$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
621 out of 621
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Benjj
Business
Vancouver, BC
Mar 17, 2014

Nice, clean hotel

Very well maintained, modern and clean. The location is central enough -- though a ways from attractions like Fisherman's wharf. The included breakfast was much better than most, though could have used some hot food. The one guy at the front desk was really grumpy and bordering on rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Holly Anderson
Business
Yakima, WA
Mar 22, 2014

Great trip to San Fran

The staff was very helpful. They had great suggestions for tourists. The continental breakfast was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Big bus or hop on hop off bus passes. So helpful and cheaper than cabs. For those who don't want to walk miles.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kat8na
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 29, 2014

Good hotel for the price with great breakfast

Stayed there for the second time and loved it. Rooms are old but clean. Staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast is very good. Location is convenient near public transportation. The only negative is costly and limited in space parking. Will stay there again on our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at the cinema garage next to hotel to save up to $20 per day.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EmTay
Business
Portland Oregon
Mar 28, 2014

Spring break in sanfrancisco

The staff is so nice ! Helped us choose bars, figure out the public transportation and booked me a shuttle back to the airport! The room was perfect, we were out all day and most of the night so we didn't spend too much time there. The bed could have a been little more comfortable but overall the room was fabulous! The breakfast had nice variety and great hours of operation. We felt safe and well taken care of. I would go back any day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the cable cars over the trolley!

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Colleen Proud Navy Mom
Business
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Apr 4, 2014

Celebrating Son's NPS Graduation

Good experience. Like that door to hotel is locked from outside so feel safe. Staff were wonderful - desk staff always helpful in giving suggestions to navigate the City; breakfast was basic but good and staff person kept the area clean and items filled; maintaining of rooms, lobby, etc. well done. Close to downtown restaurants, cable car, bus stop on corner. Enjoyed diner attached to hotel. Older but well-kept and charming hotel in a good location. Would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stroll over to Polk Street and enjoy some good ethnic food.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PISTEN BLITZ
Business
Leavenworth, WA 98826, USA
Apr 4, 2014

Business with family

Great location and parking but noise. Construction -i/accross the streeto

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chi Spring Traveler
Business
Chicago
Apr 6, 2014

Great Value Stay

I looked at several hotels before booking at the Opal. It was an extremely great value for a hotel in San Francisco. The staff was friendly and helpful upon checkin and answering any additional questions we had about the area. We checked In on a Wednesday, and they had a wine & cheese hour. After checking out on our last day, we were able to store luggage in a locked luggage room before an overnight flight. The rooms was cozy and clean and did the trick for our four day stay. The area is great aside from a walk down Geary near Hyde.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sfvisitor78
Business
davis, ca
Apr 7, 2014

Great Stay at the Opal!

I was very happy with my stay at the Opal Hotel in S.F. Its an older building, but that is part of the charm. I had a room with a king-sized bed and it was quite spacious and overlooked Van Ness avenue. Even though my room was located in front of the building, there was not much noise coming in at night while I slept. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean as well and spacious enough. Overall I enjoyed my stay at the Opal. Would highly recommend. Decent location and great price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lers Ros Thai Restaurant is located a couple of blocks away on Larkin. They have fantastic food. Order the stir fried pork belly. You will thank me!

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Giant's Baseball Fan
Business
Portland, Oregon
Apr 10, 2014

Fun in the Sun

We had a great experience at the Opal Hotel. The rooms were spacious and clean. The location was conveniently located on the bus lines. It was a short 10 block walk to Unio Square. The staff was very helpful answering all quetions and setting up tours of the city for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vanalex
Business
Toronto, Canada
Apr 12, 2014

Wonderful spot, great stay!

We loved our visit to San Francisco and enjoyed staying at The Opal. My partner and I were there for three nights in early April and would definitely stay there again. The rates are reasonable and the location is a perfect starting point for exploring all that SF has to offer. It's within easy walking distance of a BART station, many transit lines, downtown amenities, Fisherman's Wharf, and countless interesting neighbourhoods. The hotel itself is older but classically beautiful and well-maintained, hotel staff were always pleasant and helpful. The continental breakfast includes: bagels, bread, muffins, various spreads, fruit salad, yogurt, and juice. I was most impressed by the hotel's commitment to waste reduction --all of the breakfast dishes and utensils were compostable and the yogurt cups were recycled; recycle bins were also provided in the accommodation rooms. Being a 3-star hotel, The Opal may not have all of the amenities of a higher-end chain but it does offer excellent value. However, I would like to see a complimentary guest computer with internet access (there was a pay-per-minute computer in the breakfast room but the fees seemed exorbitant to me). It would also be nice to have a book or card in the room outlining the features of the hotel, such as: breakfast hours, fitness room location, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top