$170 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2015 Check-out: Aug 30, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
621 out of 621
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jan Combs
Lenoir City, TN
Apr 12, 2014

The Opal Stay

We found The Opal very helpful and welcoming to all our request. Staff was very efficient and strived to meet our needs. Would return again and would recommend it to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Opal is centrally located the major attractions in the downtown area. Very easy to use bus, cable cars to get where you need to go.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
craiggus
Business
vero beach, fl
Sep 7, 2014

great location

pleasant staff, decent breakfast and good for bus routes

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rph'a mom
Business
Fla
Sep 6, 2014

San Francisco Labor Day weekend

Loved the hotel, it had interesting design elements. But, go to sleep early--about 0330 the garbage trucks move through the city and it sounds like a tornado hit. Banging metal, high torque engines. I thought it was bad weather-- looked outside, dry as a bone. Also, take a taxi after dark. Even the shopping area at Macys and Nordstrom are infested by crazy looking street folk picking through the trash, and no sane person would walk or bus from the Parrish street station to the hotel. Rough looking people. Good location though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The 47 bus back and forth to Fishermans Wharf.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
weekenders12312312
Business
fresno, ca
Sep 1, 2014

Weekend Trip

Hotel was average accommodations, breakfast was nice and plentiful though. The area is pretty sketchy, especially at night! Lots of homeless people and drug addicts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sketchy neighborhood
Business
East coast
Aug 30, 2014

eh

The hotel is not located in the best of areas. During the day it is fine buy at night the area was very full of homeless people. The hotel was clean and the room was okay but the beds were hard and very uncomfortable. I alsi had to go outside to get to my room and at night i heard every noise. My stay was fine but I don't think I would recommend it. There are other good hotels in better more convenient areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
idk2000
Business
NJ
Aug 19, 2014

Nothing fancy but very good for the price

Staff were very helpful, continental breakfast was good enough, room was clean, hotel was a short walk to Union Square and lots of other good stuff. Only complaint is the air conditioning/ vents were super loud. But a very nice hotel for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vrocotamy
Business
North Jersey
Aug 13, 2014

Reasonable hotel for a reasonable price

The Opal has everything you need in a hotel while sightseeing or visiting for a special occasion, conference, etc. (I was there for a combination of a vacation and a family wedding.) It's comfortable, quiet, and clean. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly, and housekeeping does their job well. It is an older building, and lacks luxury amenities; e.g. there isn't a refrigerator in the room and the selection of free toiletries is limited. But, if you do any research before booking, you should be aware that this is not a luxury experience; it's a practical place to sleep and store your possessions. The continental breakfast is halfway decent if you stick to muffins and coffee, but there are a number of good places in the surrounding blocks to purchase espresso beverages and a more, um, filling repast for your mornings. Although it's not close to any notable attractions, the Opal is ideally located on two of the most useful MUNI bus routes (the 38/38L on Geary and the 47/49 on Van Ness), and not too far a walk from the BART or MUNI metro at Van Ness and Market. It's on the western edge of the Tenderloin, which is a sketchy (but not dangerous) area and fine in the daytime, unless you're a very easily freaked out suburban type. Polk, the north-south street immediately east of Van Ness, has been gentrified to a reasonable degree and sports mini-marts, cafes, restaurants, and bars; the TL also has great Afghan, Indian, and Southeast Asian restaurants. In short, I'd recommend the Opal, if you're not too much of a diva about extraneous amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

DeAfghanan Kabob House around the corner is superb.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BP DP
Business
Redding, CA
Aug 11, 2014

One night stand

Very old, room was small. AC unit had a high pitched steamy squeal (maintenance did quiet it down.) Floor had a steep slope to it. Glad it was only one night. On the plus side, there is a parking garage close by where you can park for $26/day which is cheap in SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Susan A from LA
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 7, 2014

Opal Hotel SF Review

The Opal Hotel in San Francisco was not what I am accustomed to. The hotel is older and definitely needs a more modern upgrade. The location was a distance from where the event we came in to town for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Union Square provides excellent shopping choices.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jemwatso
Business
Castro Valley, California
Aug 2, 2014

Not what I expected

I was hesitant to book a hotel I hadn't stayed at or knew someone that had in San Francisco. In addition, one that is in the Tenderloin (even if on the edge). But, afterwards I am glad that I tried this hotel. Rooms were nice, lobby was nice and "secured" (see below), and the hotel was quiet even in the Tenderloin. Also in a great location to take Muni or use a ride share (off major streets). Down sides: cleanliness left something to be desired, the "secured" locked door was opened by the front desk without actually speaking to you on the intercom--a feeling of more for show--and the staff at the front desk moves fairly slow so there was a wait to check-in and out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
travel dad 14
Business
san fran, cali
Aug 2, 2014

deal gone wrong

booked room on deal last min, was giving smallest room,no fridge, no microwave, elevator was broken. Had my 1 yr old daughter with and wasn't adequately accommodated. all in all its a dated hotel. will never stay again. best thing about place is its access to Mel's diner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Mel's Famous Diner is excellent

Back to menu Return to top