$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
610 reviews
great location

pleasant staff, decent breakfast and good for bus routes See full review

  • craiggus
  • Sep 7, 2014
Good price for location

Friendly and helpful staff. Large comfortable room. See full review

  • MarianaMC
  • Apr 27, 2014
Historic hotel and spacious suites -- walking distance to Union Square

Dating back to 1908, this five-story Union Square hotel still boasts the stained glass windows, period antiques and other decorative touches that hearken back to a simpler time. Rooms are clean and efficient; spacious work desks are popular among business travelers. Other amenities include a complimentary on-site fitness center and 24-hour coffee and tea service, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet.

Highlights
  • Walking distance to shopping in Union Square
  • Historic architecture, decorative touches
  • 24-hour coffee and tea service
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
Rooms

Each of The Opal's 164 guest rooms features central air and heat, cable television and complimentary high-speed Internet. (There's also free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby.) Suites include small sitting areas with plush sofas. A handful of rooms have windows that look out onto the bustling Union

Features
The hotel has received a three-diamond rating from AAA and was selected as the Crescent Hotel and Resorts "Hotel of the Year" in 2008. A baby grand piano welcomes visitors to the lobby of The Opal -- a public area decorated to invoke the way it looked when the hotel debuted in 1908.

Elsewhere on the property is a 24-hour laundry facility (fees apply) and car rental desk (fees apply; rentals also can be facilitated by the concierge). Overnight parking is also available (fees apply).

All guests have complimentary access to a state-of-the-art on-site fitness center. Guests also are entitled to a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning.

After a long day exploring the city, grab a milkshake and a tuna melt at the on-site outpost of Mel's Drive-In, a 1950s-style diner that has become a San Francisco institution. The restaurant is open 24 hours on weekends.
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (18 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Policies and fees

Debit cards are not acceptable at check-in. Overnight Parking is available (FEES APPLY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7855 -122.4209
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 25.00, MI, W; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 22.10, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Opal San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Opal San Francisco Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Jr Suite-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet
Executive Suite
King bed w-Living room Free Cont Brkfst-Wireless Internet Access
KING JUNIOR SUITE
ONE KING BED - SITTING AREA FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST BUFFET FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS
Deluxe King
Deluxe King - Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Room Free Continential Breakfast Buffet
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi

Dining

Mels Drive In Diner
Classic American Food - 1950 Diner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (610)

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
610 out of 610
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Stoclton , CA
May 23, 2011

Nice place, good service, but........

The opal is a fine hotel. The immediate area gives you a lot of what you need to have fun without even traveling more than 5 blocks. There is night clubs, dance clubs, crepe lounge, good food and some shopping behind it on Polk. Feel secure, and parking is good. Having said that, our stay was terrible. Not to the fault of The opal, but 20+ 18 year old check in and cause nothing short of chaos for the entire night. I called down 3 times, and was informed the cops were coming. It took 4 hours to get control of this, including me threatening to handle it myself. They comped our room for that night and the general manager was very accommodating to make this right. None the less, we were a wreck the entire next day because we didn't get any sleep. I would stay there again but not in the back courtyard area around the parking, that is a joke out there. I gave the staff 2 stars because they were not in any way prepared or capable of handling the chaos that night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

On Polk St. behind the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PB86
Nevada
Apr 10, 2014

Average, I've been in better for less $$...

Pretty average hotel. It's got the standard TV and wifi in the room. Breakfast is just juice/coffee and bread. Other (cheaper) hotels I've been in had eggs and sausage or bacon, so I was pretty disappointed about that. You have to pay extra to park there, which might be something all hotels do in SF (you might want to research that if you're gonna drive because it's NOT included in your price). And their $30 a night parking lot is like sardines in a can. Location was great because it was right in the middle of town, so every tourist attraction could be easily accessed by 1-2 bus rides. It's in a pretty safe place, compared to other hotels in ghetto streets. No refrigerator in the room or microwave so don't bother with take out. No complimentary water (don't know if that matters to you). We always came back to a clean room. Factoring in the parking fee, I'd look for somewhere else first when it comes to value because it's a pretty ordinary hotel, nothing special besides its convenient location. If you're not driving (which is advisable, because driving is a pain in SF) and you plan on enjoying your breakfast in local spots then this is a good place to sleep at night and leave in the morning to enjoy the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't drive in SF, you waste a lot of time looking for a place to park! Bus rides are cheap and part of the experience!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wyoming
May 19, 2011

Just fine

Worked on the computer in my room and slept. Hot water was a little slow in coming. Everything else was fine. The help was friendly, courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Sep 29, 2010

Opal Hotel San Francisco

This was a one night stopover in San Fran on our way to Hawaii for our Honeymoon. We thought we would take a day to tour the city. Well for a random Tuesday in September it was IMPOSSIBLE to find a room (there was a conference going on). I booked a 3 star by the hotel and they called me a couple nights before saying they over booked and could only offer me a 2 star roach motel so I went [...] and LUCKILY found a room here. Granted I spent 2x as much as I originally did with the 3 star by the airport... but it turned out being the best thing for us to stay IN the city to bounce around a bit on our short layover.The room was small and not super clean or up to date but FINE for one night and a place to stay. I was kind of skeeved by the bedding being old/not the cleanest. The hotel definitely has charm - I almost felt like I was staying in Europe, slightly because of the old feel. The staff was relatively friendly, I've seen many reviews they were rude but most were cordial to us. When we checked in our carpet was SOAKING wet so I called down to reception. They said they clean it for their guests, which sounded weird. I figured someone spilled something and they HAD to do it, but again we were lucky to get a room so I let a lot of things slide here. But they were nice and offered to send up a fan, etc.The location is pretty convenient. About 30-40$ to the airport and pretty short cab rides to the piers. The best thing by far about our stay was the free continental breakfast. It was simple, but the coffee, OJ and whole wheat toast were super good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Gothenburg, Sweden.
Oct 1, 2009

