$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
709 out of 709
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LA CA
Los Angeles
Dec 21, 2012

good choice for staying economically

very classic and clean. Also, very convenient location to travel around by buses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TRAVELING ASHIMA
Business
NEBRASKA
Aug 18, 2014

OLD HOTEL, SO SO ROOM, EXCELLENT STAFF

I stayed in this hotel for three nights in August 2014. My stay ended on August 17. In my assessment, the location of the street is not bad, except for the many homeless people with mental illness on the adjacent streets within three or four blocks of the hotel. These people tend to peacefully beg for money, especially at night. My room was VERY CLEAN, but the amenties were very minimum. If we put everything in perspective, I got what I paid for. My alternative was to stay at other hotels in the area, but they cost much more than the Opal. The Hilton, for example costs about $450/night which was more than double what I paid for the Opal through Chesp Tickets. Com. The carpet in my room was clean but old. I am used to staying at hotels like the Marriott, the Hilton and the Westin, so, by comparison, I was not comfortable walking barefootedly on my room floor for my first two nights in the hotel. For food, there are plenty of eating places all around the hotel...American food, Indian, Pakistani, Thai, facy or casual, name it, you will find it around the Opal...especially on O'Ferro street right next to Van Ness. Also, you can easily hop on the 47 line bus almost in front of the hotel and go nonstop to the Fishermen wharff for sightseeing and great tourist attractions. All in all, I will recommend this hotel if you are staying for only two or three nights around downtown San Francisco. I don't think I will stay there again because of the hobos on the streets and the amenities, but the staff is EXCELLENT! !! My toilet overflowed and flooded the bathroom floor one night, but the staff got someone on the matter within 30 minutes. The floor was well moped. Lastly, my air conditioner did not work very well. I, however, opened the bathroom window and got very nice cool San Francisco breeze oozed into my room each day and night. I did not report the air conditioner to the staff, so, it will not be fair to blame the hotel or its staff if they are unaware of the poor state of the air conditioner. That's all from me folks. I hope my review has helped you with sufficient information upon which you can make your decision about the Opal. To stay or not to stay at the Opal, that, is now a question for you. Good luck to you. If you need to talk about the Opal, please call me at 1-800-make-up-your-freaking-mind-on-your-own. I hooe that puts a smile on your face.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vrocotamy
Business
North Jersey
Aug 13, 2014

Reasonable hotel for a reasonable price

The Opal has everything you need in a hotel while sightseeing or visiting for a special occasion, conference, etc. (I was there for a combination of a vacation and a family wedding.) It's comfortable, quiet, and clean. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly, and housekeeping does their job well. It is an older building, and lacks luxury amenities; e.g. there isn't a refrigerator in the room and the selection of free toiletries is limited. But, if you do any research before booking, you should be aware that this is not a luxury experience; it's a practical place to sleep and store your possessions. The continental breakfast is halfway decent if you stick to muffins and coffee, but there are a number of good places in the surrounding blocks to purchase espresso beverages and a more, um, filling repast for your mornings. Although it's not close to any notable attractions, the Opal is ideally located on two of the most useful MUNI bus routes (the 38/38L on Geary and the 47/49 on Van Ness), and not too far a walk from the BART or MUNI metro at Van Ness and Market. It's on the western edge of the Tenderloin, which is a sketchy (but not dangerous) area and fine in the daytime, unless you're a very easily freaked out suburban type. Polk, the north-south street immediately east of Van Ness, has been gentrified to a reasonable degree and sports mini-marts, cafes, restaurants, and bars; the TL also has great Afghan, Indian, and Southeast Asian restaurants. In short, I'd recommend the Opal, if you're not too much of a diva about extraneous amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

DeAfghanan Kabob House around the corner is superb.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BP DP
Business
Redding, CA
Aug 11, 2014

One night stand

Very old, room was small. AC unit had a high pitched steamy squeal (maintenance did quiet it down.) Floor had a steep slope to it. Glad it was only one night. On the plus side, there is a parking garage close by where you can park for $26/day which is cheap in SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Susan A from LA
Business
Los Angeles
Aug 7, 2014

Opal Hotel SF Review

The Opal Hotel in San Francisco was not what I am accustomed to. The hotel is older and definitely needs a more modern upgrade. The location was a distance from where the event we came in to town for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Union Square provides excellent shopping choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jemwatso
Business
Castro Valley, California
Aug 2, 2014

Not what I expected

I was hesitant to book a hotel I hadn't stayed at or knew someone that had in San Francisco. In addition, one that is in the Tenderloin (even if on the edge). But, afterwards I am glad that I tried this hotel. Rooms were nice, lobby was nice and "secured" (see below), and the hotel was quiet even in the Tenderloin. Also in a great location to take Muni or use a ride share (off major streets). Down sides: cleanliness left something to be desired, the "secured" locked door was opened by the front desk without actually speaking to you on the intercom--a feeling of more for show--and the staff at the front desk moves fairly slow so there was a wait to check-in and out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
travel dad 14
Business
san fran, cali
Aug 2, 2014

deal gone wrong

booked room on deal last min, was giving smallest room,no fridge, no microwave, elevator was broken. Had my 1 yr old daughter with and wasn't adequately accommodated. all in all its a dated hotel. will never stay again. best thing about place is its access to Mel's diner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Mel's Famous Diner is excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Whatstheretodohere
Business
Balitmore, MD
Aug 1, 2014

Nice place, even nicer price.

We found this hotel late---just a few days prior to arrival---for way less than the surrounding places. The staff was very friendly, and the hotel offered a complimentary wine and cheese sampling the night of our arrival. The amenities are few, but we were there to see the city, not the inside of a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Globe.trotter
Business
Northern VA
Jul 31, 2014

Quaint Old Hotel

Upon first glance in the lobby one is greeted with Stain Glass doors off to the side and a lobby desk that looks like a concession stand from an old Theatre, but then I read the history and discovered it is an old hotel. The room was large, with a nice sitting area, but it could use a face lift. It was clean just worn. So overall an Ok place to stay, but not amazing. Things to be aware of...housekeeping arrived at 4 pm a little late as we were back and getting ready for the evening. Parking is $40+ a day, steep even from an east coast perspective.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Feder
Business
World citizen
Jul 29, 2014

Average hotel

This is a place to sleep, rooms are clean, but is too dated, the floor carpet had multiple stains and it makes look the room a bit nasty. It's really well located, 7 blocks/union square. Personal is awesome specialliy Maria, she is great. Breakfast is free and is good (eggs, beagles, bread, muffins, coffe, yogurt, juices, multiple fruits) also free wi-fi. Personally I think this is a good option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

De afghanan Restaurant, walkign distance, excellent middle east food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SF trippers
Business
Dallas tx
Jul 22, 2014

romantic get away

we had a great stay and wonderful hotel. please be sure to plan ur arrival around 3pm no earlier

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top