$113 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
880 reviews
Good price for location

Friendly and helpful staff. Large comfortable room. See full review

  • MarianaMC
  • Apr 27, 2014
The Opal Stay

We found The Opal very helpful and welcoming to all our request. Staff was very efficient and... See full review

  • Jan Combs
  • Apr 12, 2014
Historic hotel and spacious suites -- walking distance to Union Square

Dating back to 1908, this five-story Union Square hotel still boasts the stained glass windows, period antiques and other decorative touches that hearken back to a simpler time. Rooms are clean and efficient; spacious work desks are popular among business travelers. Other amenities include a complimentary on-site fitness center and 24-hour coffee and tea service, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet.

Highlights
  • Walking distance to shopping in Union Square
  • Historic architecture, decorative touches
  • 24-hour coffee and tea service
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
Rooms

Each of The Opal's 164 guest rooms features central air and heat, cable television and complimentary high-speed Internet. (There's also free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby.) Suites include small sitting areas with plush sofas. A handful of rooms have windows that look out onto the bustling Union

Features
The hotel has received a three-diamond rating from AAA and was selected as the Crescent Hotel and Resorts "Hotel of the Year" in 2008. A baby grand piano welcomes visitors to the lobby of The Opal -- a public area decorated to invoke the way it looked when the hotel debuted in 1908.

Elsewhere on the property is a 24-hour laundry facility (fees apply) and car rental desk (fees apply; rentals also can be facilitated by the concierge). Overnight parking is also available (fees apply).

All guests have complimentary access to a state-of-the-art on-site fitness center. Guests also are entitled to a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning.

After a long day exploring the city, grab a milkshake and a tuna melt at the on-site outpost of Mel's Drive-In, a 1950s-style diner that has become a San Francisco institution. The restaurant is open 24 hours on weekends.
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (18 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Policies and fees

Debit cards are not acceptable at check-in. Overnight Parking is available (FEES APPLY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Opal San Francisco Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Jr Suite-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet
Executive Suite
King bed w-Living room Free Cont Brkfst-Wireless Internet Access
KING JUNIOR SUITE
ONE KING BED - SITTING AREA FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST BUFFET FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS
Deluxe King
Deluxe King - Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Room Free Continential Breakfast Buffet
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Opal San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7855 -122.4209
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 25.00, MI, W; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 22.10, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi

Dining

Mels Drive In Diner
Classic American Food - 1950 Diner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (880)

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
880 out of 880
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SecondHoneymoon20
Louisiana
Feb 4, 2014

Great room for price

Nice hotel. About 6 easy walking blocks from the BART. Good free breakfast. Great Staff. 6 Blocks from Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Aleenza
portland, or
Aug 25, 2013

Worst Hotel Ever

I cried when we pulled up to this hotel - it was old and tired. Carpet and lobby filthy. The only saving grace was the teeny tiny room was clean. Thank goodness we didn't spend much time there. Not a good value at all and beyond disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nick southern traveler
South Georgia
Jul 14, 2013

Stay away from this hotel

The hotel is not located in a beautiful setting like described on their website. There is no valet parking or staff to help with your bags. Our room had dirty socks beside the bed and the power went out a couple of times through out the night. Very, very disappointed with our booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not walk anywhere from this hotel. It's not very far from Chinatown, but you must walk through some bad parts if town to get there.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Draper, UT
Apr 28, 2010

Opal

When we arrived at the hotel the front desk informed us that there is a $50 deposit per night, up to $200. This is not mentioned on [...] or the Opal's website. The staff was completely unwilling to take anything but credit for the deposit and was also unwilling to hold my card number for two hours while we made arrangements to move money around. There was also a $25 +tax charge per night for parking. The front desk staff was snooty and rude to us our entire stay. Stay away from this hotel. After all the charges we could have stayed somewhere nicer and had a much better time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy a city pass, it's about $60 for adults and around $35 for kids. It gets you into about 6 attractions including the aquarium and the science museum plus lets you ride any muni bus or trolly for 9 days for free. We didn't have to drive our car at all. The public trans runs for about 18 hours every day and can take you anywhere in San Francisco.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LAWFORCE
Business
ENCINO, CA
Feb 28, 2010

Horrible Hotel [...]

