$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 27, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
663 out of 663
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
westchester, NY
Feb 2, 2011

good location, average hotel

this hotel is in a great location but is a non-frills, really ordinary place. rooms are old-fashioned, small tvs, noisy fan in bathrooms, no bathtubs, bed linen was not too comfortable (itchy & hard)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

the hop-on, hop off bus leaves near the hotel. $35 for a 2 day pass, well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Feb 14, 2011

Only ok location, smelly room

Friendly staff Decent breakfast Smelly and ugly room Uncomfortable beds

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Just another San Fran Tourist
Business
OR
Apr 5, 2010

Really?

We stayed on a Monday night. We ate at the diner that is attached to the hotel. The food was not good and the service was awful. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, but parking was outrageous--$25 plus a parking tax. The architecture of the building was pretty, but we quickly found out that walking around the area after dark is not such a good idea. I was glad the car was parked in the lot so I could guarantee it would be there in the morning. The hotel would be fine for a business trip stay, but I wouldn't recommend it for tourist trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jun 10, 2007

The room was adequate. ...

The room was adequate. The continental breakfast was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Located on a busy street with a cinema next door

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
JACKSONVILLE FLORIDA
May 16, 2011

NOT AS IT SEEMS

THE PICTURES ON THE SITE ARE BEAUTIFUL BUT THE INSIDE WAS LESS THAN TO BE DESIRED. THE LOBBY IS NICE BUT THE ROOMS SMELLED FOR THEY HAD SPRAYED THE ROOM THAT MORNING FOR PEST AND TRIED TO COVER THE SMELL WITH A CARPET DEODARANT ALSO THE ROOM HAD NO ACTUAL SPACE FOR OUR CLOTHES ; THE ROOM THAT WE HAD WAS SET UP FOR OLD PEOPLE THE MATTRESS WAS OF LOW QUALITY AND THE BATHROOM HAD DUCT TAPE ON THE PIPES UNDERNEATH ; THE SHOWER HAD HARDLY NO PRESSURE AND THE SHOWER HEAD ITSELF CAME TO MY CHIN AND IM 5.7..THE ALSO CHARGE YOU 33.00 A DAY TO PARK.UNLESS YOU WANT YOUR CAR ON THE STREETS OUTSIDE[...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

PLAN YOUR TRIP SO THAT YOU STAY IN THE ROOM AS LITTLE AS POSSIBLE. OR ELSE FIND SOME WHERE ELSE TO STAY TO ENJOY YOUR TRIP BETTER.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nom aka World Traveler in a Jiffy!
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 29, 2009

Good for short leisure stay

I think there's nothing they could do about the structure as it is kind of quaint. Air conditioning system could be improved more by making it non central coz it's too hot in the middle of the night. Parking is quite an issue. It should be advertised as 'PUBLIC PARKING' since there is NONE that belongs to the hotel and one has to pay up $22/day with across parking structure belonging to another hotel. Other than that, the hotel staff were excellent. Internet availability is a big plus especially for those nights where you can't sleep due to noise and warm room temperature.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Civic Center and adjacent attractions. Next building from hotel is a movie theather. Downstairs is a diner and across the street from it. 4 blocks south of Van Ness is a nice curry buffet restaurant as well as a pizza place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 31, 2008

This hotel smells like your grandma

I can't quite place what the smell was- cigarette smaoke covered in air freshner or gross old woman perfume, i'm leaning toward that. either way it gave me a headache. The neighborhood was slightly skethcy although i had no problems besides taking cabs everywhere. the diner next door was really good. the hotel staff was friendly enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travel Inspector
Business
San Francisco
Jan 4, 2010

No Hot Water!!!!!

Don't expect the water to be hot for a shower. I'm a building engineer and when the onsite maintenance guy told me that it was from a lot of showers being taken all at once, I snickered at him, since I had already called the front desk 5 minutes prior and they told me that no one else has complained about only having warm water. If this was the case, you will NOT get a hot shower here due to an undersized boiler!!! I have to say that they did offer me another room to shower in, but I denied due to what their maintenance guy told me. I am not recommending this hotel only due the no hot water issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great little diner right next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
Oct 1, 2007

Good Location

This hotel would receive 4 stars for the location and quality of the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
keep going mom
Business
san jose,ca
Feb 23, 2011

location is a bit shaky but friendly ser

Close to Yoshi's and Golden Gate Park. Eat at Tommy's, an old style deli that has been around for years. It is right across the street. Had the best pastrami sandwich and this place has a big selection of beers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Yoshi's and Golden Gate Park just minutes away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top