$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 10, 2015 Check-out: Sep 11, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
631 out of 631
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
m.c. gov'na
Friends
Lompoc, California
Apr 10, 2012

Great weekend stay

The staff was very nice to me even though i checked in late, its in a pretty good location, its right next to a great diner, the room is much better than the pictures, will definitely stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave Venice
Couples
Venice, CA
Oct 10, 2014

Definitely a solid overall choice

The positives of The Opal include the very helpful and friendly staff, the overall value proposition of the place, and the free Wi-Fi. A decent if not terribly exciting continental breakfast is also worthy of a thumbs up. While small, the room my girlfriend and I stayed in was quite clean. It was also surprisingly quiet, which was a definite plus. One unexpected positive was a complimentary wine and cheese happy hour on Wednesday afternoon. We didn't ask if that's a regular feature, but at any rate it was appreciated. The flipside is that the location might be a little edgy for some. One other relatively minor downside was that the bathroom in our room had no fan. All in all, a good choice for the budget-minded traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wisconsin
Oct 1, 2014

Great for sensitive people

This hotel is 100% smoke and fragrance free. I was a bit nervous when I threw a stinky item in the trash. They even have no smell soap and shampoo, so if you are fragrance sensitive, this hotel is for you! I did have a temperature issue with the shower and couldn't use it. The location is wonderful! Get the free map of San Francisco and ride the city bus! there is a few near the hotel! Many conveniences are walking distance, as well as some of the best food places in town! OH, if you like fun houses as I do, you should use the stairs! I wish I though to try it earlier! The elevators are very nice, but the stairs is fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Ride the city bus! They are very helpful to get you to the sights you want, like china town, Fisherman's wharf, the golden gate bridge, and the large park with all the great museums and gardens! There is even a trolley ride a short walk from the hotel. Nice, even at night!

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelerAsia
Family
SFO
Sep 26, 2014

Nice stay

We had double suite room with 4 adults, we had good stay. Breakfast was better than expected with variety of tea bags. Hotel would need renovation soon to keep up with other hotels. Staffs were nice, beds were comfortable. Sofa bed was not very comfortable but it was sofa bed so no surprise there. It was quiet as well at room 123.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bar bob
Friends
Pa
Sep 18, 2014

Nice hotel, terrible location

The Opal Hotel was a pretty nice hotel just was in a terrible location. The staff was nice and the hotel was clean. However it is located in what is known as the "tenderloin" district. Basically what this means is you are surrounded by drug dealers, prostitites, and homeless people. This is not an area you want to stay in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
linzi
Friends
san diego, ca
Sep 16, 2014

Decent

Great value but questionable hotel location and room size.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Small room

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crochetsmith
Couples
Oceanside, CA
Sep 13, 2014

A Pleasant Stay

This is a nice hotel in a very good location. The room was not spacious, but the bed was very comfortable. Mel's Diner next door has good food and the hotel is in walking distance from many other good restaurants as well as from the opera house where we were headed each night. The staff was very friendly and helpful as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mel's Diner is literally right next door.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
international nomad
Single
Belgium
Sep 10, 2014

Better than your average 3-star

This was the best deal I could find in SF, I couldn't believe how expensive every hotel was. This hotel was still a bit more than I wanted to pay for a 3-star, but I was pleasantly surprised. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The breakfast was included, and though not amazing, was plentiful. The free coffee and tea in the lobby 24/7 was a nice touch, the room and lobby were always clean. The area still has a reputation for being bad, but it was gentrified sgnificantly. There are homeless everywhere in SF, but at no time did I feel unsafe. Tommy's is across the street, with great buffalo chili and other dishes, and De Afghanan, which serves excellent Afghan food, is around the corner. Polk St nearby has plenty of bars and shops. A little out of the way, but all in all I was quite happy with my experience at The Opal and I would definitely recommend it if you are looking for a relatively affordable option. and FYI, the free internet connection, as opposed to the one that costs $5, was absolutely fine for all the normal facebooking and email.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tommy's across the street is an institution with excellent meats and affordable. De Afghanan is around the corner and serves excellent Afghan food. Philz Coffee is excellent for hand brewed coffee with unique flavors and an SF native. Polk St has tons of shops and interesting businesses and bars. The area is not dangerous, despite what some people say (it was maybe 10 or 15 years ago).

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Famtrav45
Family
Stockton
Sep 9, 2014

Old refurbished charming hotel

Great hotel for the price. Room is on the smaller scale but the bathroom was very nice. Breakfast was chaotic because of overcrowding and limited. The staff was amazing and there was a gym even. The building was built in 1907 which brings tons of charm to the hotel. Location was good but be aware of your surroundings at night, as always in SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ladybug262
Single
San Francisco
Sep 9, 2014

Nice night stay

My experience in this hotel was really good. I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kamilyon
Family
Atlanta, Georgia
Sep 7, 2014

End of summer break

I had to switch rooms immediately because the first one was moldy smelling. Staff was great about the switch and the next one was much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top