The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
622 out of 622
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 27, 2008

My review of The Opal

The Opal was very comfortable. We had excellent service, and the lodging was worth the price we paid. It is on a direct bus route and within walking distance of many sights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is a short walk away.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central Virginia
May 11, 2011

Refreshingly Refreshing

Nicely equipped, safe, very clean and pleasing to the eye. Friendly staff, very accommodating and eager to serve. Terrific location with walking distance to many attractions. Nice local restaurants nearby. Will likely stay there again on my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Do not attempt to catch the cable car nearby as they are all full and do not take riders. Go to the station and save yourself valuable time.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pollick Pines
Jun 9, 2008

Clean, Easy access to public transit

We had two rooms. One of the rooms was a suite. The regular room had two double beds and a desk. It had a small bathroom. The suite had two queen beds a desk and a nice sitting area with a couch and chair. It also had a walk in closet. The bathroom was fairly small. Both rooms were very clean. They had a nice continental breakfast downstairs. There is a Mel's Dinner next store with access from the hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful with directions. Bus stop is a block away and cable car is a couple blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Fisherman's Wharf is accessible by cable car or taxi. Giants Stadium is a short distance away. We took the bus to the stadium for a $1.50 one way.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mt. Pleasant
Jun 10, 2008

Nice location and facility

We hvae visited San Francisco many times and have enjoyed staying at different places. We were very satisfied with The Opal, staff was friendly, room was clean, and hotel in a great location. Would recommend this hotel and would like to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gig Harbor, WA
Nov 4, 2008

Good value, comfortable

Had a great time at the Opal for business but close to everything for pleasure also. Staff was attentive and very professional. Very clean, larger rooms than in other San Francisco downtown hotels. Plumbing slow and staff fixed this very quickly so no problem. Very quiet. Delicious diner and a bakery nearby. Walking distance to trolley, LaFayette park, Moscone convention center for people not afraid to walk a mile or so. Nice ethnic restaurants nearby. Theaters in walking distance also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
May 1, 2008

Great for the price!

This is a beautiful old SF building that has a lot of history and charicter. I loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Very convienient t public transportation. I took the bus EVERYwhere!

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterey
Aug 12, 2008

very friendly and helpful

The Opal Hotel is very nice for the price. Clean room, very comfortable beds, nicely furnished and a very friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

A very short drive to all the best shopping.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SFfan
Business
Santa Cruz
Jun 14, 2009

Fantastic!!

We loved SF, our first time in this Opal Hotel. We were very happy with the suit. We'll definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lmroderick
Business
Carmel Valley, CA
Dec 28, 2009

A great find

The hotel staff was friendly and quick. Our room was very nice and clean. The hotel had been modernized while keeping the period styling, which I loved. The location was a quick drive to Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, etc. Our use of the room was just a place to sleep, so we did not check out the amenities, but we thought it was a great hotel for a terrific price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 29, 2008

Neat Old Building in transitioning area of SF

I love older buildings. It's a neat old building with a nice lounge/lobby area. It has neat light well stained glass windows in the stairways. You don't see that sort of thing in the new, bland, box buildings. The staff was nice and a pretty, French concierge added a sense of foreign sophistication. The room had 10-12 inch base board moulding, again something from the past you don't see much. The bathroom, was clean with tile instead of plexiglass, a desk with modem hook up, wardrobe etc.. The carpet was a little worn, couple large water stains, but overall the room was pleasant and nice. The neighborhood was fine, not the best part of town, but by SF standards nowhere near the worst. There was a beautiful old theatre a few doors down currently occupied by the AMC. Walk about 4-5 blocks west and there's some good restaurants in what feels like a transitional neighborhood, ie, young, hip noodle joints, old time pizza twirlers in the window right next to some grubby, florescent lit grease trap. Very beatnik and since I like beatnik-ish and transitional it was just fine with me. If you want more upscale you can walk a little further or take the trolly/bus a mile or so away to Union Square for that, so all in all I thought the location was very good. The entire trip and especially The Opal exceeded my expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

SF has good public transport so from The Opal you're close to all the things to do in SF: Alcatraz, Fisherman's Wharf, Golden Gate Park, etc..

Back to menu Return to top