$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
711 out of 711
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DebGal
Lancaster, Pa
Jun 23, 2013

great place

Nice old building, great location, and Brad was so helpful with things to see and do!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Golden Gate national Park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 9, 2009

Nice hotel for a good price

Very nice hotel in a convenient location, easy accessible public transportation, very clean room and spotless bathroom, great/real breakfast and a nice atmosphere created by international guests. Internet included and wonderful help from the service with printing reservations made online. The neighborhood requires caution after dusk, but it is nothing surprising after visiting other big cities around the world. Great deal for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Everything is easy accessible from this place using public transportation, 15-20 minute walk to the centre of Downtown; I would say this is a tourist place -- if you want to stay with tourists it is your place, if you are looking for 5 star hotel with all that pampering required -- pay for it somewhere else and no one will miss you there. This place is cute and nice and exceeded our expectations!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 4, 2011

Best deal ever

Nice room, amazing price, and awesome location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
me and my mom
Business
redding, ca
Oct 1, 2009

fantastic mother/daughter getaway

I suprised my mom with tickets to a Giants game, and I had googled AT&T Park and hotels and the Opal came up. It was about 1.7 miles from the park, and right on Van Ness (hwy 101) running thru San Fransisco which made it extremely convenient. We were able to check in 3 hrs early and were given a free upgrade to a king size bed. The hotel was built in the early 1900's I believe and is very beautiful from the chandeliers in the entry to the stained glass window in the stairwells. Being that old it is a boutique hotel, and so very charming. The staff was warm and friendly. The continental breakfast was nice. There are 2 parking areas at the hotel, self parking with 24 hr a day in and out services. We were able to find parking places both times we left and came in, they are a bit small but you have to realize the location of the hotel. They offer a AAA discount for parking. The beds and pillows are very comfortable, so much so that my mom wondered if they would notice if she snuck a pillow home with her! She didn't try it by the way. I can't think of a single thing that the hotel could have done to make our stay more enjoyable, I highly recommend the Opal to anyone. My mom and I have many wonderful memories from this trip and the Opal is definitely one of them. Oh and the famous Mel's Diner is right next door, there is actually an inside door connecting it and the Opal and they are a 50's style restaurant and serve wonderful burgers, shakes, and fries, as well as a large menu of other items, they are open long hours as well. Anyway, all I can say is do yourself a favor and make part of your San Fransisco vacation a stay at the Opal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KIM KIEU
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 27, 2009

Amazing Trip

You still can feel outside noise, and people talk and walk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Merdi H
Business
Kansas City
Jan 14, 2014

Helpful Staff

I thought the staff was all very helpful. They had good suggestions for food and entertainment in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Merdi H
Business
Kansas City
Jan 14, 2014

Great Staff

I especially liked the staff at the Opal. They had several recommendations when asked, about food and entertainment choices around the area. They were all pleasant and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KonnieKatt
Business
Mtn. View, CA
Jan 18, 2014

Excellent location

I like to walk, take Muni, and visit museums and theaters when I'm in SF. The very central location (corner of Van Ness & Geary) was perfect for that. On Wednesday evening, complimentary wine and cheese was served in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ashski4
Business
Modesto,CA
Jan 27, 2014

Clean and comfortable

This hotel is clean with friendly staff. Our room was small and outdated but that added to its charm. The only major thing that I could really complain about was the radiator. It was quite warm in our room in January and we ended up sleeping with the window open. However for the price we were happy. The bed was surprisingly comfortable and so were the pillows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Betito1990
Business
Los Angeles, California
Feb 7, 2014

Great stay

Cheap affordable and amazing Center of all to do in San Fran Great and friendly staff Going thru remodeling

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Prepare to walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ricky the hotel stayer.
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 2, 2014

Excellent hotel

Great hotel with unique characteristics and charm. Hotel does charge $30-$35 for parking fee that isn't listen on the website. Couldn't do complimentary breakfast because the beds were too comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top