$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
631 out of 631
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Betito1990
Couples
Los Angeles, California
Feb 7, 2014

Great stay

Cheap affordable and amazing Center of all to do in San Fran Great and friendly staff Going thru remodeling

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Prepare to walk

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ricky the hotel stayer.
San Francisco, CA
Mar 2, 2014

Excellent hotel

Great hotel with unique characteristics and charm. Hotel does charge $30-$35 for parking fee that isn't listen on the website. Couldn't do complimentary breakfast because the beds were too comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Benjj
Friends
Vancouver, BC
Mar 17, 2014

Nice, clean hotel

Very well maintained, modern and clean. The location is central enough -- though a ways from attractions like Fisherman's wharf. The included breakfast was much better than most, though could have used some hot food. The one guy at the front desk was really grumpy and bordering on rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Holly Anderson
Family
Yakima, WA
Mar 22, 2014

Great trip to San Fran

The staff was very helpful. They had great suggestions for tourists. The continental breakfast was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Big bus or hop on hop off bus passes. So helpful and cheaper than cabs. For those who don't want to walk miles.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kat8na
Couples
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 29, 2014

Good hotel for the price with great breakfast

Stayed there for the second time and loved it. Rooms are old but clean. Staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast is very good. Location is convenient near public transportation. The only negative is costly and limited in space parking. Will stay there again on our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at the cinema garage next to hotel to save up to $20 per day.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EmTay
Friends
Portland Oregon
Mar 28, 2014

Spring break in sanfrancisco

The staff is so nice ! Helped us choose bars, figure out the public transportation and booked me a shuttle back to the airport! The room was perfect, we were out all day and most of the night so we didn't spend too much time there. The bed could have a been little more comfortable but overall the room was fabulous! The breakfast had nice variety and great hours of operation. We felt safe and well taken care of. I would go back any day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the cable cars over the trolley!

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Colleen Proud Navy Mom
Family
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Apr 4, 2014

Celebrating Son's NPS Graduation

Good experience. Like that door to hotel is locked from outside so feel safe. Staff were wonderful - desk staff always helpful in giving suggestions to navigate the City; breakfast was basic but good and staff person kept the area clean and items filled; maintaining of rooms, lobby, etc. well done. Close to downtown restaurants, cable car, bus stop on corner. Enjoyed diner attached to hotel. Older but well-kept and charming hotel in a good location. Would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stroll over to Polk Street and enjoy some good ethnic food.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PISTEN BLITZ
Business
Leavenworth, WA 98826, USA
Apr 4, 2014

Business with family

Great location and parking but noise. Construction -i/accross the streeto

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chi Spring Traveler
Couples
Chicago
Apr 6, 2014

Great Value Stay

I looked at several hotels before booking at the Opal. It was an extremely great value for a hotel in San Francisco. The staff was friendly and helpful upon checkin and answering any additional questions we had about the area. We checked In on a Wednesday, and they had a wine & cheese hour. After checking out on our last day, we were able to store luggage in a locked luggage room before an overnight flight. The rooms was cozy and clean and did the trick for our four day stay. The area is great aside from a walk down Geary near Hyde.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sfvisitor78
Single
davis, ca
Apr 7, 2014

Great Stay at the Opal!

I was very happy with my stay at the Opal Hotel in S.F. Its an older building, but that is part of the charm. I had a room with a king-sized bed and it was quite spacious and overlooked Van Ness avenue. Even though my room was located in front of the building, there was not much noise coming in at night while I slept. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean as well and spacious enough. Overall I enjoyed my stay at the Opal. Would highly recommend. Decent location and great price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lers Ros Thai Restaurant is located a couple of blocks away on Larkin. They have fantastic food. Order the stir fried pork belly. You will thank me!

Back to menu Return to top