$155 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
885 reviews
Good price for location

Friendly and helpful staff. Large comfortable room. See full review

  • MarianaMC
  • Apr 27, 2014
The Opal Stay

We found The Opal very helpful and welcoming to all our request. Staff was very efficient and... See full review

  • Jan Combs
  • Apr 12, 2014
Historic hotel and spacious suites -- walking distance to Union Square

Dating back to 1908, this five-story Union Square hotel still boasts the stained glass windows, period antiques and other decorative touches that hearken back to a simpler time. Rooms are clean and efficient; spacious work desks are popular among business travelers. Other amenities include a complimentary on-site fitness center and 24-hour coffee and tea service, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet.

Highlights
  • Walking distance to shopping in Union Square
  • Historic architecture, decorative touches
  • 24-hour coffee and tea service
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
Rooms

Each of The Opal's 164 guest rooms features central air and heat, cable television and complimentary high-speed Internet. (There's also free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby.) Suites include small sitting areas with plush sofas. A handful of rooms have windows that look out onto the bustling Union

Features
The hotel has received a three-diamond rating from AAA and was selected as the Crescent Hotel and Resorts "Hotel of the Year" in 2008. A baby grand piano welcomes visitors to the lobby of The Opal -- a public area decorated to invoke the way it looked when the hotel debuted in 1908.

Elsewhere on the property is a 24-hour laundry facility (fees apply) and car rental desk (fees apply; rentals also can be facilitated by the concierge). Overnight parking is also available (fees apply).

All guests have complimentary access to a state-of-the-art on-site fitness center. Guests also are entitled to a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning.

After a long day exploring the city, grab a milkshake and a tuna melt at the on-site outpost of Mel's Drive-In, a 1950s-style diner that has become a San Francisco institution. The restaurant is open 24 hours on weekends.
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (18 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Policies and fees

Debit cards are not acceptable at check-in. Overnight Parking is available (FEES APPLY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7855 -122.4209
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 25.00, MI, W; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 22.10, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

The Opal San Francisco Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Jr Suite-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet
Executive Suite
King bed w-Living room Free Cont Brkfst-Wireless Internet Access
KING JUNIOR SUITE
ONE KING BED - SITTING AREA FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST BUFFET FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS
Deluxe King
Deluxe King - Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Room Free Continential Breakfast Buffet
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi

Dining

Mels Drive In Diner
Classic American Food - 1950 Diner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (885)

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
885 out of 885
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pete Zahut
Washington DC
Jun 12, 2013

Opal in early June

Excellent value, excellent location, excellent staff...room was clean and spacious (king-size bed, non-smoking, facing south on 4th floor)...staff was highly professional, courteous, and answered all our questions...breakfast was filling and simple (hard-boiled eggs, toast, bagels, cream cheese) and allowed us to save money for a nicer lunch...close to public transportation (including Muni buses and California/Van Ness cable car terminus a few blocks away)...EXTREMELY EASY ACCESS to FIsherman's Wharf, Civic Center/Union Square, and other locations. We were able to go to the wine hour on Wednesdays 5-6 where there were tons of cheese, crackers, and red and white wines (only a handful of people were there and the staff gave us the already opened bottles after the hour ended). As for location, it is indeed on the edge of the Tenderloin, but unlike other guests, we did not see or experience any 'unsavory characters' either during the day or at night (we stayed at Opal mid-week in early June). Absolutely plan to stay there again for our next trip to SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of cheap and filling ethnic (Thai, Indian) restaurants a few blocks east in Tenderloin (if you're willing to tolerate the sight of a few homeless people).

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carol P
Fairfield, IA
Aug 4, 2010

Very Nice!

I really liked this hotel. It is pretty close to the City Hall and the Union Square. You might hear that this is not a nice neighborhood, but the hotel is not that close the the bad neighborhood. The staff is friendly and helpful and helped me plan my days and find the best ways to visit the places I wanted to. I definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is 6/7 blocks from the Union Square and Macy's, Nike Town, Zara, Victoria's Secret etc.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 28, 2008

