The Opal San Francisco ★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$89
avg/night
Rate based on
Check-in: Feb 8, 2016 Check-out: Feb 9, 2016
3.5 /5
Overall score
82%
Would recommend
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Overview

Union Square is one of the most visited areas in the country, and booking your stay at The Opal in San Francisco puts you within a mile of this historic area. The Opal was originally built in 1908 and still has the timeless architecture and elegant ambiance that it was originally known for. The hotel has kept with the times by undergoing renovations that include complimentary Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the hotel and modern fitness facility. You ll be able to choose from three different luxurious rooms, but remember to check their website for special packages and deals running during the time of your visit.

Highlights

Key Facts

A mile away at Union Square, you ll find fine dining restaurants, cafes, art galleries and shopping for men, women and children. Union Square isn't the only attraction nearby The Opal. Less than 3 miles away is the famed Fisherman s Wharf where you can spend the day right on the San Francisco bay. Fisherman s Wharf is filled with street performers, artists and incredible seafood restaurants. It's also home to more of San Francisco s historical areas. You can book a boat tour of Alcatraz Island, famous for housing some of America s most notorious criminals, or tour the SS Jeremiah O Brien, a classic World War II battleship.

Dining

Mels Drive In Diner
Classic American Food - 1950 Diner

Recommendations for you

Guest score 3.7 / 5
$109
Guest score 3.1 / 5
$90
Guest score 3.8 / 5
$134
Guest score 4.3 / 5
$159
Guest score 4.0 / 5
$175
Guest score 3.5 / 5
$149

Amenities

Featured

  • High-speed internet

General

  • Air conditioned
  • Free local telephone calls
  • Elevators

Dining

  • Continental breakfast
  • Restaurant
  • Coffee shop
  • Meal plan - continental
  • Family plan

Services

  • 24 hour front desk
  • Maid service
  • Guest laundromat
  • Concierge desk
  • ATM/Cash machine
  • Security
  • In-Room Safe

Internet

  • High-speed internet

Parking

  • Parking

Accessibility

  • Accessible facilities
  • Accessible rooms

Room

  • Temperature control
  • Electronic door locks
  • International direct dial
  • Sprinklers in rooms

Reviews

3.5 /5 Overall score

82% Would recommend

  • Amenities: 3.3/5
  • Cleanliness: 3.9/5
  • Hotel staff: 4.1/5
  • Comfort: 3.7/5
  • Location: 3.7/5
  • Value: 3.8/5

Great for a quick visit

Would recommend Thu, Dec 24, 2015
There was a group of us trying to meet up in SF. Didn't plan on hanging out in the hotel much, just needed a nice, clean place to lay our heads while we hung out together in the city. This was perfect. The staff was also great and super accommodating!

| Philadelphia Friends

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Great savings

Would recommend Tue, Dec 22, 2015
This was a great value for San Francisco. Even parking was cheaper. We spent 8 days here. Breakfasts were a great savings with hard boiled eggs and toast, yogurt, pastries. Coffee was plentiful and better than average. I would compare this to European small hotels. Beautiful lobby, close to buses and Union Square, small but adequate rooms. Room cleaning was a bit slow but thorough. Front desk was friendly and helpful. Mel's Diner was connected through the lobby and was a fun retro experience.

| St Paul Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Sightseeing

Would recommend Tue, Dec 15, 2015
The staff were extremely helpful & knowledgeable and nothing was too much trouble. It was good value for money & I would definitely recommend as a place to stay.

| N/A Singles

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Location, Location, Location

Would recommend Fri, Dec 11, 2015
This is a good, if somewhat ordinary, hotel in an excellent location. My husband and I often stay here when we visit SF to go to the opera. The rooms and amenities range from adequate to quite good (2 to 3.5 stars) in my judgment, but the price is often way more reasonable than those of other convenient SF locations. It is an easy walk from here to the opera house and I generally find time for a bit longer walk to do some shopping as well. A few theaters are also within walkable distance.

| N/A Singles

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Value for money

Would recommend Fri, Dec 11, 2015
Very good value and location with friendly and helpful staff. No complaints other than basic breakfast selection becomes even less than basic on some days!

