$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
631 reviews
Nice stay

We had double suite room with 4 adults, we had good stay. Breakfast was better than expected with... See full review

  • TravelerAsia
  • Sep 26, 2014
great location

pleasant staff, decent breakfast and good for bus routes See full review

  • craiggus
  • Sep 7, 2014
Historic hotel and spacious suites -- walking distance to Union Square

Dating back to 1908, this five-story Union Square hotel still boasts the stained glass windows, period antiques and other decorative touches that hearken back to a simpler time. Rooms are clean and efficient; spacious work desks are popular among business travelers. Other amenities include a complimentary on-site fitness center and 24-hour coffee and tea service, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet.

Highlights
  • Walking distance to shopping in Union Square
  • Historic architecture, decorative touches
  • 24-hour coffee and tea service
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
Rooms

Each of The Opal's 164 guest rooms features central air and heat, cable television and complimentary high-speed Internet. (There's also free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby.) Suites include small sitting areas with plush sofas. A handful of rooms have windows that look out onto the bustling Union

Features
The hotel has received a three-diamond rating from AAA and was selected as the Crescent Hotel and Resorts "Hotel of the Year" in 2008. A baby grand piano welcomes visitors to the lobby of The Opal -- a public area decorated to invoke the way it looked when the hotel debuted in 1908.

Elsewhere on the property is a 24-hour laundry facility (fees apply) and car rental desk (fees apply; rentals also can be facilitated by the concierge). Overnight parking is also available (fees apply).

All guests have complimentary access to a state-of-the-art on-site fitness center. Guests also are entitled to a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning.

After a long day exploring the city, grab a milkshake and a tuna melt at the on-site outpost of Mel's Drive-In, a 1950s-style diner that has become a San Francisco institution. The restaurant is open 24 hours on weekends.
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (18 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Policies and fees

Debit cards are not acceptable at check-in. Overnight Parking is available (FEES APPLY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Opal San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Opal San Francisco Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Jr Suite-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet
Executive Suite
King bed w-Living room Free Cont Brkfst-Wireless Internet Access
KING JUNIOR SUITE
ONE KING BED - SITTING AREA FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST BUFFET FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS
Deluxe King
Deluxe King - Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Room Free Continential Breakfast Buffet
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.8 mi

Dining

Mels Drive In Diner
Classic American Food - 1950 Diner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (631)

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
631 out of 631
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Monterey
Aug 12, 2008

very friendly and helpful

The Opal Hotel is very nice for the price. Clean room, very comfortable beds, nicely furnished and a very friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

A very short drive to all the best shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SFfan
Business
Santa Cruz
Jun 14, 2009

Fantastic!!

We loved SF, our first time in this Opal Hotel. We were very happy with the suit. We'll definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lmroderick
Business
Carmel Valley, CA
Dec 28, 2009

A great find

The hotel staff was friendly and quick. Our room was very nice and clean. The hotel had been modernized while keeping the period styling, which I loved. The location was a quick drive to Fisherman's Wharf, Union Square, etc. Our use of the room was just a place to sleep, so we did not check out the amenities, but we thought it was a great hotel for a terrific price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 29, 2008

Neat Old Building in transitioning area of SF

I love older buildings. It's a neat old building with a nice lounge/lobby area. It has neat light well stained glass windows in the stairways. You don't see that sort of thing in the new, bland, box buildings. The staff was nice and a pretty, French concierge added a sense of foreign sophistication. The room had 10-12 inch base board moulding, again something from the past you don't see much. The bathroom, was clean with tile instead of plexiglass, a desk with modem hook up, wardrobe etc.. The carpet was a little worn, couple large water stains, but overall the room was pleasant and nice. The neighborhood was fine, not the best part of town, but by SF standards nowhere near the worst. There was a beautiful old theatre a few doors down currently occupied by the AMC. Walk about 4-5 blocks west and there's some good restaurants in what feels like a transitional neighborhood, ie, young, hip noodle joints, old time pizza twirlers in the window right next to some grubby, florescent lit grease trap. Very beatnik and since I like beatnik-ish and transitional it was just fine with me. If you want more upscale you can walk a little further or take the trolly/bus a mile or so away to Union Square for that, so all in all I thought the location was very good. The entire trip and especially The Opal exceeded my expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

SF has good public transport so from The Opal you're close to all the things to do in SF: Alcatraz, Fisherman's Wharf, Golden Gate Park, etc..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chciago, IL
Apr 10, 2009

5 Day Stay in SF

Do not go here if you plan on driving, or using a car during your stay. Most people's problem with this hotel is the price and lack of parking. You won't need a car from here if you're visiting SF, anyway. Lots of buses are nearby, including the 47 which takes you straight to Fisherman's Wharf.I booked through Orbitz and was upgraded from a queen to a king-sized bed. True, the Opal is not the Ritz or the Hilton, but it's a good deal. It is in a more shady part of SF, but I always felt safe here. You need a key to even get into the building or you have to get buzzed in. Just be aware of your surroundings and you'll be okay.The room itself was clean, except for the carpeting, but nothing too bad. The walls are thin, but nothing ever got too crazy, even though my room was right outside the elevator. They have double windows to drown out the outside noise (it's on a busy street, so this was a big plus!). The fitness room is super tiny, but there was never anyone else in there while I was there, so that was fine.The service was great. Everyone was super nice and helpful, housekeeping did a great job. The complimentary breakfast was a good touch. Remember that it's free, so don't expect bacon and eggs. It's cold cereal, toast, fruit, juices and coffee. If you want more options, check out Mel's diner next door!Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brindley
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 5, 2010

Good hotel with resonable price

Good location and I can go to union square on foot for about ten minutes. Large bed and clean room. However the room is not big enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ten minutes walk to union square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carol P
Business
Fairfield, IA
Aug 4, 2010

Very Nice!

I really liked this hotel. It is pretty close to the City Hall and the Union Square. You might hear that this is not a nice neighborhood, but the hotel is not that close the the bad neighborhood. The staff is friendly and helpful and helped me plan my days and find the best ways to visit the places I wanted to. I definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is 6/7 blocks from the Union Square and Macy's, Nike Town, Zara, Victoria's Secret etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rocklin, CA
Aug 3, 2008

Great Customer Service

Upon arrival when the Hotel Saw we had small children with us, they tried to move us to a non-smoking room. There were none availiable. So the young lady helping us instead gave us Free parking for our stay. She was very helpful and my Grand Children loved the Hotel. Yes we would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Mels dinner just down from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, BC
Jun 6, 2011

Excellent stay

Went to San Francisco for the weekend, The Opal is an excellent downtown choice. Very clean rooms, comfortable bed, TV with lots of channels. Good staff and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on seeing Alcatraz, book in advance, as the likelihood of it being sold out for days increases as you get further into tourist season. Don't expect to just walk to the pier and expect to get on a tour boat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Costa Mesa
May 25, 2008

good location and excellent value

Our experience at the Opal was excellent. The staff let us do an early check-in and also held a key at the desk for another member of our party. The hotel has a Max's diner downstairs, which is open very late, and a movie theater next door, as well as several bus lines just outside. The rooms were small, but comfortable, and very quiet with attractive furnishings. We will absolutely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top