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BP DP
Business
Redding, CA
Aug 11, 2014

One night stand

Very old, room was small. AC unit had a high pitched steamy squeal (maintenance did quiet it down.) Floor had a steep slope to it. Glad it was only one night. On the plus side, there is a parking garage close by where you can park for $26/day which is cheap in SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DrOpie
Business
Hughson
Nov 15, 2014

no recommendation here.

Was woken up several times by noisy elevator in a hotel. The beds were terrible. Parking was excessive.The hotel staff was very accommodating and and a pleasure to work with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mel's diner was a great spot for a quick meal. They have excellent service and the food was pretty good.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shameram K.
Business
modesto
Jan 5, 2015

Froze All Night

Our heater was broken and the temperature in our room was 58 all night! This was the worst hotel experience we have ever had. First the heater would not come on we called down for someone to come turn it on for us. We also noticed there was a portable heater in the closet, obvious bad sign. Then we woke up in the middle of the night and the temperature was on 58 and the unit was blowing cold air on our heads. We ended up leaving the hotel at 6am, some vacation!!! The bathroom had hair on the floor and we also found hair in our bed. When i told the receptionist during our checkout, she said she would discount the parking fee, which is crazy, and never once apologized for the inconvenience we experienced. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Missing Boots
Business
Philadelphia
Apr 18, 2015

Want to have you things stolen?

My boots were stolen from my room! I just couldn't believe it. Never staying here again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ashwin
Business
Plainsboro, NJ, USA
Sep 1, 2011

The Opal Experienec

It was one of the worst Hotel, I had ever visted. Toilet Flush, Light switch, AC didn't worked at all. Don't stay here at all. Better choose other motels. No direct parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

It was one of the worst Hotel, I had ever visted. Toilet Flush, Light switch, AC didn't worked at all. Don't stay here at all. Better choose other motels. No direct parking.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SUSYHOTELEXPERT
Business
LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA
Sep 8, 2009

the bad and the really ugly

the staff was unfriendly and cold. we got an incident with thir garage door who was broked and they didn't knew it until it damage our car mercedes benz e350, scratching all the front bump and taking out the license! no one response for damage, manager was on vacation in a full hotel long weekend???room has not air extractor in bathroom and no security holder in bathtub. breakfast really poor. the only good think: the location, very convenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top