$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
711 out of 711
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travel Inspector
Business
San Francisco
Jan 4, 2010

No Hot Water!!!!!

Don't expect the water to be hot for a shower. I'm a building engineer and when the onsite maintenance guy told me that it was from a lot of showers being taken all at once, I snickered at him, since I had already called the front desk 5 minutes prior and they told me that no one else has complained about only having warm water. If this was the case, you will NOT get a hot shower here due to an undersized boiler!!! I have to say that they did offer me another room to shower in, but I denied due to what their maintenance guy told me. I am not recommending this hotel only due the no hot water issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little diner right next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
Oct 1, 2007

Good Location

This hotel would receive 4 stars for the location and quality of the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
keep going mom
Business
san jose,ca
Feb 23, 2011

location is a bit shaky but friendly ser

Close to Yoshi's and Golden Gate Park. Eat at Tommy's, an old style deli that has been around for years. It is right across the street. Had the best pastrami sandwich and this place has a big selection of beers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Yoshi's and Golden Gate Park just minutes away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gerb1000
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jun 22, 2014

Old Hotel far from tourist stops

The hotel looks and feels a little tired. The room is small and does not have that fresh clean feeling but was clean enough I suppose. The thermostat was new, but did not let you keep the fan circulating. At least the window opened (onto an alley) to let in fresh air (and city noise). The bathroom ventilation was also a window, but obviously you didn't want to leave that open while you were using it. The mattresses were a little squeaky. The neighborhood looks a little sketchy, although the hotel does sit on a N-S and E-W bus line so that is a plus. But give yourself a good 30 minutes on the bus to get to the fisherman's wharf area. The bus stops at every intersection and you could probably walk faster than the bus (except for the steep hills). The staff was helpful - they gave us softer pillows after the first night (the original ones were hard and flat) and they let us park for the old price of $33/night (they had just raised it to $55). The continental breakfast was adequate (I've had much worse). They also had a wine and cheese hour one evening. Oh, and they did have a coin operated washer / dryer by the exercise room in the basement which was handy. We were there for a family vacation so this probably wasn't the best option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
travel dad 14
Business
san fran, cali
Aug 2, 2014

deal gone wrong

booked room on deal last min, was giving smallest room,no fridge, no microwave, elevator was broken. Had my 1 yr old daughter with and wasn't adequately accommodated. all in all its a dated hotel. will never stay again. best thing about place is its access to Mel's diner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Mel's Famous Diner is excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Susan A from LA
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 7, 2014

Opal Hotel SF Review

The Opal Hotel in San Francisco was not what I am accustomed to. The hotel is older and definitely needs a more modern upgrade. The location was a distance from where the event we came in to town for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Union Square provides excellent shopping choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
linzi
Business
san diego, ca
Sep 16, 2014

Decent

Great value but questionable hotel location and room size.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Small room

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rangergirl5
Business
California
Oct 8, 2014

Under amenities parking was listed, however it was an additional $41 (plus $50 deposit for remote)

Sketchy block, annex room outside A/C didn't work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Continental breakfast free offered, is dented fruit, stale bread and boiled eggs. Luckily there is a Mel's diner attached to the hotel, but they charge $12 for an omelet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frank Nestaval
Business
BRADENTON
Jan 12, 2015

Family trip

this hotel is just by the airport and suitable max. for 2 nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rockky
Business
Houston, Texas
Nov 19, 2014

Below than average

There were no bath tub in bathroom. They have provided room which had bathroom for handicapped persons.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top