2 nights in SF

Room was ok but the view was to a boring dirty wall. Staff was not really friendly and was almost like they expected a certain type of guests that didnt fit with us. Breakfast was served to late so we didnt get any. Good with a small exercise room and lanudry room. The town buses came just outside, but the hotel was abit to close to the nast areas downtown with all strange wanderers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Try out the whale tours, that was really amazing. We saw 15 whales and that was the best thing with our 4 weeks in CA. [...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
ventura, ca
Oct 19, 2009

Old & Friendly

the Opal was quaint. it is an old hotel so it can be loud. i could hear other guests between the walls and the water running loudly from other rooms. the opal parking was sold out so we had to park in an expensive garage across the street. the location is great though and union square is within walkable distance. i was kind of disappointed the bedding. the pillowcases were dingy and the shower in the bathroom leaked. but, for the price, it was pretty good. all the staff that i encountered was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Somewhere in, New Mexico
Feb 6, 2010

Nice and quiet.

Good location to the cable car. and walking distance from union square. Also close to Michell brother!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ck vacation
Colorado
Apr 19, 2009

not that classic

The hotel has been remodeled at some point in the past(the term fix and flip comes to mind- I would not call it CLASSICAL and with the remodel they did not add anything to deal with the issue of sound between rooms- its like being in the same room. If you set up for a shuttle, make sure you confirm the reservation yourself, the desk staff did not call it in- almost made me miss my plane. Hotel room(outside of possible noise) was fine for the price- seemed clean, linens were a little worn but clean, Watch out for homeless, great if you do not have a car(otherwise 28 dollars a day), Wine and Cheese tasting ok to have but not worth making sure you are around for- basic,breakfast stuff,toast, bagel,cereal,fruit,coffee,tang like juice, LOTS of TOUR BUSES,go to breakfast early because later you will be fighting the germans,french,or Japanese,from the tour buses. Get a Bus Pass, eat across Van Ness at the Bar-cash only place. Front Desk crew seemed ok when I checked in(was kinda leary because of previous reviews)-only while I checked out I had problems because of the desk dropping the ball with my reservation for the transport back to the airport. Once Again LOTS Of TOUR BUSES could cause a really long check in, Breakfast AREA WAS CLEAN! Room a Little worn but clean enough for me! The bed I slept on was O.k. Beware of paper thin walls,Tried to keep my tv volume down. Had a outside view, fifth floor, could watch the Homless Insane Guy and Lady Dancing each night on Geary before I went to sleep. Take MUNI buses to get out of area to better parts of town. The buses seemed really full usually from around four to six-thirty. A group of people should have no problem walking around- one or two, be alittle more carefull at night. SHOP AROUND If you get a great price then this Hotel is O.K. and once you are inside the hotel seems to be safe. The Driver who dropped me off had no clue what hotel the opal was, I remembered somebody had called it the old le Quenta Inn he seemed to know were that had been. Once again buy a MUNI bus pass!!! If you do take the shuttle give yourself a extra hr- the can spend forty minutes going around and picking other people up before they head to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

AS you walk, out of the front door, look across the street to the bar on the corner of Geary, and Van Ness, A CASH Only place, but, the portions are huge, and not pricy-- NOT the best, but better than some, and huge portions, Next- Walk down to Powell and Market next to the cable car turnaround and buy a one,three,five,seven, MUNI Pass,This will get you unlimited travel,on the cable cars, and bus system, I would buy a map for three dollars- the map shows more bus routes than the free one, take the 71 to long beach-not as many people on that end of the beach, The five ends within a block of the beach right next to a SAFEWAY (picnic on the beach) The little hole in the wall mexican food place-about a half block east of hotel on Geary,not bad take out(like all small places this could change) But walking back from the theatre,stop in for takeout. You will not need the exercise room, walking around town will keep you thin, Walk the beach from the end of the 71 line on up to the number five, line, beware of walking the golden gate park- its a very, very, long park, use the buses that travel on the north side of park. I started hoping on buses, to see were they would take me, had a great time, saw a lot more of the city.- The Buses are like riding a drunk horse,walking on a ship,so hang on, and try not to back seat drive. Look out the window be flexable-you can always take the bus back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Palmetto Traveler
Business
South Carolina
Mar 7, 2011

Good for the price

Considering it was by far the cheapest hotel in downtown San Francisco, it was surprisingly good. If you're on a budget, stay here. But there were negatives: 1. Very slow Internet access -- walls too thick to accommodate wireless, I was told, so only slow Ethernet into rooms 2. A little run down -- top drawer handle came off the first time I pulled it; outlet on lamp didn't work so had to crawl under table to plug in my laptop. 3. No view -- the hotel is U shaped, I got a room inside the U, meaning my view was of a wall 4. Noisy -- in part no doubt due to having a room inside U, street sounds amplified, even up on the 5th floor 5. Parking -- tiny spaces, and I was driving a van. Took 5 minutes to park/pull out. Also very iffy parking out front during registration as it's reserved for buses & cabs. I personally had no problems with homeless. They're all over San Fran, of course, didn't bother me and good hotel security means no one comes in who doesn't belong

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Australia, Sydney
Jul 22, 2011

Okay experience

Staff were nice and informative, hotel was in okay condition(relatively old), location was good if you can bypass the homeless people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Tommys Joint across the road! great food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search