$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
663 out of 663
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mick LA
Los Angeles
Dec 17, 2012

Great Hotel and great Staff

The place was clean. The staff were very nice and helpful. And the location is close for walking to a lot great places in the city. There are some homeless people stumbling around...it is a block off the Tenderloin...but they weren't aggressive just asking for money and moving on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Whatstheretodohere
Business
Balitmore, MD
Aug 1, 2014

Nice place, even nicer price.

We found this hotel late---just a few days prior to arrival---for way less than the surrounding places. The staff was very friendly, and the hotel offered a complimentary wine and cheese sampling the night of our arrival. The amenities are few, but we were there to see the city, not the inside of a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Globe.trotter
Business
Northern VA
Jul 31, 2014

Quaint Old Hotel

Upon first glance in the lobby one is greeted with Stain Glass doors off to the side and a lobby desk that looks like a concession stand from an old Theatre, but then I read the history and discovered it is an old hotel. The room was large, with a nice sitting area, but it could use a face lift. It was clean just worn. So overall an Ok place to stay, but not amazing. Things to be aware of...housekeeping arrived at 4 pm a little late as we were back and getting ready for the evening. Parking is $40+ a day, steep even from an east coast perspective.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Feder
Business
World citizen
Jul 29, 2014

Average hotel

This is a place to sleep, rooms are clean, but is too dated, the floor carpet had multiple stains and it makes look the room a bit nasty. It's really well located, 7 blocks/union square. Personal is awesome specialliy Maria, she is great. Breakfast is free and is good (eggs, beagles, bread, muffins, coffe, yogurt, juices, multiple fruits) also free wi-fi. Personally I think this is a good option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

De afghanan Restaurant, walkign distance, excellent middle east food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SF trippers
Business
Dallas tx
Jul 22, 2014

romantic get away

we had a great stay and wonderful hotel. please be sure to plan ur arrival around 3pm no earlier

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Duncan from Chicago
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Jul 21, 2014

Worth the Value

The rooms were small and there were some dodgy neighborhoods you wouldn't want to walk around in late at night just to the west of the hotel, but the free breakfast and Wi-Fi in the hotel were great. The hotel was clean and staff was very friendly and helpful. It is also one of the most affordable hotels in the heart of San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to visit Tommy's Joynt across the street for a great meal too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ProudPop
Business
San Francisco
Jul 18, 2014

not happy

son was really sick and waited for an hour for a plunger. silly as it seems you wait 15 minutes then another...go downstairs to find they have no idea what your talking about. i asked for a place that included parking but $41,00 later ....for the variance in price I probably could have upgraded to a better hotel for a little more money....it was ok but could have been cleaner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

check out day passes, or coupons...very expensive town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cherylynn
Business
Omaha, NE
Jul 14, 2014

Great for our needs

We have family nearby and always stay at this hotel. Free breakfast is great. Staff is helpful and attentive. Will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nate007
Business
Anaheim
Jul 9, 2014

Opal

Price was great for a Long Weekend! I've had better complimentary breakfasts, but when in San Fran, you better be heading out on the town to eat anyways. Very small and cozy rooms. Nothing special. No issues or problems really. Bed was a little hard, same with pillows. But they were happy to bring us more softer pillows upon request. I'd stay here again. I'd rather spend the saved money on eating then on luxurious overnight stays since really only sleeping at the hotel and out on the town the rest of the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Microflight
Business
Goleta CA
Jul 6, 2014

Very good hotel for price

We were presently surprised by the quality of the hotel and staff. The hotel is near the tenderloin section of SFO that has been somewhat savory. However, that seems to be changing as renovation and good restaurants are in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Civic center and very nice shops and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
USD student's mom
Business
BOise
Jul 6, 2014

hotel staff very helpful

Our college age son stayed here overnight because it's close to the Spanish consulate where he had to get his visa. He was pick pocketed and the hotel staff went above and beyond to help him out. He said the area of town was sort of sketchy, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top