$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

The-Opal-San-Francisco-Guest-Room
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
631 reviews
Great central location and price

Great hotel and location and very friendly staff. There are many restaurants and everything is... See full review

  • Katy world citizen
  • Aug 8, 2015
Back to the Past Adventure

PROS: The hotel is located very close to public transportation systems such as train and bus... See full review

  • Travel biz
  • Aug 8, 2015
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
General
The hotel has received a three-diamond rating from AAA and was selected as the Crescent Hotel and Resorts "Hotel of the Year" in 2008. A baby grand piano welcomes visitors to the lobby of The Opal -- a public area decorated to invoke the way it looked when the hotel debuted in 1908.

Elsewhere on the property is a 24-hour laundry facility (fees apply) and car rental desk (fees apply; rentals also can be facilitated by the concierge). Overnight parking is also available (fees apply).

All guests have complimentary access to a state-of-the-art on-site fitness center. Guests also are entitled to a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning.

After a long day exploring the city, grab a milkshake and a tuna melt at the on-site outpost of Mel's Drive-In, a 1950s-style diner that has become a San Francisco institution. The restaurant is open 24 hours on weekends.
Location

Dating back to 1908, this five-story Union Square hotel still boasts the stained glass windows, period antiques and other decorative touches that hearken back to a simpler time. Rooms are clean and efficient; spacious work desks are popular among business travelers. Other amenities include a complimentary on-site fitness center and 24-hour coffee and tea service, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet.

Dining
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (18 minutes walking)
Rooms

Each of The Opal's 164 guest rooms features central air and heat, cable television and complimentary high-speed Internet. (There's also free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby.) Suites include small sitting areas with plush sofas. A handful of rooms have windows that look out onto the bustling Union

Property features
The hotel has received a three-diamond rating from AAA and was selected as the Crescent Hotel and Resorts "Hotel of the Year" in 2008. A baby grand piano welcomes visitors to the lobby of The Opal -- a public area decorated to invoke the way it looked when the hotel debuted in 1908.

Elsewhere on the property is a 24-hour laundry facility (fees apply) and car rental desk (fees apply; rentals also can be facilitated by the concierge). Overnight parking is also available (fees apply).

All guests have complimentary access to a state-of-the-art on-site fitness center. Guests also are entitled to a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning.

After a long day exploring the city, grab a milkshake and a tuna melt at the on-site outpost of Mel's Drive-In, a 1950s-style diner that has become a San Francisco institution. The restaurant is open 24 hours on weekends.
Highlights

The hotel's downtown location puts you by popular San Francisco hot spots like Japan Town, Union Square, and Nob Hill. Over a dozen restaurants of varying cuisines are located within a few miles of the hotel. Indulge in fine cuisine at the Turtle Tower Restaurant or the ultimate in fresh seafood at Wayo Sushi. If you've had enough time on the town, enjoy everything the hotel has to offer. The modern fitness center has all the state-of-the-art exercise equipment necessary to keep up on your fitness routine. The concierge service will help you book tickets to local attractions or events while helping guide you around town. 

Nearby attractions
  • Walking distance to shopping in Union Square
  • Historic architecture, decorative touches
  • 24-hour coffee and tea service
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
Transportation

Historic hotel with spacious suites near Union Square

Policies

Debit cards are not acceptable at check-in. Overnight Parking is available (FEES APPLY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Opal San Francisco also booked these hotels.

★★★
$164
3.7 / 5 220 reviews
★★★
$138
3.1 / 5 174 reviews
★★★
$179
3.7 / 5 223 reviews
★★★★
$159
4.3 / 5 225 reviews
★★★★
$209
4.0 / 5 508 reviews
★★★
$165
3.5 / 5 131 reviews
★★★
$160
3.5 / 5 55 reviews
★★★
$191
3.5 / 5 139 reviews
★★★★
$194
4.1 / 5 330 reviews

The Opal San Francisco Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Jr Suite-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet
Executive Suite
King bed w-Living room Free Cont Brkfst-Wireless Internet Access
KING JUNIOR SUITE
ONE KING BED - SITTING AREA FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST BUFFET FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS
Deluxe King
Deluxe King - Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Room Free Continential Breakfast Buffet
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.8 mi

Dining

Mels Drive In Diner
Classic American Food - 1950 Diner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
631 out of 631
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ashwin
Family
Plainsboro, NJ, USA
Sep 1, 2011

The Opal Experienec

It was one of the worst Hotel, I had ever visted. Toilet Flush, Light switch, AC didn't worked at all. Don't stay here at all. Better choose other motels. No direct parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Missing Boots
Friends
San Francisco, CA, USA
Feb 28, 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE!

Now I know why the price was so cheap....they steal your belongings! When I came back to my room the second night, my boots were missing. I filed a complaint and they pretended to be concerned. They told me their cleaning staff had been with the hotel for a long time and would not steal. Did a magic fairy take my boots? They made me feel as though I was lying. All I know is that I will never stay there and I will make sure to tell my friends and family about this inccident.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
linzi
Couples
san diego, ca
Jul 18, 2012

Not worth it

Did not feel safe in the hotel location, very small and simple room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not go out walking near this hotel at night

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
not the opal
Family
San Francisco
Aug 4, 2012

It was really bad

The location was not convenient the parking was terrible for $34 and the sinks leaked. The rooms were old and there was broken doors in the hallway. The noise was all night long. It was not worth the rating I saw on the web site before I booked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mmmmmm55
Couples
Portland, or
Aug 12, 2012

Not good

Thats about it. I wouldn't stay here again. Not close to the hub, sketchy area, rude staff, just say no.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pn2do
Couples
León, gto. México
Dec 26, 2012

Very bad experience to stay in SF

I was thiking to surprise to my wife, but was a very bad experience. The neiborhood is very dangerous, we had a very bad experience. The parking in the hotel is very expensive, they never told us about some charge for parking, and when we left the room, they tell us that we need pay 30 dollars per day, Very bad...I don´t want to tell more about the hotel, but definitly I don´t recommend for nothing this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Freezing family
Family
LA, CA
Dec 30, 2012

Not as expected

The Opal San Francisco is a very old hotel with very small rooms. There is a weird smell throughout the hotel. It is located in a neighborhood full of homeless people, which make it scary to walk on at dawn. What I didn't like about it is the extra fee of $35 per night for parking your car in their garage. I wasn't aware of that and I think most of the people don't know about it either. Breakfast is not bad, but it could be better if it included at least cereal and milk. I definitely would not stay again in this hotel. I think there are better options, just take your time to shop around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss out the Muir Park, the redwoods are amazing and being there is a great experience.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dvbar
Single
Germany
Apr 9, 2013

Not really worth the price

I was there on my own and the first thing I noticed is that walking around the area wasn't safe... so if you're traveling alone and without a car this is not an ideal area to stay: a lot of homeless people, drug addicts, gangs in the area. Don't walk thorough the Geary st. not a safe area. The room was also not worth the price I paid $140. Wouldn't recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
westbounddown
Couples
San Francisco
Apr 13, 2013

never again

Knowledgeable and friendly staff. The building was old and outdated. The complementary breakfast wasn't worth eating. I would not recommend this hotel to a friend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not rent a car. Use public transit or taxis

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Family in vacation
Family
Los Angeles, California
Apr 15, 2013

Not great

It was one of the cheapest hotels we could find, but it was worse than we expected for the price. It is close to many nice destinations, but the area right next to the hotel is bad and considered dangerous by night. The entire hotel is non-smoking but the room we got smelled cigarette. We asked to change and they only had one other room available. The breakfast space is small so finding a place to sit is not easy and the food options are limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top