$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
884 reviews
Good price for location

Friendly and helpful staff. Large comfortable room. See full review

  • MarianaMC
  • Apr 27, 2014
The Opal Stay

We found The Opal very helpful and welcoming to all our request. Staff was very efficient and... See full review

  • Jan Combs
  • Apr 12, 2014
Historic hotel and spacious suites -- walking distance to Union Square

Dating back to 1908, this five-story Union Square hotel still boasts the stained glass windows, period antiques and other decorative touches that hearken back to a simpler time. Rooms are clean and efficient; spacious work desks are popular among business travelers. Other amenities include a complimentary on-site fitness center and 24-hour coffee and tea service, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet.

Highlights
  • Walking distance to shopping in Union Square
  • Historic architecture, decorative touches
  • 24-hour coffee and tea service
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
Rooms

Each of The Opal's 164 guest rooms features central air and heat, cable television and complimentary high-speed Internet. (There's also free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby.) Suites include small sitting areas with plush sofas. A handful of rooms have windows that look out onto the bustling Union

Features
The hotel has received a three-diamond rating from AAA and was selected as the Crescent Hotel and Resorts "Hotel of the Year" in 2008. A baby grand piano welcomes visitors to the lobby of The Opal -- a public area decorated to invoke the way it looked when the hotel debuted in 1908.

Elsewhere on the property is a 24-hour laundry facility (fees apply) and car rental desk (fees apply; rentals also can be facilitated by the concierge). Overnight parking is also available (fees apply).

All guests have complimentary access to a state-of-the-art on-site fitness center. Guests also are entitled to a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning.

After a long day exploring the city, grab a milkshake and a tuna melt at the on-site outpost of Mel's Drive-In, a 1950s-style diner that has become a San Francisco institution. The restaurant is open 24 hours on weekends.
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (18 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Policies and fees

Debit cards are not acceptable at check-in. Overnight Parking is available (FEES APPLY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Opal San Francisco Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Jr Suite-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet
Executive Suite
King bed w-Living room Free Cont Brkfst-Wireless Internet Access
KING JUNIOR SUITE
ONE KING BED - SITTING AREA FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST BUFFET FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS
Deluxe King
Deluxe King - Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Room Free Continential Breakfast Buffet
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Opal San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7855 -122.4209
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 25.00, MI, W; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 22.10, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi

Dining

Mels Drive In Diner
Classic American Food - 1950 Diner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (884)

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
884 out of 884
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
m.c. gov'na
Lompoc, California
Apr 10, 2012

Great weekend stay

The staff was very nice to me even though i checked in late, its in a pretty good location, its right next to a great diner, the room is much better than the pictures, will definitely stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Nov 9, 2009

Nice hotel for a good price

Very nice hotel in a convenient location, easy accessible public transportation, very clean room and spotless bathroom, great/real breakfast and a nice atmosphere created by international guests. Internet included and wonderful help from the service with printing reservations made online. The neighborhood requires caution after dusk, but it is nothing surprising after visiting other big cities around the world. Great deal for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Everything is easy accessible from this place using public transportation, 15-20 minute walk to the centre of Downtown; I would say this is a tourist place -- if you want to stay with tourists it is your place, if you are looking for 5 star hotel with all that pampering required -- pay for it somewhere else and no one will miss you there. This place is cute and nice and exceeded our expectations!

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alissa
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Jan 9, 2012

SF

We'll definitely choose the Opal the next time we visit the city. Everything was great. The only minor complaint I have is that the bed was a little hard. After a few nights, I was quite sore. But the staff was very friendly and accommodating! See you all soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try Eureka in the Castro, it's delicious! Make a reservation because it was packed. Make it for nine, show up early and pop in to the bar next door (midnight sun) for two-for-one drinks.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Santa Cruz, CA
Sep 11, 2009

Solid

Clean, quick, cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CHISPA
Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Oct 7, 2011

The best place for a SECOND HONEYMOON!!!!!

WE WERE IN THE CENTER OF EVERYTHING. WALKED TO THE WHARF, TO JAPAN TOWN, LITTLE SAIGON, LITTLE ITALY, AND CHINATOWN. MEL'S DINER ON THE CORNER AND THE BEST CORNED BEEF SANDWICH ACROSS THE STREET FOR UNDER $7.00. THE STAFF WERE VERY NICE AND PLEASANT. KNEW HOW TO GET AROUND THE CITY AND RESERVE OUR TOURS. THE ROOMS WERE SO COZY THAT I COULD OF STAYED ANOTHER WEEK!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

STEAK AND EGGS AT MEL'S DINER ON THE CORNER RIGHT NEXT TO THE HOTEL.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
san jose california
Feb 19, 2010

greal experience!

we whent to the city to see the ballet and some shoping a very nice and placent 3days stay, the staff make us feel in home very freindly and warm a big thumps up! we will back again and again..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to the opera house city hall and resturants and shops

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CHISPA
Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Oct 7, 2011

The best place for a SECOND HONEYMOON!!!!!

WE WERE IN THE CENTER OF EVERYTHING. WALKED TO THE WHARF, TO JAPAN TOWN, LITTLE SAIGON, LITTLE ITALY, AND CHINATOWN. MEL'S DINER ON THE CORNER AND THE BEST CORNED BEEF SANDWICH ACROSS THE STREET FOR UNDER $7.00. THE STAFF WERE VERY NICE AND PLEASANT. KNEW HOW TO GET AROUND THE CITY AND RESERVE OUR TOURS. THE ROOMS WERE SO COZY THAT I COULD OF STAYED ANOTHER WEEK!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

STEAK AND EGGS AT MEL'S DINER ON THE CORNER RIGHT NEXT TO THE HOTEL.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego, CA
Apr 8, 2008

A Great Place to Stay

We were very impressed with all aspects of this hotel. Its old 1908 charm made it an out of the ordinary place to stay and a great value. Its upkeep was impecible. We stayed in a 2 room suite which was roomy and comfortable. There was a large walk-in closet which easily accomodated all of our suitcases. The room was very clean and neat. The staff was wonderful and more than willing to answer any of our questions. There was a daily continental breakfast. (The coffee was great!) On Wednesday evening, a nice gentleman served wine and cheese in the main lobby as a perk for staying at this hotel. There is a 50s diner right next door; reasonably priced, a good place to eat and fun! Our only complaint was the hotel location to Union Square. The bus stop was right on the block and the cable car stop about 6 blocks away. Once we learned the transportation system in San Francisco, it really wasn't a problem. We would certainly stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Learn and utilize the bus system. It is much faster than the cable cars and much more convenient to the hotel. Also, purchase the 3 or 7 day transportation pass rather than buying single rides on bus, Muni or cable car. This will save you lots of money.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reno, NV
May 7, 2008

Helpful Staff

The staff was extremely helpful. Upon checkin, our room was upgraded without any request. One downside is the location. We were somewhat nervous walking to union square. Overall, it was a nice experience and we would stay here again for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wolcottville
Dec 18, 2008

great business amenities, close to all transit

The Opal was a very quaint hotel. Beautiful decor and very clean. Room was somewhat small, but a great value. Hotel check-in was quick and easy. Very friendly staff. Had a nice continental breakfast bar with plenty of seating space. The breakfast bar could have had more fuit or yogert instead of only apples. Noticed lots of business people staying here. Had a nice internet business center for hotel guest, and a nice workout facility. Great location, near all transit lines made getting around San Francisco easy. Mel's Diner next door was very convenient, and Tommys restaurant across the street was excellent. Both restaurants had great service and reasonable prices. Would definitely recommend The Opal and would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything close by, within a short drive.

Back to menu Return to top