$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
630 out of 630
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yesi G.
Friends
Wheat Ridge
Apr 18, 2015

Awesome Weekend Getaway

perfect location in center of San Francisco heart and right off a bus line, easy check in and the staff was very pleasant, complimentary breakfast was standard, room was clean and bed was comfy. Walls were pretty thin could hear conversation happening next door but they were pretty loud. Located in the Tenderloin neighborhood which I read was pretty predominant to the homeless community but the entire surrounding area I noticed of San Francisco had homeless individuals and I didn’t feel threatened. I would recommend staying here! and I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brock
Single
Corvallis
Jul 4, 2015

awesome

This hotel is perfect location since I was doing something in Chinese Consulate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brock
Single
Corvallis
Jul 4, 2015

awesome trip

This hotel is perfect location since I was doing something in Chinese Consulate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joshua F.
Couples
NAPA
Jul 17, 2015

Great little spot

Historic hotel in San Francisco. Quaint little place, room was small but the amount of history in that place was amazing. It was very inexpensive too for San Francisco. If your looking for a friendly place to just get read and to lay your head at night check them out. Continental breakfast hit the spot also. Over all a good place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Katy world citizen
Business
Houston
Aug 8, 2015

Great central location and price

Great hotel and location and very friendly staff. There are many restaurants and everything is walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel biz
Business
BELLFLOWER
Aug 8, 2015

Back to the Past Adventure

PROS: The hotel is located very close to public transportation systems such as train and bus stations which help to save an enormous amount of time and money in getting around the city. I would highly recommend people to take the bus if you are staying at the hotel since you can get to most of the touristic places within 20-30 minutes and the bus passes by every 5-10 mins. In addition to its location, the hotel in itself is a hidden treasure with beautifully decorated amenities such as a classic piano, chandelier in the lobby, and historical furniture pieces. Mel's Drive In is just adjacent to the hotel which makes it an added bonus if you want to taste some of the traditional American food while listening to a seventies tune in the coin operated juke box. The 24 hour reception staff members are friendly and helpful in taking care of early check-in clients and there is also a luggage storage for clients that have late departures. Complimentary breakfast in the morning as well as in house coffee/tea available in the lobby throughout the day are highly beneficial for early risers as well as for visitors that would like to have a little break before taking off on their next journey. NEED FOR IMPROVEMENT Breakfast offers both warm and cold items to get some quick energy in the morning. I would encourage having some cut fruits, banana, hard boiled eggs, and peanut butter & Nutella spreads available to avoid having to consume too much of the carbohydrate items such as english muffins, waffles, sweet pastries, bagels, muffins, and bread slices. The gym facility offers basic exercise equipment to burn off some calories but it would be useful to add a step climber machine in order to avoid straining the legs and knees. Moreover, having a spa facility would be an added benefit to the hotel. Thank you very much for your highly appreciated service!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Merdi H
Couples
Kansas City
Jan 14, 2014

Helpful Staff

I thought the staff was all very helpful. They had good suggestions for food and entertainment in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Merdi H
Couples
Kansas City
Jan 14, 2014

Great Staff

I especially liked the staff at the Opal. They had several recommendations when asked, about food and entertainment choices around the area. They were all pleasant and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KonnieKatt
Single
Mtn. View, CA
Jan 18, 2014

Excellent location

I like to walk, take Muni, and visit museums and theaters when I'm in SF. The very central location (corner of Van Ness & Geary) was perfect for that. On Wednesday evening, complimentary wine and cheese was served in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ashski4
Couples
Modesto,CA
Jan 27, 2014

Clean and comfortable

This hotel is clean with friendly staff. Our room was small and outdated but that added to its charm. The only major thing that I could really complain about was the radiator. It was quite warm in our room in January and we ended up sleeping with the window open. However for the price we were happy. The bed was surprisingly comfortable and so were the pillows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top