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

bad experience

Would not recommend Thu, Dec 10, 2015
I woulnt recommend this hotel. the agent gave us a stinky & scary room. when we went back to the counter & demanded to change our room. that guy said this room is much better. why didnt he give a better room when we checked the first time. the next day my wife told the lady agent that our room was ready to be cleaned & that lady rudely was telling us that they dont clean the room everyday. when we got back that evening our room wasnt cleaned. bad customer service & watch out if they assign you a room.

| Woodside Family

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Cali trip

Would not recommend Wed, Nov 25, 2015
The hotel is good, but to expensive for the style, the parking is 40, 00 a day. Staff is nice , hotel is clean but old

| N/A Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Work trip

Would recommend Tue, Nov 10, 2015
I was in SF for work and had a little time to do some walking around town to see the sights. I had never been to SF before and was unsure of what to expect from the hotel. The location was great for me. I really wanted to see the painted ladies and the haight and that was about a 2 mile walk from the hotel. I would not recommend walking from the hotel to Fisherman's Wharf unless you want a serious workout. The hills are almost perpendicular! The bus has a stop right outside the hotel and you can take it all the way down to the wharf. The hotel was definitely older BUT it was one of the cleanest hotels I have stayed in (and I stay in a lot of hotels for work travel). There were a few places where the wallpaper was peeling and the comforter on the bed was straight out of 1985 but it was clean and comfortable. There is also a great restaurant called Mel's Diner on the first floor of the hotel with amazing burgers and milkshakes. The only thing I have to warn people about is the price of parking at the hotel. It is completely secure and very safe but it is $41 not including taxes per day. There are other parking garages around the area that are cheaper but if you want convenience then be prepared to shell out some bucks to park. Every single staff person I met was incredibly friendly and helpful. I really enjoyed my stay at The Opal and will definitely stay there when I come back for vacation.

| N/A Business

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Excellent family wedding

Would recommend Mon, Nov 9, 2015
I was invited to an SF wedding, and there was a large conference in town that prohibited the wedding party from reserving a specific block of rooms in one hotel. Although I was 8 blocks away from my family at Union Square, it allowed me to get in my Fitbit steps, and the room was great! The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly, and the continental breakfast was excellent. I would definitely stay there again.

| Washington Singles

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Awesome family trip

Would recommend Sun, Nov 8, 2015
Really enjoyed also very close to all amenities. Very nice breakfast. Staff was extremely helpful.

| N/A Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Top hotels

Nearby points of interest

Civic Centre 0.2 mi
Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption 0.2 mi
San Francisco City Hall 0.4 mi
Konko Church of San Francisco 0.5 mi
Japantown 0.5 mi
Pioneer's Monument 0.5 mi
San Francisco Symphony 0.5 mi
Japan Center 0.5 mi
Lafayette Park 0.6 mi
Haas Lilienthal House 0.6 mi
Grace Cathedral 0.6 mi
Kertesz Gallery 0.7 mi
Union Square 0.8 mi
Cable Car Museum 0.8 mi
SoMa 0.8 mi
Toomey Tourell Gallery 0.9 mi
Octagon House 0.9 mi
St Patrick's Church 1 mi
Old St Mary's Cathedral 1 mi
Don Soker Gallery 1.1 mi
Moscone Center 1.1 mi
Cartoon Art Museum 1.1 mi
San Francisco Museum of Modern Art 1.1 mi
Chinatown 1.1 mi
Lombard Street 1.1 mi
Transamerica Pyramid 1.2 mi
871 Fine Arts 1.2 mi
Ghirardelli Square 1.4 mi
Coit Tower 1.4 mi
Walter Adams Gallery 1.4 mi
Mission Dolores 1.5 mi
Hyde Street Pier 1.5 mi
North Beach 1.5 mi
Mission Delores 1.6 mi
Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum 1.6 mi
Wax Museum Entertainment Complex 1.6 mi
Ferry Building 1.6 mi
Musee Mecanique 1.7 mi
San Francisco Experience 1.7 mi
Aquarium of the Bay 1.7 mi
Underwater World 1.7 mi
ATT Park 1.7 mi
Haight Ashbury 1.7 mi
Port of San Francisco 1.7 mi
Pier 39 1.7 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 03:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

$89
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2016 Check-out: Feb 9, 2016