The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
886 reviews
Good price for location

Friendly and helpful staff. Large comfortable room. See full review

  • MarianaMC
  • Apr 27, 2014
The Opal Stay

We found The Opal very helpful and welcoming to all our request. Staff was very efficient and... See full review

  • Jan Combs
  • Apr 12, 2014
Historic hotel and spacious suites -- walking distance to Union Square

Dating back to 1908, this five-story Union Square hotel still boasts the stained glass windows, period antiques and other decorative touches that hearken back to a simpler time. Rooms are clean and efficient; spacious work desks are popular among business travelers. Other amenities include a complimentary on-site fitness center and 24-hour coffee and tea service, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet.

Highlights
  • Walking distance to shopping in Union Square
  • Historic architecture, decorative touches
  • 24-hour coffee and tea service
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
Rooms

Each of The Opal's 164 guest rooms features central air and heat, cable television and complimentary high-speed Internet. (There's also free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby.) Suites include small sitting areas with plush sofas. A handful of rooms have windows that look out onto the bustling Union

Features
The hotel has received a three-diamond rating from AAA and was selected as the Crescent Hotel and Resorts "Hotel of the Year" in 2008. A baby grand piano welcomes visitors to the lobby of The Opal -- a public area decorated to invoke the way it looked when the hotel debuted in 1908.

Elsewhere on the property is a 24-hour laundry facility (fees apply) and car rental desk (fees apply; rentals also can be facilitated by the concierge). Overnight parking is also available (fees apply).

All guests have complimentary access to a state-of-the-art on-site fitness center. Guests also are entitled to a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning.

After a long day exploring the city, grab a milkshake and a tuna melt at the on-site outpost of Mel's Drive-In, a 1950s-style diner that has become a San Francisco institution. The restaurant is open 24 hours on weekends.
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (18 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Policies and fees

Debit cards are not acceptable at check-in. Overnight Parking is available (FEES APPLY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Opal San Francisco Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Jr Suite-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet
Executive Suite
King bed w-Living room Free Cont Brkfst-Wireless Internet Access
KING JUNIOR SUITE
ONE KING BED - SITTING AREA FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST BUFFET FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS
Deluxe King
Deluxe King - Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Room Free Continential Breakfast Buffet
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Hotel Map

37.7855 -122.4209
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 25.00, MI, W; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 22.10, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi

Dining

Mels Drive In Diner
Classic American Food - 1950 Diner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (886)

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
886 out of 886
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
DC
Oct 27, 2009

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

The hotel location is excellent. It is walking distance to all the attractions. The staff was very helpful and the continental breakfast was very convenient. We were pleased until we found bed bugs. Even though this hotel is clean, they still have the infestation which is hard to get rid of. The hotel staff did their best to get us a new room (upgraded to a suite) but it was still disturbing. The area outside the hotel at night is very sketchy...we saw prostitutes only two streets down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

You will walk a lot in San Francisco no matter what. This hotel was in a GREAT location, close city hall, the Painted ladies, North Beach, Lombard Street, we even walked to the Full House, house.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Happy hour
Boston, MA
Mar 16, 2012

Night out in the city

We were looking for a nice, conveniently located place for a night out in San Francisco. Although the Wednesday Wine Social was a definite plus from 5-6pm, the room definitely needs to be updated and did not have a sense that it was very clean. I would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dottorf83
Torino, Italy
Nov 26, 2009

Very bad district, parking charge

The hotel was nice, we booked it at a very good price,less than 60$/night but...when we arrived there they told us that the parking was not free but was 30$/day more! so our good deal went to the hell, we had to pay 90$ a day for a very very bad located hotel, in the most dangerous district of San Francisco. The room was clean, the personal was quite freindly and the breakfast good. Just we were searching for a cheap hotel and this was not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mimi and Pappap
San Fransicso CA
Aug 2, 2012

Was not what I expected

The bedroom was very small but clean although the bathroom quite large. Breakfast was horrible. We did not eat at the hotel and had to pay for our breakfast somewhere else. There was a fee to use the hotel computer and the parking fee was very high. The air conditioner blew directly on the bed and although we tried to change directions of the air, we could not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Pier 39. Lots of places to eat and shop, fresh fruit and vegetables available for purchase. Alcatraz Island cruise available here as well as many other attractions.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gerb1000
Raleigh, NC
Jun 22, 2014

Old Hotel far from tourist stops

The hotel looks and feels a little tired. The room is small and does not have that fresh clean feeling but was clean enough I suppose. The thermostat was new, but did not let you keep the fan circulating. At least the window opened (onto an alley) to let in fresh air (and city noise). The bathroom ventilation was also a window, but obviously you didn't want to leave that open while you were using it. The mattresses were a little squeaky. The neighborhood looks a little sketchy, although the hotel does sit on a N-S and E-W bus line so that is a plus. But give yourself a good 30 minutes on the bus to get to the fisherman's wharf area. The bus stops at every intersection and you could probably walk faster than the bus (except for the steep hills). The staff was helpful - they gave us softer pillows after the first night (the original ones were hard and flat) and they let us park for the old price of $33/night (they had just raised it to $55). The continental breakfast was adequate (I've had much worse). They also had a wine and cheese hour one evening. Oh, and they did have a coin operated washer / dryer by the exercise room in the basement which was handy. We were there for a family vacation so this probably wasn't the best option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CB Business traveler
Business
Marblehead, MA
Jan 14, 2013

Tired, needs updating

I stayed four nights at the Opal recently. I found the hotel decor in need of updating. My room was generally clean with the decor (carpet, furniture, bed) in need of updating. It also had an unpleasant odor, similar to one after your house is fumigated. Given all this, I was disappointed in the accommodations and will not stay again at the Opal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
westchester, NY
Feb 2, 2011

good location, average hotel

this hotel is in a great location but is a non-frills, really ordinary place. rooms are old-fashioned, small tvs, noisy fan in bathrooms, no bathtubs, bed linen was not too comfortable (itchy & hard)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the hop-on, hop off bus leaves near the hotel. $35 for a 2 day pass, well worth it.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SF- traveller
Denver, Colorado
Jan 10, 2010

Opal-Strong Smell

It was eeh! It was raining and we were told to park at the AMC parking lot where the price was changed overnight! We ended up paying more that what the hotel had given us. Also, the hotel has a very strong smell...I can't quite describe it...but it is strong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

AMC theatre is right next door.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Just another San Fran Tourist
OR
Apr 5, 2010

Really?

We stayed on a Monday night. We ate at the diner that is attached to the hotel. The food was not good and the service was awful. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, but parking was outrageous--$25 plus a parking tax. The architecture of the building was pretty, but we quickly found out that walking around the area after dark is not such a good idea. I was glad the car was parked in the lot so I could guarantee it would be there in the morning. The hotel would be fine for a business trip stay, but I wouldn't recommend it for tourist trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Feb 14, 2011

Only ok location, smelly room

Friendly staff Decent breakfast Smelly and ugly room Uncomfortable beds

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top