$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
661 out of 661
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
May 1, 2008

Great for the price!

This is a beautiful old SF building that has a lot of history and charicter. I loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very convienient t public transportation. I took the bus EVERYwhere!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterey
Aug 12, 2008

very friendly and helpful

The Opal Hotel is very nice for the price. Clean room, very comfortable beds, nicely furnished and a very friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

A very short drive to all the best shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SFfan
Business
Santa Cruz
Jun 14, 2009

Fantastic!!

We loved SF, our first time in this Opal Hotel. We were very happy with the suit. We'll definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lmroderick
Business
Carmel Valley, CA
Dec 28, 2009

A great find

The hotel staff was friendly and quick. Our room was very nice and clean. The hotel had been modernized while keeping the period styling, which I loved. The location was a quick drive to Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, etc. Our use of the room was just a place to sleep, so we did not check out the amenities, but we thought it was a great hotel for a terrific price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 29, 2008

Neat Old Building in transitioning area of SF

I love older buildings. It's a neat old building with a nice lounge/lobby area. It has neat light well stained glass windows in the stairways. You don't see that sort of thing in the new, bland, box buildings. The staff was nice and a pretty, French concierge added a sense of foreign sophistication. The room had 10-12 inch base board moulding, again something from the past you don't see much. The bathroom, was clean with tile instead of plexiglass, a desk with modem hook up, wardrobe etc.. The carpet was a little worn, couple large water stains, but overall the room was pleasant and nice. The neighborhood was fine, not the best part of town, but by SF standards nowhere near the worst. There was a beautiful old theatre a few doors down currently occupied by the AMC. Walk about 4-5 blocks west and there's some good restaurants in what feels like a transitional neighborhood, ie, young, hip noodle joints, old time pizza twirlers in the window right next to some grubby, florescent lit grease trap. Very beatnik and since I like beatnik-ish and transitional it was just fine with me. If you want more upscale you can walk a little further or take the trolly/bus a mile or so away to Union Square for that, so all in all I thought the location was very good. The entire trip and especially The Opal exceeded my expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

SF has good public transport so from The Opal you're close to all the things to do in SF: Alcatraz, Fisherman's Wharf, Golden Gate Park, etc..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chciago, IL
Apr 10, 2009

5 Day Stay in SF

Do not go here if you plan on driving, or using a car during your stay. Most people's problem with this hotel is the price and lack of parking. You won't need a car from here if you're visiting SF, anyway. Lots of buses are nearby, including the 47 which takes you straight to Fisherman's Wharf.I booked through Orbitz and was upgraded from a queen to a king-sized bed. True, the Opal is not the Ritz or the Hilton, but it's a good deal. It is in a more shady part of SF, but I always felt safe here. You need a key to even get into the building or you have to get buzzed in. Just be aware of your surroundings and you'll be okay.The room itself was clean, except for the carpeting, but nothing too bad. The walls are thin, but nothing ever got too crazy, even though my room was right outside the elevator. They have double windows to drown out the outside noise (it's on a busy street, so this was a big plus!). The fitness room is super tiny, but there was never anyone else in there while I was there, so that was fine.The service was great. Everyone was super nice and helpful, housekeeping did a great job. The complimentary breakfast was a good touch. Remember that it's free, so don't expect bacon and eggs. It's cold cereal, toast, fruit, juices and coffee. If you want more options, check out Mel's diner next door!Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brindley
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 5, 2010

Good hotel with resonable price

Good location and I can go to union square on foot for about ten minutes. Large bed and clean room. However the room is not big enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ten minutes walk to union square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carol P
Business
Fairfield, IA
Aug 4, 2010

Very Nice!

I really liked this hotel. It is pretty close to the City Hall and the Union Square. You might hear that this is not a nice neighborhood, but the hotel is not that close the the bad neighborhood. The staff is friendly and helpful and helped me plan my days and find the best ways to visit the places I wanted to. I definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is 6/7 blocks from the Union Square and Macy's, Nike Town, Zara, Victoria's Secret etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rocklin, CA
Aug 3, 2008

Great Customer Service

Upon arrival when the Hotel Saw we had small children with us, they tried to move us to a non-smoking room. There were none availiable. So the young lady helping us instead gave us Free parking for our stay. She was very helpful and my Grand Children loved the Hotel. Yes we would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Mels dinner just down from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, BC
Jun 6, 2011

Excellent stay

Went to San Francisco for the weekend, The Opal is an excellent downtown choice. Very clean rooms, comfortable bed, TV with lots of channels. Good staff and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on seeing Alcatraz, book in advance, as the likelihood of it being sold out for days increases as you get further into tourist season. Don't expect to just walk to the pier and expect to get on a tour boat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top