Front desk staff on arrival was horribly rude, lied that manager was not present when other staff member later indicated that a manager WAS on site at the time requested, and took hotel GM 3 DAYS to eventually call to address the inexcusable treatment at check-in AND second night of stay, night manager did not address VERYLOUD noise problem in adjoining room at 3:00 a.m. Until about 5:00 a.m. WORST STAY AT ANY HOTEL/MOTEL IN MEMORY FOR OVER 20 years of business travel! [...]DO NOT STAY AT THE OPAL HOTEL [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Jan 18, 2010

By Antiques they just mean old.

There were quite a few homeless people in the area. Very sad. I did not feel safe. The fitness room is small but the machines were fine. That and the breakfast were pleasant surprises. I do not think I would stay there again but it was inexpensive. Everything was old and run down in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cross the street to go to the best little bar/deli style resturaunt I have ever been to. Can not remember the name but there was a good crowd and everyone only had great things to say about it. Food was awesome.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 5, 2008

Dirty Rooms

Front desk was not very friendly. Did not offer or asked if we wanted a second room key. The room was very dark. The carpet was old and very dirty. The sheets and blankets had mendings done once too many. They should have been replaced. After the first night, my 3 yr old son's pillow was missing. We had it placed in our bags to ensure it would not be misplaced. It was gone that evening. We had called front desk to inquire if they had found a child's pillow and neither housekeeping nor front desk was helpful. We had explained it to the manager that it was placed in our bags and it had disappeared. The pillows were hand made for my little ones and one was missing from our bags. They did nothing about it. It was nice to have the continental breakfast. Dining area was too small to accommodate all the guests (both inside and outside near front desk). We came home with hives from dirty bed sheets and blankets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Japantown is 5 blocks away. Good walk. Chinatown is easy access to by bus or 14 blocks by foot. Short cab ride to the Pier and Wharf. Mel's dinner is next door and has entrance access in hotel.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, North Carolina
Apr 28, 2011

Not the best experience

We enjoyed the sightseeing and the food during our recent trip to San Francisco. The hotel was by far the worst part of the trip. The workout room was in terrible shape(it was small and cramp, TV needed to be replaced and the weight eqiupment) needed to be updated bad! The rooms were very small, the bathroom fan was exteremly noisy, and the A/C for the most part fell short. I would not recommend to family to stay out there. Sad part was.. hotel was surrouned by homeless people...not a good neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rozzielee
Norfolk, VA
Jun 2, 2014

Two star hotel for Four star price

Put us in the wrong room from the start. As I tried to unsuccessfully to open the room door with my card key it was opened by a gentleman in a towel who obviously just got out of the shower, and explained I had the wrong room. When I showed him my hand written room number, he showed me his and of course it was the same room. They apologized at the front desk and then as is often the case when you book through travel sites and not through them directly, proceeded to put us in the noisiest room in the hotel. When I asked to change rooms they said they were booked and could not accommodate us. I know this was not the case. Breakfast was sub-par at best. The second night there we hit the hay early as we had a crack of dawn flight out of San Francisco International, we were awakened at 12:30 a.m. by a angry man screaming at his female roommate as well as obviously hitting her, it was that loud and that obvious, I called to the front desk and reported the scenario. They said they would take care of it. After another hour of the same, I physically got out of bed and went to the front desk and threatened to call 911 if they did not take care of the situation. After about 20 minutes the yelling stopped. Needless to say I got no sleep. I would not recommend this hotel to anybody staying in the San Francisco area. On a side note, we were one of the few Americans in the hotel. Mostly European occupied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

This hotel is too far away from Union Square and in a seedy side of town with many vagrants all around.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Jan 18, 2010

By Antiques they just mean old.

There were quite a few homeless people in the area. Very sad. I did not feel safe. The fitness room is small but the machines were fine. That and the breakfast were pleasant surprises. I do not think I would stay there again but it was inexpensive. Everything was old and run down in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cross the street to go to the best little bar/deli style resturaunt I have ever been to. Can not remember the name but there was a good crowd and everyone only had great things to say about it. Food was awesome.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Missing Boots
San Francisco, CA, USA
Feb 28, 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE!

Now I know why the price was so cheap....they steal your belongings! When I came back to my room the second night, my boots were missing. I filed a complaint and they pretended to be concerned. They told me their cleaning staff had been with the hotel for a long time and would not steal. Did a magic fairy take my boots? They made me feel as though I was lying. All I know is that I will never stay there and I will make sure to tell my friends and family about this inccident.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top