$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
621 out of 621
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sketchy neighborhood
Business
East coast
Aug 30, 2014

eh

The hotel is not located in the best of areas. During the day it is fine buy at night the area was very full of homeless people. The hotel was clean and the room was okay but the beds were hard and very uncomfortable. I alsi had to go outside to get to my room and at night i heard every noise. My stay was fine but I don't think I would recommend it. There are other good hotels in better more convenient areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
weekenders12312312
Business
fresno, ca
Sep 1, 2014

Weekend Trip

Hotel was average accommodations, breakfast was nice and plentiful though. The area is pretty sketchy, especially at night! Lots of homeless people and drug addicts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kamilyon
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Sep 7, 2014

End of summer break

I had to switch rooms immediately because the first one was moldy smelling. Staff was great about the switch and the next one was much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bar bob
Business
Pa
Sep 18, 2014

Nice hotel, terrible location

The Opal Hotel was a pretty nice hotel just was in a terrible location. The staff was nice and the hotel was clean. However it is located in what is known as the "tenderloin" district. Basically what this means is you are surrounded by drug dealers, prostitites, and homeless people. This is not an area you want to stay in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Oct 1, 2014

Great for sensitive people

This hotel is 100% smoke and fragrance free. I was a bit nervous when I threw a stinky item in the trash. They even have no smell soap and shampoo, so if you are fragrance sensitive, this hotel is for you! I did have a temperature issue with the shower and couldn't use it. The location is wonderful! Get the free map of San Francisco and ride the city bus! there is a few near the hotel! Many conveniences are walking distance, as well as some of the best food places in town! OH, if you like fun houses as I do, you should use the stairs! I wish I though to try it earlier! The elevators are very nice, but the stairs is fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ride the city bus! They are very helpful to get you to the sights you want, like china town, Fisherman's wharf, the golden gate bridge, and the large park with all the great museums and gardens! There is even a trolley ride a short walk from the hotel. Nice, even at night!

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cirujano
Business
mexico city
Nov 4, 2014

good for bussines

well situated, the attention on desk very good, the complimentary breakfast ok. Definitively recomende

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gsndrs
Business
Coquille, OR
Oct 31, 2014

Adequate digs for the conference

The room and bathroom were clean, but with a bit of a "faded glory" ambience. Staff were very courteous. The breakfast was a bit disappointing for someone who wants to eat "whole foods, plant based." Adequate, but not amazing. Close to many ethnic restaurants, which I enjoy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Murphydog
Business
Palm Springs, CA
Nov 17, 2014

Good Value

The hotel is in a good location and close to a lot of sites. The value is great in comparison to other hotels. Check your sheets upon checking in. They have new sheets, but for some reason housekeeping used old pilly pillow cases.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
R2D2Arthur
Business
Mexico City
Nov 19, 2014

Very good for the price

The location is good, but there are a lot of homeless, we got a cab everywhere so we dod not deal with that. hotels in SF are very expensive so i thing this is a good value for a low budget !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

WIFI is good and free

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ellie26
Business
Buffalo, ny
Nov 28, 2014

San Fran

Nice hotel with a good location. It's very close to the bus line but a distance from the BART.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top