$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
630 reviews
Good price for location

Friendly and helpful staff. Large comfortable room. See full review

  • MarianaMC
  • Apr 27, 2014
The Opal Stay

We found The Opal very helpful and welcoming to all our request. Staff was very efficient and... See full review

  • Jan Combs
  • Apr 12, 2014
Historic hotel and spacious suites -- walking distance to Union Square

Dating back to 1908, this five-story Union Square hotel still boasts the stained glass windows, period antiques and other decorative touches that hearken back to a simpler time. Rooms are clean and efficient; spacious work desks are popular among business travelers. Other amenities include a complimentary on-site fitness center and 24-hour coffee and tea service, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet.

Highlights
  • Walking distance to shopping in Union Square
  • Historic architecture, decorative touches
  • 24-hour coffee and tea service
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
Rooms

Each of The Opal's 164 guest rooms features central air and heat, cable television and complimentary high-speed Internet. (There's also free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby.) Suites include small sitting areas with plush sofas. A handful of rooms have windows that look out onto the bustling Union

Features
The hotel has received a three-diamond rating from AAA and was selected as the Crescent Hotel and Resorts "Hotel of the Year" in 2008. A baby grand piano welcomes visitors to the lobby of The Opal -- a public area decorated to invoke the way it looked when the hotel debuted in 1908.

Elsewhere on the property is a 24-hour laundry facility (fees apply) and car rental desk (fees apply; rentals also can be facilitated by the concierge). Overnight parking is also available (fees apply).

All guests have complimentary access to a state-of-the-art on-site fitness center. Guests also are entitled to a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning.

After a long day exploring the city, grab a milkshake and a tuna melt at the on-site outpost of Mel's Drive-In, a 1950s-style diner that has become a San Francisco institution. The restaurant is open 24 hours on weekends.
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (18 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Policies and fees

Debit cards are not acceptable at check-in. Overnight Parking is available (FEES APPLY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7855 -122.4209
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 25.00, MI, W; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 22.10, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Opal San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Opal San Francisco Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Jr Suite-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet
Executive Suite
King bed w-Living room Free Cont Brkfst-Wireless Internet Access
KING JUNIOR SUITE
ONE KING BED - SITTING AREA FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST BUFFET FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS
Deluxe King
Deluxe King - Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Room Free Continential Breakfast Buffet
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi

Dining

Mels Drive In Diner
Classic American Food - 1950 Diner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (630)

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
630 out of 630
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chico
May 4, 2011

Good location

Average room, a bit over priced, but great location in San Fran. They add on 3 different charges and you can't have back until a week later. Can't find the vending machine anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
May 8, 2009

Okay budget place

Hotel was decent and historic, aesthetically pleasing except for the stained carpet in the rooms and odd smells in the hallway. But bed and bathroom were clean, so it was passable. Was slightly noisy being on Van Ness Avenue, but being from NYC that didn't keep me awake. Staff were fair but didn't go out of their way. Still, a great bargain for the location. 3 buses right outside the hotel and a short walk to the California streetcar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely take a wine-tasting tour to wine country and to Muir Woods (redwoods). Stunning!

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 10, 2011

Alright value for it's price

This hotel is okay for it's age, you can tell that the building it old, so don't expect nice smell or shiny furniture. But the location is great, customer service was also great. The bathroom is renovated and clean which is a plus. This is a downtown location so parking is a pain. They offer hotel parking for a couple of tens of dollars a day :( For the most part this hotel provides very decent value for the cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Texas
May 6, 2010

Good hotel, not so good neighborhood

The hotel is OK, the complementary breakfast makes a huge difference when traveling. It is located very close to bus stops (what is good), however it is not a great place to walk around, specially in the night, felt very insecure in the neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle
Mar 21, 2011

Noisy street, clean room

We were visiting family, so spent very little time at the hotel. It was a windy, rainy night and our room was nice and quiet. It was pretty clean, but also felt a little old, but not really in a cute way (worn carpet, sheets were clean but had seen better days, some dust in the baseboards). The "breakfast" left something to be desired, but with Mels diner right next door, that's no problem. Location was decent. Close enough to my family's place who we were visiting. I would recommend to someone who wasn't going to stay long or spend much time in the hotel and was looking for something not too expensive according to San Francisco prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kimrola
San Francisco
Jun 9, 2009

The OK hotel

The pleasant things are the location & economical price of the hotel, the not so nice things are the gloominess of the staff or the no nonsense greetings to visitors. The carpets had an antique smell. If they can alter the ambience it would help a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Location & affordability.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Plymouth, MA
Jun 24, 2011

Decent place in a good location

Decent old hotel on Van Ness not far from the seedy Tenderloin district and a bit further from Union Square and the Financial District. The room was small, the bed was hard and lumpy but the front desk folks were nice and all-in-all it was a good value for SF. There seemed to be a lot of younger foreign tourists staying there. A good selection of restaurants is nearby and this would be a good location for exploring the City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Australia, Sydney
Jul 22, 2011

Okay experience

Staff were nice and informative, hotel was in okay condition(relatively old), location was good if you can bypass the homeless people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Tommys Joint across the road! great food!

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Berkeley, CA
Jul 19, 2011

Satisfactory but nothing special

Didn't really feel like a three star hotel. Room was pretty small. But for the price the stay was fine, just nothing to write home about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Sep 29, 2010

Opal Hotel San Francisco

This was a one night stopover in San Fran on our way to Hawaii for our Honeymoon. We thought we would take a day to tour the city. Well for a random Tuesday in September it was IMPOSSIBLE to find a room (there was a conference going on). I booked a 3 star by the hotel and they called me a couple nights before saying they over booked and could only offer me a 2 star roach motel so I went [...] and LUCKILY found a room here. Granted I spent 2x as much as I originally did with the 3 star by the airport... but it turned out being the best thing for us to stay IN the city to bounce around a bit on our short layover.The room was small and not super clean or up to date but FINE for one night and a place to stay. I was kind of skeeved by the bedding being old/not the cleanest. The hotel definitely has charm - I almost felt like I was staying in Europe, slightly because of the old feel. The staff was relatively friendly, I've seen many reviews they were rude but most were cordial to us. When we checked in our carpet was SOAKING wet so I called down to reception. They said they clean it for their guests, which sounded weird. I figured someone spilled something and they HAD to do it, but again we were lucky to get a room so I let a lot of things slide here. But they were nice and offered to send up a fan, etc.The location is pretty convenient. About 30-40$ to the airport and pretty short cab rides to the piers. The best thing by far about our stay was the free continental breakfast. It was simple, but the coffee, OJ and whole wheat toast were super good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search