Clean and comfortable

The Opal is graet find for the price. The hotel is charming and the staff friendly. Our room overlooked Van Ness Ave. and was kinda noisy,but it was part of the city experience. The location was good, both close to Fishermans Warf and Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tommys across the street, good comfort food.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
me and my mom
redding, ca
Oct 1, 2009

fantastic mother/daughter getaway

I suprised my mom with tickets to a Giants game, and I had googled AT&T Park and hotels and the Opal came up. It was about 1.7 miles from the park, and right on Van Ness (hwy 101) running thru San Fransisco which made it extremely convenient. We were able to check in 3 hrs early and were given a free upgrade to a king size bed. The hotel was built in the early 1900's I believe and is very beautiful from the chandeliers in the entry to the stained glass window in the stairwells. Being that old it is a boutique hotel, and so very charming. The staff was warm and friendly. The continental breakfast was nice. There are 2 parking areas at the hotel, self parking with 24 hr a day in and out services. We were able to find parking places both times we left and came in, they are a bit small but you have to realize the location of the hotel. They offer a AAA discount for parking. The beds and pillows are very comfortable, so much so that my mom wondered if they would notice if she snuck a pillow home with her! She didn't try it by the way. I can't think of a single thing that the hotel could have done to make our stay more enjoyable, I highly recommend the Opal to anyone. My mom and I have many wonderful memories from this trip and the Opal is definitely one of them. Oh and the famous Mel's Diner is right next door, there is actually an inside door connecting it and the Opal and they are a 50's style restaurant and serve wonderful burgers, shakes, and fries, as well as a large menu of other items, they are open long hours as well. Anyway, all I can say is do yourself a favor and make part of your San Fransisco vacation a stay at the Opal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Anchorage, AK
Nov 30, 2007

Very Nice

Loved the hotel, check-in convience, and central location. Shared it with 3 sisters and it will be a memorable mini-vacation for all. Get there early and walk Golden Gate Park to build up an appetite and eat at your favorite restaurant i.e. California Culinary Inst. the best in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square, Macy's and other upscale stores, Thanksgiving through Christmas is best for holiday ambience.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, UT
Feb 10, 2008

Great Value for the money

Very nice. Very central location. The rooms were very clean. For the price it was great! We walked to the Warf, China town and Union square from our hotel. It took a while but definately doable if you like to walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chciago, IL
Apr 10, 2009

5 Day Stay in SF

Do not go here if you plan on driving, or using a car during your stay. Most people's problem with this hotel is the price and lack of parking. You won't need a car from here if you're visiting SF, anyway. Lots of buses are nearby, including the 47 which takes you straight to Fisherman's Wharf.I booked through Orbitz and was upgraded from a queen to a king-sized bed. True, the Opal is not the Ritz or the Hilton, but it's a good deal. It is in a more shady part of SF, but I always felt safe here. You need a key to even get into the building or you have to get buzzed in. Just be aware of your surroundings and you'll be okay.The room itself was clean, except for the carpeting, but nothing too bad. The walls are thin, but nothing ever got too crazy, even though my room was right outside the elevator. They have double windows to drown out the outside noise (it's on a busy street, so this was a big plus!). The fitness room is super tiny, but there was never anyone else in there while I was there, so that was fine.The service was great. Everyone was super nice and helpful, housekeeping did a great job. The complimentary breakfast was a good touch. Remember that it's free, so don't expect bacon and eggs. It's cold cereal, toast, fruit, juices and coffee. If you want more options, check out Mel's diner next door!Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jan Combs
Lenoir City, TN
Apr 12, 2014

The Opal Stay

We found The Opal very helpful and welcoming to all our request. Staff was very efficient and strived to meet our needs. Would return again and would recommend it to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Opal is centrally located the major attractions in the downtown area. Very easy to use bus, cable cars to get where you need to go.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Mar 1, 2008

thanks Opal!

Our first room was so smoky you could barely see through it. I aksed to move and they were so friendly about it. I think they were also a little perplexed because apparently it was a non-smoking room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

near mission, theaters, and city hall

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Oct 28, 2008

Clean and comfortable

The Opal is graet find for the price. The hotel is charming and the staff friendly. Our room overlooked Van Ness Ave. and was kinda noisy,but it was part of the city experience. The location was good, both close to Fishermans Warf and Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tommys across the street, good comfort food.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 18, 2007

Great Location Hotel

This was a nice hotel to stay at for the money. Location could not have been better. Staff was very friendly and hospitable upon check-in and out. Rooms were a bit small, however, since we only stayed overnight, it wasn't too uncomfortable. Cozy and clean, my family and I would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Restaurant is next door, and is so close, you can walk from the hotel into the eating establishment via a connecting door! Great all American food with friendly staff

Back to menu Return to top